Mother or Wife? Pick One.

Re: Mother or Wife? Pick One.

^ Mashallah. That sounds so sweet :)

Look at all you women ganging up on Maham because her opinion differs from yours :hehe: Bravo!

Maham Zindabad....fight till death :)

I won't hesitate for one second to marry a girl who thinks like maham. Maham is coming out strong because her tendency to be positive and work things with her future husband and their in-laws in the future is simply worth tributing.

I cant believe how you people need references in the Quran to make your point.

How about you judge the situation at hand and see what the best solution is. We have all been given brains. Use them.

This stuff just boggles me.

People in teh world dont have food to eat, and we're here arguing about our rights to a separate home.

Our kaum has no sharam

^Bravo sadzzz!.

Honey, you're not married are you?! How about you wait, actually get married, practice what you preach and then come back and contribute in this thread. I'm 100% sure your viewpoint would have taken a 180 degree turn.
All these girls hemming and hawing about how they don't want their husbands to live separately from their parents, I can swear on my life are all unmarried, naive girls sitting at home watching too many Indian dramas and Bollywood movies and dream of being the next "Tulsi" from Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu thi. The truth is, in reality and practicality living in a joint family system in the long term is not what ANY woman wants. NONE. I have yet to meet a married woman who likes the institution. So grow up, get some actual life experience and then talk.

Maham asked for religious references as she (bizarrely) doesn't believe that Islam discourages the joint family setup..

Yes, there are ppl in the world who don't have food to eat but I can't see why that means we shouldn't have a valid discussion on the subject of living with inlaws, esp when it seems to be the cause of so many marital problems and disagreements in desi families.. Something that might not be deemed 'important' enough to talk about by you isn't necessarily no big deal to the next girl..

Very well said. And this is precisely what i have been trying to say all the while but i think you said it alot better and in a calm way so hopefuly these people wl understand.

Did i say that? Huh. Why are you playing such a chamcha to your frnd. Don't you have a life of your own? Waise i highly doubt you do.

Did u guys post any Quranic reference when i askd you? No nah. For me there is not only a single reference from Quran but the whole of it which propogates family system. So if you want i can mail you the Quran if you cant afford it yourself.

ROTFLMAO!!!

I love when women debate.

humari her baat mazhab ka saath shruh hoti hai. jo baat aap nay kahy buhat achee kahi. meri dua hai pakistaniyun ko aap ki batoon per amal kerain

Maham

I'm sure you'll change your opinion regarding living with inlaws after your marriage.

I am sorry if i was harsh in my tone but if you had noticed my tone got that only for posts where stupid things were said to justify their stand. I dont care whether they live with their in laws or not, what does it do to me? But i find it hard to understand when they are giving such stupid justifications.

Why are you saying to me that death doest have to be the only sign that one is miserable or in pain? Did u not c that it was in response to what somebody had posted here. That no child has ever died for not having grandparents around everyday? Now was that an appropriate thing to say? Now howcome all that is ok with u all to read but what i wrote is highlighted? pls i had like to know why this difference.

acha tu aap lo larai kertay huay achee lagti hain ta keh kissi per marham ka phumba rakh sakoo.
hope you are ok meray daies kay baasi

I am against the reasons being presented for it. The justifications given for it.

:=) Thanks for your concern. But i think you should rather be more concerned about your family life which according to me won't be all bed of roses if you keep thinking the way you do. All the best.

Why not. I absolutely think the inlaws have so many obligations and duties towards their dils and sils, esp the dil cuz hopefuly she is part of their family. They should provide her a comfortable home, environment and lots of love so that it becomes easy for her to adjust to her new family, new home. They have to be understanding towards her and do their best to make her feel comfortable and at ease.

I dont know where are you guys getting all these ideas from? We have obligations towards our neighbours, our helpers, maids, friends so what makes you think we dont have obligations for our dils.

IF you are hoping my inlaws will be after my life and making my life hell, then hell yes i wl change my mind. I never said the dils are obligated to tolerate their inlaws torture too. All that i said was that its wrong to want to move out even if everything is fine. Don't want to move out if my mil doesnt let me select everyday what the menu is or if i have to inform her if i am going somewhere and when wl i come. I think these are petty issues to leave such valuable relationships for.

Maham you are awesome :k: