Mod response time...

There have been recent episodes where Mods were in a different time zone and the posters as we know are all spread out…

I think the Majority of Mods are in western hemisphare…and when they are usually not online…lots of stuff can happen and which, if addressed quickly is better than late..

so my suggestion…

That there should be Mods who are active at different timezones…so that some of the Mods are there at every time..

I think that would be a good way to improve the Moderation here

NOTE: I don’t know about the Mod appointment process, or whether there are people willing/able to do it…

Re: Mod response time...

Nomica, this is an excellent thought and although there is no written procedure in place where mods are appointed based on their geographical location but we also like to keep GS covered for as much part of the day as we can.

Having said that, between our CMs and admins, we have North America, Europe and Pakstan time zones covered. Some of our mods log in from UAE. Unfortunately we do not have any representation from Far East or Australia/ New Zealand area at this point of time but we like to have some guppies from that part of the world to be part of the admin team too.

Good suggestion NomiCA.

However, I'd like to point out that when a PM is sent to us, a little bit of time, at least 24 hours should be given to a mod to act. We may be in the same time zone, but picking our children up from school instead of being on GS. Right?

A little patience and mutual respect goes a long way. Thank you for your help and suggestions.

It had been the practice so far - GS always have had moderates from different time zones to cover such incidents ..

Nomi the episodes you are seeing thesedays are nothing - Long gone are days when PA and religion forums were literally like battle fields :)

Those days they had mods from different time zones and it really worked ..

Yes..but i think the number of posters are lot more from Pakistan,Middle East and then Europe and Northamerica.....compared to fareast (just my guess)

so if middleast timeslot is covered...i think that will be enough...

and i think wats more important is that the time when mods usually Log in rather than geographical location...

I am NOT COMPLAINING....just a suggestion......and the point you mention also emphasize the need to have more people involved..

P.S...... how do you guyz select a MOD?? Just wondering...

But in those days we did not have CMs, just admins and director (maybe 4 people plus Azkar/X2/Muzna). Now CMs add another layer and makes 7 more people who have admin rights.

and other than Adrestia, I dont remember any mod from down under.

We also had an admin Who-me from down under.

nice nick. I did not know that.

When I said 'in those days' I was talking about post July of 2007 days. Short term memory :D

Re: Mod response time…

I know you’re not complaining NomiCa. :flower1: Just wanted to tell you ki humarey bhi chotay chotay bhukey bachay hain…:naak:.

LOL, he was the IT admin before Gizzy. :D

what about other Ghum Naam shaheeds :slight_smile: or unspoken heroes :wink:

Bachay to aapkay hi hain....baakay mods to bacha-less hi hain na :D

We don’t know unke ghar ghar ki kahani :faizy:

To add further. Because of this extra layer, we have better response time than ever. We have CMs from Pakistan, Europe & America. Between these CMs we, most of the day, have at-least 1 CM online. This gives us almost 24 hrs cover. Granted if something is going on in other forum (other than ONLINE CM's forum) he/she might not notice it, BUT he/she can still take an administrative action IF it is brought to attention.

NomiCA, THIS highlights the importance of REPORTING feature. If users see anything happening in forums, they MUST report it; so a temporary corrective action (if mods for that forum are not present) can be taken by ONLINE CM or Administrator.

by getting 500 dollars deposited in GS bank account :@:

interested ?

chalo g theek hai......it seems chawal hi maari thi mainay bhi phir......mitti pao :(

NomiCA! dil chota nahi karty yaar :hugz: Enjoy every moment :k: