Monster In Law

Re: Monster In Law

I read the posts related to Mrs.Shikra's issue. And sadly, I too dont think there is a real solution to this. Hopeully with the passage of time ur fil and mil would 'calm down' and stop giving their 'suggestions' leaving things to do your way. Its like when someone thinks they are right, no matter what you say and do; it just wont work on them. I am not married, so cant say "I understand" but I can imagine, it must be frustrating.Inshallah Allah behtar karay ga.

bas maa/baap banjao..problem solved!! :halo:

they wont care about how much namak mirch goes into the food at that point :smiley:

(ooo shikra is gonna kill me now)

hahahahaha…point noted :woho:

AAMEEN!!!

lol…thanks for understanding…i thought i was the crazy one :clown:…but still i like them :smiley:

aunty k liye oil ke dabbay main salan daal diya karay aur unkal ka salan namak aur mirch ke dabbo main .

will stop them complaince for once and ever .

lolz

hope mr. shikra doesnt read this.

there is a very easy solution mrs. shikra.......make it the way u like....pour as much as u want in a plate...then dump loads of oil and spices (which i have to agree with you is disgusting and very unhealthy!) to thier stuff if thats what they like and they want to die of clogge arteries...why do u care so much? u cant help everyone and u did ur duty by letting them know...they dont listen if they get diseases let them..who cares?? its not ur problem.

oh and to the other person that wrote "to clarify.. the husband has to listen to his mother first. and the wife has to listen to her husband...." ...........what century are u living in??? u must be a man......a husband doenst have to listen to his mom all the time esp when sehs wrong and wife doesnt have to do the same either im not saying never listen but do whats right in ur own heart and stop listening to what other people have to say all the time...no one really cares about you but urself and sometimes it pays to pay attention to how u truly feel.

mizzrani…hahahahaha…yaar i cant be that mean…:bummer:

queenbee2007…yaar common i love them as my parents…if they are doing something wrong i think i should tell them…liken i know its really annoying and maybe none of my business but i just cant help it…:bummer:

Some inlaws r just very inconsiderate and careless and want everything their way all the time...but recalling what we have been taught as girls ... izzat karo aur karaao. i think u should at least try to compromise with the inlaws as much as u can. i know at one point u would just give up if it continues, but at that time u wouldnt regret loosing ur patience cuz u know u tried.

these days no one has patience hence the rate of divorces (higher than ever, im sure)

the way i see it is; achay ikhlaq ko sabhi at one point recognize krtay hain and if that doesnt turn out to be the case...Allah is watching, u will be rewarded for respecting and trying to make ur MIL and FIL happy (cuz they are like ur parents)
for the ones that think u shouldnt have to put up with mils and fils cuz of what they say or ask u to do....would u flip out like that if UR parents said something similar? would u want to just listen to ur husband and not ur mother, at ALL times?????

well then if u love them so much and are fine w. hearing it....then i guess u cant complain!?!?

Mrs. Shikra,

I would bring over a doctor friend and have them bring up the topic somehow. Then they can get an explanation as to why its important to eat a healthy diet.

To supplement that you can watch some program on a health channel which discusses high cholesterol and sodium in the diet, perhaps with some graphic photos of clogged artieries and complications due to such.

That should do it.

Now if they still say they are older and so it doesnt matter, just say that they may be older but you want them around for another hundred years minimum so you are going to have to stick to your cooking methods. smile

dear mrs. Shikra,

please dont let the oil float. bring in a dietician and help them see that what they are used to, may not be a healthy thing for them.
they dont need to be annoyed. they just dont know any different.

it may be hard for them to change, but you can give it a good happy try and i am sure they will understand.

at least you and mr. Shikra will know that you gave your best effort to make it easy for them to change their eating habits and health-compromising preferences, for their own good.

but they have to let you take a chance.

listen, if you have your trustworthy sathee on your side, without resentful to the elders, things will go very very well - they will not only begin eating what you make, but would prefer how you will make it for them and enjoy good health as a family. :slight_smile:

Dushwari

THANKS EVERYONE!!!

ill try my best to make them understand that how dangerous it is for them…but the thing is the more i tell them the more annoyed or irritated they get…my MIL is always like yeh sub goron k liyay hota hai…u know stuff like that…and my FIL is like mujhe sugar hai iss liyay namak ka taste kum ata hai…:bummer:khair thanks yaaro…

Next time your inlaws complain about the lack of oil/salt in their food, you have the zinger right here. Just say, “Abu jee, aap nay kabhi socha kay shayad aap ki diabetes galat khana khanay say shuroo hui hai?” The old man is sick and he still doesn’t want to change his diet? Have your husbad talk to them about how vital it is for them to cut down their fat and salt intake.

or when they will be in the same situation, when their kids will be asking for ideas as to how to send their parents to pakistan…what goes around comes around! tsk tsk tsk

If your hubby likes the way you cook, then they have no right to complain. Kya tum chef ho ya bahoo ho ke har aik ke liye separate salan banao :mad:

yeah..i agree..we all have one life to live...cant please everyone..so dont even bother! Outrageous attempts to fulfill outrageous..stubborn and unreasonable demands is just plain wrong..family is there to love and respect...not enslave and criticize...

Okay about ur father-in-laws problem about mirch and salt, well always put a side helping of achaar or chatni with the food, that way he cant complain, this is the problem in my house cos my dad doesnt like mirch we do the same thing and for ur MIL well take a bit of salaan out at the end and add extra oil, voila and she’s happy.

See in my house my dad doesnt eat mirch and everyone else does, so either my mum takes a bit of salaan out before she adds the spices and then adds the spices to the 2 handi’s accordingly or she makes the salaan plain and we have achaar or chatni with it.

Wel anyways hope that helps

^ yea i was thinkin of that take a bit of food out when ur cookin an add more mirch, salt and oil
make sure salan is floating in oil hehe

oh god i am like dying--inlaws are so there all the time 24/7 no privacy--half of my day goes in cooking food for them and then i get busy with the kids--i can't do anythign else---
trying watching TV oh god we can't cuz they have taken over the TV room---and the only way we can watch tv is with them which in short is just geo and dramas---forget ever watching american programs with them even watching indian movies is a pain cuz every movie seems inappropriate---we attempted to watch amitabh tabu movie oh god i was dying had no clue what to do--getting up and leaving, forwarding or just turning none of them are comfortable solutions---
yeah amitabh looking for condoms was not easy to watch with them--
I am dying for freedom which is not anywhere near b/c they keep extending their stay every week--now they mentioned Jan 08 ----going from october 07 to jan--YIKES!!!!

If it is just for a visit then all you can do is adjust your lifestyle. Does your MIL help with the cooking at all? Why don't you put another TV in your bedroom so that you can watch the shows that you want?

About the three month extension - how long have they already been here? I understand that we all want our parents to visit, but they should have the common sense to keep the visit within a reasonable time frame for the comfort and convenience of everyone. Has your husband spoken with them, and what does he think? I would put my foot down about another three month extension - that just isn't fair for anyone.