I would like to bring to the attention of all here the performance of Younis Khan and Abdul Razzaq......what did they do???
Please stop this blame game, why are we not accusing other batsmen for the defeat for not playing at ALL
Because others tried to win the game and they did not even did that, rather became obstacle in path of trying. Getting out is part of the game. Any player can get out at low score. Razzak is not even in team because of batting, he is all rounder, and thus we cannot blame him. I would have preferred Pakistan getting out early trying to win the game then not trying at all. The way Misbah (and Yunus) played, they did not even tried to win the game.
I don’t think so that Pakistani is relatively happier now. Actually, I believe other team members got out because of pressure due to Sharam-nak batting of Mishab and Yunus.
Apart of Misbah and Yunus, rest who could have batted made 148 runs in 165 balls. If Misbah and Yunus had given similar average runs per over than by end of 42 overs Pakistan score would have been over 230 runs (including around 6 runs extra). It meant, Pakistan needing 31 runs in last 8 overs, an achievable target instead of 74 runs in lasts 8 over.
I don't think so that Pakistani is relatively happier now. Actually, I believe other team members got out because of pressure due to Sharam-nak batting of Mishab and Yunus.
Apart of Misbah and Yunus, rest who could have batted made 148 runs in 165 balls. If Misbah and Yunus had given similar average runs per over than by end of 42 overs Pakistan score would have been over 230 runs (including around 6 runs extra). It meant, Pakistan needing 31 runs in last 8 overs, an achievable target instead of 74 runs in lasts 8 over.
Thats what I am saying...see my post no. 60 i saluted the rest.
i respect all pakistani players but I blame Misbah for last game's defeat. As many said, he was batting as if theres nothing to worry about and that theres many many balls yet to ball. A one day match is not just about staying in the crease and not scoring. You stay in the crease and keep looking for ways to make runs. When he knew the run rate was rising, even then he kept playin dot balls.. the balls from indian bowlers frankly speaking werent all that good that u cant get it away for 2 runs or a 4, as the out field was very quick. Anyhow, that being said.. our batsmen just couldnt handle the pressure after losing a couple of wickets.
Good game in the end, but disappointed. 260 was clearly an achievable score.
Thats what I am saying...see my post no. 60 i saluted the rest.
Thanks ... that should be attitude. Rest played to their best and got out. Actually, their batting averages are not such that anyone could expect very high score from them anyhow. Problem was with these two, Yunus and Misbah, who did not played as if they were playing ODI.
Players ODI Average and run players made in Semi Final:
Umar Akmal: ODI Ave = 36 ... Runs made in semi final 29
M Hafeez: ODI Ave = 23 ... Runs made in semi final 43
Kamran Akmal: ODI Ave = 27 ... Runs made in semi final 19
Shahid Afridi: ODI Ave = 23 ... Runs made in semi final 19
Asad Shafiq: ODI Ave = 30 ... Runs made in semi final 30
Overall average of above ‘5’= 139 runs.
Runs made in Semi final by above ‘5’= 140 runs
So, there could be no blame on them making runs below than expectation.
kitne afsoos ki baat hai ke loag misbah ko zimedaar tehra rahe hain pak ki haar ka....halanke us bande ki waja se hum ek sharamnaak haar se bach gaye...us bechare ne apni taraf se bohat mehnat ki...akhir main kaafi zahir tha ke woh kitni baichaini se chakkay aur chokkay marna chaha raha hai. ek akele bande ko ilzam dena sarasar ghalat hai....hum match poori team ki wajah se haare hain sirf akele misbah ki wajah se nahi.
There are certainly people who would like a defeat by lower margin than going for a win and getting badly defeated but this in itself is a defeatist attitude. Minnows like Bangladesh and Zimbabwe play like that. I have never seen Aussies play like that or South Africans play like that. They go for it. Defeat is a defeat doesnt matter if you loose by 30 runs or by 60 runs.
Not that Misbah is the only one who did this. I remember during the fateful tour of Australia after 92 WC, Pakistan did not win a single game. In the last game Pakistan needed 260 to win and Inzmam made 40 or 50 runs while batting till the last over and never went after the bowling to win it for Pakistan. I absolutely hated that innings. On the other hand Steve Waugh against South Africa in semifinal came when they needed quick runs. Waugh was struggling with batting, mistiming, had a drop catch or two, but kept trying to accelerate the score and eventually Aussies won the match. Fortune favours the brave. I would have been fine if Misbah got out while trying rather than this dismal stay at wicket.
Everyone criticizing Misbah, Younus, or Pakistan’s overall performance, just imagine how the South African fans must be feeling. Their team was THE favorite to win the tournament coming in, and they could not chase 221 playing against New Zealand on a neutral venue! They went from 108/3 to 172 all out. They didn’t even qualify for the Semis, but I am sure their fans are not questioning their players' integrity or callings for massive changes. These things happen in sports. Let’s be thankful to all the success our team had in this tournament and hope for the best in the future.
The thing is that, SA tried to win but in process got out. In game one team has to lose. SA lost trying, so one can say that they played badly, but one cannot criticize them for not trying. With Pakistan, two of Pakistani players did not even tried to win.
Just imagine, Umar Gul. He bowled badly and we can criticize that he lost his cool and bowled badly, but we cannot criticize Umar Gul for not trying to win the game. Umar Gul tried, but his bowling got hammered, that is all. As for Misbah and Yunus, one is criticizing them because they are guilty of not trying to win, rather wasting time and their tuk-tuk game pressurised the team.
There are certainly people who would like a defeat by lower margin than going for a win and getting badly defeated but this in itself is a defeatist attitude. Minnows like Bangladesh and Zimbabwe play like that. I have never seen Aussies play like that or South Africans play like that. They go for it. Defeat is a defeat doesnt matter if you loose by 30 runs or by 60 runs.
Not that Misbah is the only one who did this. I remember during the fateful tour of Australia after 92 WC, Pakistan did not win a single game. In the last game Pakistan needed 260 to win and Inzmam made 40 or 50 runs while batting till the last over and never went after the bowling to win it for Pakistan. I absolutely hated that innings. On the other hand Steve Waugh against South Africa in semifinal came when they needed quick runs. Waugh was struggling with batting, mistiming, had a drop catch or two, but kept trying to accelerate the score and eventually Aussies won the match. Fortune favours the brave. I would have been fine if Misbah got out while trying rather than this dismal stay at wicket.
well its the matter of opinion.
indeed in the end a defeat is a defeat....but i would have hated it and would have been really angry if pak had lost it with 100runs or so. so for me this defeat is not embarrassing at all.
yes the way misbah played was indeed like a test cricket....there were lots of dot balls...but misbah was the only batsmen left there and my only hopes were on him. its not something that all the balls were used and we still had any players left...i think credit does go to him because he did something despite being the older one, you had younger players there who had an opportunity to show their selves but they couldnot.
The thing is that, SA tried to win but in process got out. In game one team has to lose. SA lost trying, so one can say that they played badly, but one cannot criticize them for not trying. With Pakistan, two of Pakistani players did not even tried to win.
Just imagine, Umar Gul. He bowled badly and we can criticize that he lost his cool and bowled badly, but we cannot criticize Umar Gul for not trying to win the game. Umar Gul tried, but his bowling got hammered, that is all. As for Misbah and Yunus, one is criticizing them because they are guilty of not trying to win, rather wasting time and their tuk-tuk game pressurised the team.
And they told you that they were not trying to win the match. Why would they be doing that? Just like Gul tried but it didnt work, they were trying something and it didnt work. So give it a rest.
Indian news channels were carrying a Geo TV report where they asked Shahid Afridi's daughters about the match, and both girls squarely blamed Misbah. Given their ages, I am pretty sure those weren't their thoughts and were probably what they had overheard the adults discussing. Nevertheless, the way the two little girls talked about their dad's colleague was pretty disrespectful.
Oh pls give me a break! Do you expect a 5-6 yr old to know any better? I m sure the journos or people around them pushed them to say what they said or maybe they figured it out theirself but it was all said in an innocent way. The younger was did say that misbah ko hosh tab aai jab late ho gaya tha but she's only 4-5 give her a damn break. Don't try to start a meaningless controversy around it.
That's exactly what I said - these were not their own words and they probably heard adults discussing them. I am not very familiar with society and etiquette in Pakistan, but the way the two girls spoke about someone older than their dad was definitely disrespectful.
Come off it, do you think all kids refer to players in the team as Misbah uncle or Younis uncle aaj bohot acha kheley? Lol.
I still am clueless why such a fuss if someone think that Misbah was at fault too. (which by the way he was).
Now this should not and does not automatically imply that no one else was at fault. Everyone has a hand in there, butter fingers of fielders, crazy shot by Hafeez, not-so-clever captaincy by Afridi, off day (in fact off tournament) of Younus, Razzaq, Gul etc etc but does this mean that you can not criticize Misbah for his performance (or lack of it) ?
or should we not talk about Misbah because he has done wonders in the past? lets keep living in Past.
facts are that Misbah had a big role in bogging down the run flow of Pakistan and if someone is mentioning that, that does not mean they are asking for Misbah's head.
As far as I am concerned, If someone want to dig in, they will figure out that I was not in favor of including him in WC squad all together. He really does not fit in scheme of things as far as ODI/T20 is concerned but if we want to close our eyes and keep thinking about the 2007 T20 WC, God bless Pakistan Cricket.