Mother or Wife? Pick One.

Re: Mother or Wife? Pick One.

Huh? So did the husband raise the wife? lolz. Nahin na but even then the wife has tremendous duties for the husband and vice versa.

Huh. Excuse me? Has any women died from lack of a seperate accomodation? I don't think so. So then why such a dire need for that but not this.

ummm Make sure its the white one - or … well u prolly know the drill :stuck_out_tongue:

Reference please?

Wife doesnt have to show a dire need...she doesnt have to have a need at all...its her HAQQ. And if her husband can afford it, its between her and her husband. Who are these 3rd parties in the middle?

Half the stories in Life1 are all inlaw related because they dont know their limits...this is a prime example of lack of consideration.

How can someone trample over a woman's right to live on her own with her husband? There is a limit to family involvment in husband-wife relationship.

Inlaws can come and go as much as they want but some distance is important to maintain sanity.

As for taking care of them in their old age. Why do people forget about their own kids? Allah swt never made it the bahu's responsibility to care for her inlaws...the inlaws have their own children that are hatte katte.

Ive seen so many families where the nand will sit around and expect her bhabi to take care of her parents like she is now relieved of that responsibility. The fact is, she isnt.

The responsibility of taking care of the inlaws lies SOLELY on their children...not their bahu's. Maybe if everyone did their part...it wouldnt be so hard when bahu wants to move out.

Mom. Most definitely my mom.

The question is misleading. Moving out is not about picking wife or mom. It's about finding a situation in which all people can maintain a good relationship.

Acha. Provide a Quranic reference for it pls.

You are most welcome to believe what you want to believe but that doesnt mean its right.

^ yes becuz only your opinion counts? ....typical narrow minded people.

I'd like to see a Quranic reference for the joint family system actually...something mentioning the saas and susar would be ideal. Thanks.

And its not what I want to believe...its about moving away from the desi thinking of living with susraal being imperative. Its really not.

The fact is, like a lot of Pakistani culture...this is also another borrowed Indian trait of ours.

Culture does not equal religion.

Supplementary question:

Can wife stop husband from taking care of parents at old age? Lets say taking them to Dr, stopping at their place for 20/30 min before coming to home every day? I can tell you most of the wives will have problem with that too. Just like wife has a right to have her own place, isn't it FARZ on husband to take care of his parents.

PS: I am in no way denying right of separate living of wife. I am just advancing the discussion. I think we all know right of separate housing is given to Girl by religion too.

Absolutely! And thats my point. The DIL is not there to relieve others of their responsibilities towards their own parents...I find it absurd when I see people thinking that way.

Larki ke apne maa baap nahin hein kya jo vo doosron ke maa baap ko bhi dekhay?

Its husband's FARZ to care for his parents and he should...along with his sisters and brothers...its all of THEIR responsibilities...NOT the DIL.

and if sisters and brothers are not doing their part, should he also leave alone parents?

Personally, I will not like this pre-condition/term from my wife. my relationship with my parents is independent of my what my brother and sister does or dont

THeek hai i w do that but before that you have to admit that you dont have any relevant Qurani reference to back up yr views with.

I had love to hear what these ladies have to say to this now.

:=)

Im glad to see the enthusiasm. :) The fact is, kids dont care for their own parents and then think ghar ki bahu is there for that purpose. She isnt.

Its pretty simple actually...Islam emphasizes parents and their relationship with their children...not their bahu.

I'd like to see you prove your viewpoints with Islam...and not Pakistani-Masala mentality.

You think the joint family system is ordained by Islam? Lets see it. :)

In Muslim society there is no joint family system of the type found in traditional Hindu society wherein the economic resources of the family are joined together into one business unit and the head of the family exerts real control over them.

There is economic cooperation in a Muslim family but no joint economic organisation and control except where arranged mutually.

Lol. Nice try. Just admit that your opinion has nothing to do with what Islam says and its all fine. Your life, your choice but i really do pity whoevers family you get into cuz you seriously have super weird thinking.

Still waiting what you have to say to Decent's question. Dont trick yourself by going into all this bashan, just admit that you are also one of the many complexed women who think they can have their way all the time. But i am sorry to burst your bubble, not all husbands are as BHEGERAT as you perhaps want yours to be :) So goodluck.

wo wo wo wo ..... take a step back ladies.... and chill