mixed backgrounds

Re: mixed backgrounds

Sure, ok..part of different Pakistani ethnic groups..but still generally Pakistani nonetheless. So What I meant by mixed backgrounds was children born out of unions where parents are from different nationalities I guess?

My father is Punjabi and so is my Mother.

I am Pure Unlike many do number loug here!

I dont know how to answer that to be honest with you. I guess I identify more with Canadian culture given that I was born and raised here. I have visited Pakistan and absolutely loved it, but I never actually lived there. My father and I are Muslim and my mother Christian. BUT, as Canadian as I feel, I have always been questionned by people as to where I am from - I look more Pakistani than Canadian- and therefore always had to talk about my Pakistani heritage. So I think other people identify me with being Pakistani more than myself in some ways. I speak very little urdu- something I resent my dad for because he should have made more of an effort to teach it to me, so I am learning it myself now. One thing I do remeber growing up is my parents fighting all the time about everything (money and finances, friends...) BUT never religion or anything about ethnic backgrounds, which is why I always find it weird when I see some of my friends being in conflict with their SO because of those reasons. There was an unspoken but strong respect and understanding for differing religious or cultural views in my household between my parents. My mother would encourage my father to bring me to the mosque when I was young to meet other kids from the Pakistani community there, my father would attend baptisms/weddings at the church with my mother, we would celebrate EID and go to my mom's relatives for their christmas celebrations. Never any hate or conflict, and I grew up to know who I was and respect anyone different. I grew up wearing western clothes, but my mom would always get a salwar kameez or two made for me every year so I could wear those too on special occasions. She also knew some urdu so I would hear my parents speaking it and both my parents would cook desi food a lot. As a child, we lived in a completely caucasian neighborhood- I was the only brown kid- and was made to feel different very often. But as I grew up, being mixed is something i really cherish. ON a side note, I went to Pakistan when I was 23, and all my cousins were freaking out saying things like "We were expecting this little Canadian girl, but the way your talk, express yourself, look, you are ssoo south Asian!!".

Toffee lah doon?

Not sure if this counts as I'm not biracial, but both my parents come from mixed backgrounds. My mum is Pakistani/Malay and my dad is Pakistani/Persian. That being said the Malaysian and Persian identities have had very little influence on my upbringing so I tend not to bring it up as it just ends up confusing people.

I have an interested mix family. My great grandfather on my mom's side was actually from Srinigar and was orphaned and human trafficked to Lahore, adopted by a Muslim couple and ardently became a Muslim. He spoke Kashur and was born to a Brahmin family. So whenever I see a Mirpuri say they are Kashmiri or a Punjabi say they are Pathan I know how full of $hitt they are.

Mom's great grandfather were King Nadir Shah's doctor and Pakhtun from Afghanistan. A good portion, I would say 1/6 of my family still speaks Pakhtu wa za poegam kho khabre kawal mushkal de....largely because my mom was born and after the age of 11 raised in Lahore (vs Peshawar). So yeah we are legimiately Pakhtun and Punjabi but have become Punjabified like a lot of Pakhtuns who settled in Multan have...who still kept customs like attan (dance) but adopted the local language.

Anyone who thinks Pakhtun and Punjabi are the same are sorely wrong. Probably one of those Punjabis who is so confused and ashamed of their own identity they say dumb ****t like "I am Pathan" "I am Kashmiri" "I am Arab" without having any linguistic knowledge of cultural knowabout.

Also seriously Indian and Pakistani? Most of you Punjabis nad Mohajirs were and are sitll of the same culture as most of them, watch their movies etc. I don't know why Punjabis especially can't accept this idea they were Hindus who were converted. Yet uphold 'syed' blood from Arabs. Talk about an inferiority complex. What more is that I would say 90% of these people are UK Pakistanis who are more Pendhu than Pakistani Phendus.

Ameristanis to the rescue!

That is quiet exotic Syraa.

:D Me too.

No, maybe because Pakistan has only a few major ethnic groups esp. outside of Pak they say that; but saying both my parents are Indian for example doesn't mean anything.

Pakistani what tho? Punjabi?? That sees to be the default meaning..

Well, good thing Punjabi side of your family owned Nadir Shah. :P But, yea I've heard dumb stuff from Punjabis on how we're peace-loving people who chose to surrender to British too. I'm like what?? We made them surrender.. It was small group of Hindu rulers and Sikh generals who betrayed everyone else;

Where did this Pathan and Punjabi being same thing come from? Peshawar to Khyber would be in afghanistan and not Pakistan if that were true.

Please tell police, and get them to beat the crap out of any Punjabi who calls themself this or that. I mean beside akbar there wasn't even any real foreign rule in Bharat, let alone '1000 years of muslim(arab) rule'. And even he basically gave full freedom to rajasthan and punjab just like the british after him, to capture the rest of 'india'; so where do they become mixed from? Ghazni having to try 16 times before succeeding in invading Punjab aka Pak doesn't allow for a lot of time for the mixture they seem to want..

The only thing it allows for is him running away since we didn't use to kill Kings.

Well the OP said it so, but then says that she is a mix of paki and Canadian, which aren’t ethnicities at all. She is the most aqalmand of the threa.

Quetta and Peshawar ka Pathan can’t agree on who is real and look at what she is saying… :rotfl:

So Goray ka dimaag kharab tha Kay nizam got the latest jet technology and he didn't even bomb the invading Indian troops?

the word “pure” in your post reminded me something:

1. A classfellow back in medical school,looking for a girl,his only specification was she should be “pure breed” rajput :halo: I never knew what that meant because I thought “breed” word was only for animals until then and later found out it meant both sets of grandparents should be rajput. he ended up marrying 10 years elder lady, totally illiterate and illmannered but she was “pure” so good for him.

2. my sister’s friend,almost 38 now,wants to get married but her family’s looking for a “pure” guy (unfortunately rajput again in this case) and she always tells her dad will marry her off to a dog happily,just that it has to be a rajput :frowning:

so I really understand where does this all come from ! not your fault kid

Humans are animals, social animals.
On a serious note, in your friend’s case, its sad, not funny.These Jatts, Gujjars have this psychotic ideaology that they are better.I have a guard who is 40 something, single thanks to same thoughts, Baoo g Ma Gujjar Kuri Naa Viyaa kerna hai.I once offered him good gift and to bear his wedding expenditure if he marry girl of my choice( ek bewaa thi) but he refused!

Abb kub kerni hai ye pata nahi!

I never said it's funny ! it's really sad that people consider themselves PURE and look down upon others as DO NUMBER for this stupid reason. When Prophet Muhammad (p) said in his last sermon that no Arab is superior to non-Arab and vice versa, this ended all types of discrimination clearly...phir zaat,nasl,caste tau bahut dour ki baat hai.

It was supposed to be funny ,khair I take my words back.

Jaisay ap waisa he apka driver :D usko bhi fikr hogi keh out of cast shadi kar kay bachay do number naa bun jayen ;)

when did prophet mohammed pbuh say that?

All mankind is from Adam and Eve. An Arab has no superiority over a non-Arab, nor does a non-Arab have any superiority over an Arab; white has no superiority over black, nor does a black have any superiority over white; [none have superiority over another] except by piety and good action.
Prophet Muhammad’s Last Sermon: A Final Admonition - The Religion of Islam

oh wow such a nice surah