Re: Misbah Ul Haq speaking and criticizing after the loss
^ lolz
^ lolz
When a guy says SR of 73 is pathetic and ‘unacceptable’ and somehow SR of 75 is amazingly good, one should better keep quiet and not respond to such mindless ramblings. One can always pick and choose statistics to make a point.
Fawad Alam is a good batsman and perhaps should be in the team but he certainly is not the greatest thing that happened to Pakistan since sliced bread.
Sa1eem bhai keeps crying about Fawad Alam’s 3 innings in Australia. Umar Akmal played in those matches as well and made more runs in each innings with much higher average and similar strike rate. Does this make Akmal better batsman than Fawad? Misbah never played in Australia before world cup. How does comparing them make any sense? And when he played, his strike rate is better than Fawad. Why cry about him being slow? How does comparing Fawad (5 down batsman) with openers make sense? If you blindly look at Averages and SRs, then even Wahab Riaz’s (AVG 37 SR 106) batting record in Australia is better than Fawad’s (AVG 39 SR 67).
I don’t really have time but almost all comparisons he presents are flawed, in statistical sense. And when I do challenge, he says “You don’t know about cricket”.
Thanks.
I respect Misbah very much and defend him a lot. He is a good test batsman and captain but ODI a big NO.
On his retirement from ODI lets see ranking of Pakistan. Blocking every ball and not rotating strike was just a game like chandar paul. Anyway as Test cricketer his services will always be remembered. But not as ODI player
[TABLE="class: StoryengineTable, width: 630"]
26 March 2015[TR="class: head"]
[TH="class: left"]Team[/TH]
[TH="class: left"]Matches[/TH]
[TH="class: left"]Points[/TH]
[TH="class: left"]Rating[/TH]
[/TR]
Australia
India
South Africa
New Zealand
Sri Lanka
England
Pakistan
West Indies
Bangladesh
Zimbabwe
Ireland
Afghanistan
If anyone remember NZ situation when Vttori was captain and performing very well as an all rounder but team ranking was always 7 or 8 and now after change of captain u can see the same team performance.
Lets select the team on merit and make Sarfraz Captain. InshaAllah we ll get good result.
I respect Misbah very much and defend him a lot. He is a good test batsman and captain but ODI a big NO. On his retirement from ODI lets see ranking of Pakistan. Blocking every ball and not rotating strike was just a game like chandar paul. Anyway as Test cricketer his services will always be remembered. But not as ODI player
[TABLE="class: StoryengineTable, width: 630"] 26 March 2015[TR="class: head"] [TH="class: left"]Team[/TH] [TH="class: left"]Matches[/TH] [TH="class: left"]Points[/TH] [TH="class: left"]Rating[/TH] [/TR]
Australia 58 7062 122
India 77 8910 116
South Africa 62 6926 112
New Zealand 53 5779 109
Sri Lanka 89 9535 107
England 62 6271 101
Pakistan 66 6264 95
West Indies 57 5246 92
Bangladesh 38 2889 76
Zimbabwe 41 2051 50
Ireland 16 705 44
Afghanistan 20 765 38
If anyone remember NZ situation when Vttori was captain and performing very well as an all rounder but team ranking was always 7 or 8 and now after change of captain u can see the same team performance.
Lets select the team on merit and make Sarfraz Captain. InshaAllah we ll get good result.
Who could have performed better than Misbah, from current lot ?
I remember when Shazad was performing in UAE, you guys were suggesting him next captain. Same attitude is for Sarfaraz on the basis of few performances. Inadequate maturity.
I dont think people consider him better than Imran. you consider slogger like afridi a legend lolz.
chal gya to teer na chala to tukka. This is all you like about cricket?
When a guy says SR of 73 is pathetic and 'unacceptable' and somehow SR of 75 is amazingly good, one should better keep quiet and not respond to such mindless ramblings. One can always pick and choose statistics to make a point.
Fawad Alam is a good batsman and perhaps should be in the team but he certainly is not the greatest thing that happened to Pakistan since sliced bread.
Sa1eem bhai keeps crying about Fawad Alam's 3 innings in Australia. Umar Akmal played in those matches as well and made more runs in each innings with much higher average and similar strike rate. Does this make Akmal better batsman than Fawad? Misbah never played in Australia before world cup. How does comparing them make any sense? And when he played, his strike rate is better than Fawad. Why cry about him being slow? How does comparing Fawad (5 down batsman) with openers make sense? If you blindly look at Averages and SRs, then even Wahab Riaz's (AVG 37 SR 106) batting record in Australia is better than Fawad's (AVG 39 SR 67).
I don't really have time but almost all comparisons he presents are flawed, in statistical sense. And when I do challenge, he says "You don't know about cricket".
Thanks.
No one is saying that SR 75 is good (only an idiot would say that). What I am saying is that, in Pakistani lots of pathetic cricketers who play for Pakistan in ODI, Fawad combination of average and SR is best, better than all pathetic players in team, so on what basis Fawad is out and these pathetic players are in?
As for SR, in my all posts I wrote that nothing below SR= 80 is acceptable whatever the average (Actually, I would prefer 85). As for average, accumulative average should be such that team could play 50 overs, that is all. That is why I gave a concept that ODI players SR should be more than 80 and (Ave x SR) should be more than 3200. In other words, if average is below 40 than SR should be higher than 80.
I also wrote that players domestic performance (or, if player has played at international level, than combination of domestic and international performance ... or 'Ave x SR') should determine who plays for national team a batsmen, on merit (that is, higher the combination the better), and that is variable with performance.
Here is how one works out if team can play 50 overs.
Average number of balls a Player 'A' plays = (Ave x 100) divide by SR. For instance:
Fawad ODI record says that his Ave is 45 and SR is 75. It means:
Fawad on average plays 60 balls for his 45.
Misbah ODI record says that his Ave is 43 and SR is 73. It means:
Misbah on average plays 59 balls for his 43 runs
This shows that Fawad present performance is that, Fawad in ODI can play more balls and can make more runs than Misbah.
Compare that with other Pakistani pathetic players:
Younis Ave 31, SR 75. It means:
Younis on average plays 41 ball for his 31 runs
Ahmed Shahzad Ave 34, SR 72. It means:
Ahmed on average plays 47 balls for his 34 runs
U Akmal has good SR. His ave 34 and SR 86. It means:
U Akmal on average plays 39 balls for his 34 runs
Shahid Afridi: Ave 23, SR 117. It means:
S Afridi on average plays 19 balls for his 23 runs.
Now, team management should make sure that ... total number of average balls 11 players in team plays should be over 300 ... ideally 350 (to take into account unpredictability of game), as some in particular match might play more than average and some less than average. Management should also make sure that first 5 batsmen (or players in team as batsmen) should score at least 80 percent of score.
From here, management can also predict capability of teams and what average total score they would post or can chase ... and that would depends on high SR of upper order team players, players who are in team as batsman (as long as ability to play on average 300 balls).
Some taking about Azhar Ali whose Ave is 41 (good) and SR is 64 (pathetic plus). It means; Azhar Ali needs on average 64 balls for his 41.
To make 41 runs in 61 balls is pathetically low and a player in team with such figures would only make a team lose matches.
Some taking about consolidation, but no team can afford consolidation in ODIs and win. On the other than, players in ODI do not get out because they cannot stay on wicket, but they mostly get out because they want to score fast. Else, if runs are not important and tuk-tuk is fine, than who needs tuk-tuk batsmen (like Azhar Ali), as even last 4 to 5 players (mostly bowlers) can play out 50 overs (and that regularly happens in test match where 90 overs are bowled in whole day, and 20 overs in last hour of test match, that also without fielding restrictions).
No one is saying that SR 75 is good (only an idiot would say that). What I am saying is that, in Pakistani lots of pathetic cricketers who play for Pakistan in ODI, Fawad combination of average and SR is best, better than all pathetic players in team, so on what basis Fawad is out and these pathetic players are in? ......
If you stop here, no one (including me) would (or should) disagree with you.
But when you write pages of essays about how Misbah's slow SR is so pathetic while Fawad's is essentially the same, then you dilute your message a lot. If you keep on rambling about how Misbah's slow batting has essentially destroyed Pakistan cricket and then present statistics like below claiming that one player is the best thing Pakistan batting lineup could have and other player is a total devil, it totally messes up your whole case:
Fawad ODI record says that his Ave is 45 and SR is 75. It means:
Fawad on average plays 60 balls for his 45.
Misbah ODI record says that his Ave is 43 and SR is 73. It means:
Misbah on average plays 59 balls for his 43 runs
Why are we comparing apples n oranges here? Misbah and Fawad are totally two seperate styles. Yes Fawad should be in team but at the same time, Misbah's contribution in team is immense. Fawad can be compared with Haris sohail or hafeez or Sohaib maqsood. Now lets talk.
....Fawad can be compared with Haris sohail or hafeez or Sohaib maqsood. Now lets talk.
But I thought the thread was about Misbah :P
oops, ya you are right. So lets say this Misbah can be compared with Younus or Azhar or Asad Shafiq, if someone really wants to. But to me, Misbah is way ahead of these three.
Sa1eem bhai keeps crying about Fawad Alam's 3 innings in Australia. Umar Akmal played in those matches as well and made more runs in each innings with much higher average and similar strike rate.
Bhai jaan, sach tou likha karo, adhori baat kewn kartay ho? :)
In that 5 match series, U Akmal played 5 matches and Fawad was given chance in only 3 matches. In the end, their total score was:
UA: 23, 0, 59, 38 and 67 = 157 runs in 5 innings
Fawad: -, -, 33, 21 and 63 = 117 runs in 3 innings
End result:
Fawad 117 in 3 innings … that is Ave = 39.00
U Akmal 187 in 5 innings … that is Ave = 37.4
In 5th and last match, Pakistan scored 212 runs. Most runs were scored by U Akmal and Fawad.
U Akmal made 67 runs in 102 balls (SR 65)
Fawad made 63 runs in 70 balls (SR 90).
Still, unlike you, I never select innings from whole picture, and say that Fawad SR is better than UA.
Anyhow, what happened after that last match against Australia in Australia, is important?
Fawad was dropped, but UA and other pathetic players were still playing and played on placid wickets of UAE against SL, India and BD. Why is that?
Is that not a way to take away confidence from a player? If a player still keep performing when getting dropped after good performance and given occasional chance while pathetic players keep flopping still play in team, what does that mean?
Normally, in such situation, even good player would lose confidence and interest to perform.
Anyhow, Fawad was given chance against England in England and here is his innings:
1[SUP]st[/SUP] Match … 39 in 39 balls … SR 100.
2[SUP]nd[/SUP] Match … 20* in 16 balls … SR 125
3[SUP]rd[/SUP] Match … 64 in 86 balls … SR 74.4
That was highest score in the inning that made Pakistan win the match. Second highest was Asad Shafiq’s 40 in 59 balls (SR 67.8)
4[SUP]th[/SUP] Match … 29 in 52 balls
(Pakistan won)
5[SUP]th[/SUP] Match … 1 run in 5 balls
in this series, Fawad average was 38.25 (better than all others) and SR 77.3
Shows that whenever Fawad was given chance, most of the time he performed.
So, you tell me, whose performance is better in ODI ... with figures to back what you say.
Is Misbah performance better than Fawad Alam in any way (ODI average, SR, List A Average ... or even FC average) other than getting selected to play for Pakistan?
I am not including test because Fawad was given only 3 test and his average is 41.66 ... but Misbah average is 49 (similar to his FC average).
Normally, in long run, a players Test average converges with FC average and ODI average converges with 'List A' average. Since Fawad FC average is 57, it is expected that his test average in long run (if given chance) would be approx '57' or similar to his FC average (as any other players).
So, you tell me, whose performance is better in ODI ... .
Misbah ul Haq.
If you stop here, no one (including me) would (or should) disagree with you.
But when you write pages of essays about how Misbah's slow SR is so pathetic while Fawad's is essentially the same, then you dilute your message a lot. If you keep on rambling about how Misbah's slow batting has essentially destroyed Pakistan cricket and then present statistics like below claiming that one player is the best thing Pakistan batting lineup could have and other player is a total devil, it totally messes up your whole case:
Fawad ODI record says that his Ave is 45 and SR is 75. It means: Fawad on average plays 60 balls for his 45.
Misbah ODI record says that his Ave is 43 and SR is 73. It means: Misbah on average plays 59 balls for his 43 runs
If you read my post carefully, I always wrote that Misbah SR is slow, but I also added that his SR improves after facing 25 to 30 balls. Only thing I wrote is that his tuk tuk in first 20 to 30 balls make Pakistan lose matches (as he can get out before he starts to score, and thus waste too many balls) ... plus his slow batting put pressure on other batsmen and make Pakistan lose. His reluctance to make singles reduced SR of other batsmen too.
Plus, I also wrote that SR of an ODI batsmen should not be below 80 and obviously that include Fawad whose SR is 75, though I also added that selecting from players available in Pakistan, Fawad is the best when combination of average and SR is taken into account.
On the other hand, you can check my all post and you will notice that when commenting on Pakistani ODI player, I never said anything bad about UA and SA, as both from their figures, are reasonable ODI players. I only said that one should not expect a lot of runs from Afridi, as he is pinch hitter with job to make quick 20 odd runs, and not batsman, that is all. If Afridi makes 50 or 100, that is bonus what one should not expected from him on regular basis.
Misbah ul Haq.
I said ... justify with figures. :)
Even if you talk about last year (2014) ODI figures, Fawad averages 69 (SR 77) and Misbah averages 23 (SR 70). :)
If you read my post carefully, ....
If you read my posts carefully, you will realize that you do not need to write these essays, since I already agree with you on Fawad and rest of Pakistani 'Batsmen'.
About Misbah, when you come out to bat at 4 runs for 4 wickets, you'd rather do tuk tuk than try and have all-rounders or tail enders face the bowling.
Have a good day/night.
If you read my posts carefully, you will realize that you do not need to write these essays, since I already agree with you on Fawad and rest of Pakistani 'Batsmen'.
About Misbah, when you come out to bat at 4 runs for 4 wickets, you'd rather do tuk tuk than try and have all-rounders or tail enders face the bowling.
Have a good day/night.
Even though what you wrote is not the case, as Misbah plays tuk-tuk in his earlier part of innings (first 25 to 30 balls) most of the time, regardless of the situation ... but let say you are saying is true, than also ... If 4 batsmen out in 4 runs, than is it right to play tuk-tuk? Can that tuk-tuk would bring Pakistan out of hole?
Obviously, playing tuk-tuk in that situation would push Pakistan deeper in the hole, with low end score, that is as good as loosing anyhow. Worse could come if that tuk-tuka batsman also gets out early after wasting too many balls.
If a good batsman would come, he would defend his wicket without too much compromising on run rate (so no tuk-tuk), as it would be runs on board in ODi that would take the team out of trouble, not tuk tuk. If team has to win, they have to score and not post 200 odd runs as target or when chasing high target score, whatever the situation.
In my opinion Misbah ul Haq is the greatest batsman Pakistan.....wait.....Indian Subcontinent, has ever produced.
What do you guys think?
In my opinion Misbah ul Haq is the greatest batsman Pakistan.....wait.....Indian Subcontinent, has ever produced.
What do you guys think?
bus kardo yar itni oonchi bhi na phenko.. The truth is we never actually got to see real display of Misbah's classics.
Give him a couple of very consistent batsmen adding up 40-50 runs consistently before him and you'll see his real style. But well, water under the bridge now.
bus kardo yar itni oonchi bhi na phenko.. ...
You mean Misbah is not better than Don Bradman or Tendulkar??????????
How dare you?????????????? :(