Re: Mother tongue.
well said :k:
In this era of mass migration, your language might not be as useless in a foreign land as it once was. Take Spanish as an example, their sheer number has forced other ethnicities to learn their language. Now imagine if we could do that with Urdu.
My kids speak their daadi tongue,kashmiri, impeccably, out of the holy land this is the only connection they have with the place they belong to. They speak equally good hindi and when they grow in delhi they will learn punjabi automatically:)
You won't taught them Punjabi kaur ji? What would have been the situation, if you were not in Delhi and lived some other place, where Punjabi is not commonly spoken?
I cannot either read or write punjabi, I studied in many schools and Punjabi was not in curriculam though I can speak it, my children, I don't know if had been so careless regarding punjabi had it not been delhi, but here my son would learn punjabi sooner or later just for punjabans around:D
Ahh, Punjabi - the language of sufi poetry, inhibition free love and dirty jokes.
puanjaabi :icono:
BTW hadn’t big boss of your home required you to learn Kashmiri? ![]()
Most importantly and widely used by Punajabis is Gallis:D, teri *** **, teri **** ** type one:D
No, except marriage process, she never objected much,she is no longer secular so never allows anything beyond hinduism thouhg as saviour of her ancestors Sikhi is part of her plus she is direct decendent of one of the punda whose writings are part of adi granth of GuruGranth Sahib,she is more of punda centric than ethnicity centric, and a daughter for whom whose father was everything.
beep wali gaali
:D, teri *** , teri ** ** type one:D
This is what I like about punjabis. always thinking of the other person.
Pakistan being a new country is going through a lot of transformations, being a punjabi myself I have been speaking Urdu at home (with parents talking to each other in punjabi). I am now more comfortable in Urdu (can speak punjabi but with an Urdu accent) as compared to punjabi, hence will teach my children Urdu.
Teaching your kids urdu is all fine. But if Punjabi is the language of your ancestors spoken from generations, don't you think it is sad that this language ends with you. Language plays an important part in cultural development also IMO. If you are abroad, I understand that U may be trying to teach your kids atleast some pakistani lang no matter which one. But if you are living in Punjab, it is a totally different thing altogether to give up on your regional language and adopt a different one. Can't you teach the kids both languages? I am not criticizing your choices here just wondering about the reasoning behind your decision.:)
My kids will be taught to speak my language. BTW in a mixed language household, is the mother tongur, the mother's language or the father's language?
This is what I like about punjabis. always thinking of the other person.
Hindustanis, Kanpur-Lucknow wallas will be number one in that, may be even urdu speakers who are cousin of these:D
My kids will be taught to speak my language. BTW in a mixed language household, is the mother tongur, the mother's language or the father's language?
In nuclear family it is likely mother tongue, in joint family, majority is with father tongue and they pick up father tongue:)
Teaching your kids urdu is all fine. But if Punjabi is the language of your ancestors spoken from generations, don't you think it is sad that this language ends with you. Language plays an important part in cultural development also IMO. If you are abroad, I understand that U may be trying to teach your kids atleast some pakistani lang no matter which one. But if you are living in Punjab, it is a totally different thing altogether to give up on your regional language and adopt a different one. Can't you teach the kids both languages? I am not criticizing your choices here just wondering about the reasoning behind your decision.:)
Well, it's not an isolated case, go to any big city of Punjab and you will understand what I mean. Things have changed, basically the society (middle class) looks down upon people who speak punjabi (especially in schools). This thing began with the creation of Pakistan, and is still continuing. The Bengalis thought that they are being persecuted by imposing Urdu as the national language (by Punjab), but the language at the moment which is in danger in Pakistan is punjabi. It has become the rural urban divide in Punjab, and with the passage of time it will start making inroads into the rural areas. I don't know if it is good or bad, I believe the older generation started this for national unity and cohesion and since Urdu is the national language the kids need to know the language well to excel in the country, now drastic steps are needed for revival of the language at the government and society's level.
ammi always upset with us, according to her ankhon ki zaban samjha karo. ![]()
^ Meri bhi.
Its mother's language as per my observation. My Sindhi speaking uncle married to Urdu speaking family. They lived in different cities of Sindh including Karachi, Hyderabad, SanghaR due to my uncle's job. My cousins speak urdu at home and communicate with us in Sindhi, which is quite good compared to other such families, considering they lived in areas,where Sindhi was spoken. Had they lived in areas, where Sindhi was not spoken, then they could not have communicated with us in Sindhi
Well, it's not an isolated case, go to any big city of Punjab and you will understand what I mean. Things have changed, basically the society (middle class) looks down upon people who speak punjabi (especially in schools). This thing began with the creation of Pakistan, and is still continuing. The Bengalis thought that they are being persecuted by imposing Urdu as the national language (by Punjab), but the language at the moment which is in danger in Pakistan is punjabi. It has become the rural urban divide in Punjab, and with the passage of time it will start making inroads into the rural areas. I don't know if it is good or bad, I believe the older generation started this for national unity and cohesion and since Urdu is the national language the kids need to know the language well to excel in the country, now drastic steps are needed for revival of the language at the government and society's level.
Wasn't unity of nation based on religion? If language was basis of unity, then there was no need for Sikhs migrating from Pakistan Punjab and Sindhi Hindus migrating from Sindh.
Kids in my family also know the language of paadar. Limited vocabulary with mostly one-way communication but very effective at getting the message through.