Re: mixed backgrounds
oh wow such a nice surah
Its not a surah.
Its saying of Prophet Muhammad PBUH.Its Hadith/Hadees.
oh wow such a nice surah
Its not a surah.
aren't hadiths not always true and can have inaccuracys in them? who wrote the hadith?
Very unfortunately I only have very basic knowledge of Islam and I certianly dont want to derail this thread but yes, If you are Salafi thn yes you can question about its accuracy.
It is from the translation of his sermon during hajj.
How many of you are from mixed backgrounds- parents being of different ethnicities? My father is Pakistani, my mother Canadian.
Me :) mother's german dad's pakistani
where did you grow up
I dont know how to answer that to be honest with you. I guess I identify more with Canadian culture given that I was born and raised here. I have visited Pakistan and absolutely loved it, but I never actually lived there. My father and I are Muslim and my mother Christian. BUT, as Canadian as I feel, I have always been questionned by people as to where I am from - I look more Pakistani than Canadian- and therefore always had to talk about my Pakistani heritage. So I think other people identify me with being Pakistani more than myself in some ways. I speak very little urdu- something I resent my dad for because he should have made more of an effort to teach it to me, so I am learning it myself now. One thing I do remeber growing up is my parents fighting all the time about everything (money and finances, friends...) BUT never religion or anything about ethnic backgrounds, which is why I always find it weird when I see some of my friends being in conflict with their SO because of those reasons. There was an unspoken but strong respect and understanding for differing religious or cultural views in my household between my parents. My mother would encourage my father to bring me to the mosque when I was young to meet other kids from the Pakistani community there, my father would attend baptisms/weddings at the church with my mother, we would celebrate EID and go to my mom's relatives for their christmas celebrations. Never any hate or conflict, and I grew up to know who I was and respect anyone different. I grew up wearing western clothes, but my mom would always get a salwar kameez or two made for me every year so I could wear those too on special occasions. She also knew some urdu so I would hear my parents speaking it and both my parents would cook desi food a lot. As a child, we lived in a completely caucasian neighborhood- I was the only brown kid- and was made to feel different very often. But as I grew up, being mixed is something i really cherish. ON a side note, I went to Pakistan when I was 23, and all my cousins were freaking out saying things like "We were expecting this little Canadian girl, but the way your talk, express yourself, look, you are ssoo south Asian!!".
That's great that your parents were like any other couple in many respects but never fought over religion or how to raise you. Yes, people have assumptions about others based on their looks and perhaps ethnicity. You're a product of your experience so of course if you are raised in a family where both Pakistani culture & Islam, and Canadian culture & Christianity are a part of your life, you're not going to be completely one way or another.
My nephew is 1/2 white and 1/2 Indian. He looks completely white! He had strawberry blond hair as a baby which is now pure blond. My sis has gotten my Mom's Iraqi lightness so I'm guessing that's why he's blond. So this white looking child's first language was Urdu, it was really cute. When he was a little over one year old while watching a video and he says "mama iske manei kya hai?" It made my sis wonder for a brief minute if she should stop talking to him in urdu to help him adjust more to the culture that surrounds him. Mash'allah, as beautiful as he is on the outside, he is just as gorgeous in the inside.
He considers himself Indian! it's so adorable. He just started going to school and joined the Indian club. LOL...race stuff does come up. He came home one day and said "Mama, what's my skin color"? Just recently, while he was playing with the kids in the neighborhood, one of the fathers was just joking around and said to his daughter, Casey are you going to marry LP (my nephew) and the little child responds "NO! I'm not going to marry a brown person!". Obviously a 4 year old child is not going to think about race if it was not discussed in her house. Sad thing is that this little girl is 1/2 Chinese and 1/2 white and thinks she's for some reason better than another 1/2 asian (albeit different ethnicities) child and 1/2 white child.
The funny thing is that when you look at Indian history and see so the many invasions, trade, and porous borders, there is no purity when it comes to ethnicity in Pakistan and India. Met a girl whose Afghani family has been living in India for 10 generations (they are the decedents of the mogul soldiers) and then they moved to Pakistan during Partition. Their clan has pride in their Afghan roots and they only marry within their clan even nowadays while majority of the clan has moved to UK and United States. But here and there, they do have a few outsiders who have married into the family and completely enveloped into their Afghan “Pakistani” culture so they think of themselves of “Pure” Afghan Pakistanis.
where did you grow up
Well it's bit mixed actually.. I was born and bred in Germany, my dad sent me to Pakistan when I was 15 to learn about Islam and the Pakistani culture, I stayed in Pakistan for 2 years and then moved to the UK for Uni education.. After graduating from higher education I moved back to Pakistan, which is where I live currently. You are in Canada right?
I think it's quite nice to be multicultural by the way, I quite like it :)
I come from a mixed union too. My father is a man and my mother happens to be a woman believe it or not. I dealt with it ok growing up. Not always easy when you come from a man and a woman. Sometimes it was hard. My mom would want to talk as she is a woman and my father would rather not as he is a man. Life was tough, but I am recovering. Thanks for understanding.
Well it's bit mixed actually.. I was born and bred in Germany, my dad sent me to Pakistan when I was 15 to learn about Islam and the Pakistani culture, I stayed in Pakistan for 2 years and then moved to the UK for Uni education.. After graduating from higher education I moved back to Pakistan, which is where I live currently. You are in Canada right?
I think it's quite nice to be multicultural by the way, I quite like it :)
Yes Im in Canada. I like coming from a multicultural setting/background too!
I come from a mixed union too. My father is a man and my mother happens to be a woman believe it or not. I dealt with it ok growing up. Not always easy when you come from a man and a woman. Sometimes it was hard. My mom would want to talk as she is a woman and my father would rather not as he is a man. Life was tough, but I am recovering. Thanks for understanding.
Wow. That must be hard. I sympathise lol
OH WOW !!! now I see why gay marriage would be so much better. Thanks for the suggestion lolzXD. lololololol