I saw it on facebook....I thought it cud be hate crime. I thought her Pakistani dress was the reason she was targeted by some racist guy. But I saw the headlines of local paper and i was shocked.
God forbid if some thing wrong happens to another Pakistani wife in NJ, husband will be first suspicious figure. He killed an innocent and left a very wrong impression of Pakistanis in USA.
why dont u tell us how often does it happen ? Can u also quote the percentage of Pakistani Population compared to Black and White Population in NJ or USA.
Actually in most cases, when a woman is killed and it wasn't a random act of violence, police do look at the boyfriend/husband as 1st suspect....because it has become common where women are killed by their husbands/bfs.
According to my sister's friend who knew nazish, she wanted to leave the guy and go back to her family. But because her mom is dead and her dad was too old she thought it was better to stay with this jerk.
You know, that makes sense of why she was staying with him. That is so sad.
I feel like a gossip queen calling my sister to find out more info :D
But okay this is what she has to say, Nazish ran away from her home to get married to this guy. She got married against her parents' wishes. The whole arrange marriage thing in the newspaper is BS... Families are saying this all to maybe cover up that she ran away (maybe they'll get humiliated.. idk). Nazish's and the guy's parents both were against this marriage. She was told not to get married to this guy because of his lies. Finally, after many years families accepted their marriage but still weren't happy.
^ How do you propose we go about chaing the mentality of our community?
Especially when teaching these things would be akin to breaking down the moral fiber of our "oh-so-better-than-them" society......
Education is the key to give independence to anyone. Once they are educated, let them go out and work even if its for 3 months. IMO, getting out and working for a day teaches more than reading a text book for a month at home. If it was not done by the generation before us, its our job to do it.
and finally, educating girls and letting them feel the water will not break down the moral fiber. At max it can break some bruised egos.
Oh, cmon, an isolated event and the whole community is being blamed. Do you know how many women in USA are murdered by their husbands, lovers or boyfriends?
I simply dont understand the self pity shown by desis here.
Do any of you have any idea how many black and white women are abused, injured and killed by their boyfriends or husbands everyday?
yes. would like the stats posted here?
and what's your point .... injury, abuse of white/black women by their husbands/BF's makes it ok for brown men to abuse brown women???
what self pity? ..... The incident has been reported by media, just as any white/black/hispanic story of murder and intrigue.
would you like the issue swept under the rug instead?
why do you keep saying that??
where are your numbers that show this was an isolated incident in a desi community? ......
who is blaming the whole community??? ... most folks are blaming lack of education, talking of empowering women ....
This could be a different topic and maybe not so relevent to the case but I am wondering if women like Nazish stay in abusive marriages simply because that's the choice they made. Its clear that it wasn't an arranged marriage.. even the article says they dated before getting married. Do women find it wrong/embarassing to go back to parents to complain about someone they chose? I wonder if that was the case with her too.
I'm sure that some of this played a role in her decision to stay with him.
Our society penalizes both men and women forever for not honoring their parents' wishes by marrying someone their parents do not approve of. Unfortunately, the effects of it are worse on women. A woman cannot go back to her parents asking them to help her out since she married someone they did not "like". Not only will she hear a lot of galiyan from them, she will forever set a bad example for the rest of the Khandan. Everybody will point at her and say "Dekho kiya hota hai aisi larkiyon ke saath jo maabaap ki nahi sunteen"
I don't know. While I agree that in some families that's the case....thats also not true in most families. My parents have never once said to me "you chose him, now deal with the problems." I'm hoping more parents are just as compassionate...
^ Yeah, it's definitely changing! We all married the men we liked (as a matter of fact they encouraged it) but then again I have never considered my family traditional/conservative. We were quite literally treated like boys..
I apologize in advance if I am about to step on some toes, but in last many years, I've seen equal if not more love marriages failing than arranged marriages. In fact when it comes to love marriages, I've seen them falling apart within first few months or 1-2 years. Its a reflection of how shallow and hasty our decisions have become to pick a life partner. Life is nothing but a bollywood movie for many of us. Our new generation thinks that having a BF/GF is a social obligation of some sort and if you dont have one, you are a loser. Off course that will give way to love marriages, and because the mindset is not right to began with, that union fails as soon as the bollywoodness is gone from life.
^ But my parents weren't very liberal either, in fact they were very strict with me and my brother growing up and had something of very conservative mindset.....but they were okay with me finding my own spouse...
Not to deviate too far from the topic, but what exactly was the guys plan? Besides the fact that a divorce would have been so much easier, why did he chose that mistress? I mean her.
What about that weird gay sugar daddy situation, I mean, do people just bequeath money to virtual strangers like that? Not making sense either.
Kashif Parvaiz's family is coming off looking like Paki Trash here.
I find that the family members of the sadly murdered woman to be greedy...I mean I am sorry, but why would you IMMEDIATELY set up a "fund" for the kids? I have known victims of unfortunate crimes and PEOPLE end up giving money even without the victims families asking for it. Besides, if God forbid, something happened to your sister/cousins kids wouldn't you take care of them anyways?