Re: Misbah-Ul-Haq Performance
Afridi’s [very cute!] kids get the analysis right!
Both Misbah and Umar Gul had been consistent throughout the tournament which meant performance was due on them and whenever that happens players do succumb to the pressure, even yuvraj did after maintaining such a good strike rate throughout. Even Tendulkar who had been so consistent was given four chances otherwise he would've gone for 16 or something. At least Misbah stood his ground... yes he played poorly but now it was time for other players to take the load especially Kamran Akmal, Afridi, Younas and Razzaq.
Awwie. Such jaanu babies he has :). Unfortunately a 6yrs old kid is making more sense than what some of our players did yesterday :(.
hahahah, the second one was too cute.. :)
This and many conversations like these are useless. Get over the loss of Semi-Final against India. It wasn't that great of a match to begin with and I will say this even if India goes on to win the World Cup.
This World Cup was not the end for Pakistan Cricket like '03 and '07, but it is a new beginning. We should be more happy. We are turning a new chapter here. The old and under performing will be removed naturally. The reason they stayed in the team is that we really did not have the type of talent available right now.
Oh Cmon, we have seen Misbah batting before and yesterday. He is quite capable of nudging the ball around for singles. No one is saying that he should have jumped out of his crease and wack the ball around, but, we expected him to rotate the strike. He didnt do it. He didnt take single one one was on. He did not run the second when it could be taken. He was behaving like Gavaskar in 1975 world cup, playing for a draw.
If you would have noticed during India's innings, it wasn't easy to take singles.
At one stage, India could not hit a boundary for 15 overs too.
difference was they were looking/tired for single, where Misbah just looked to block balls. I believe there was an over where he blocked 4 or 5 straight balls off one over. if you keep hitting fielders that's understandable, but if you keep blocking balls when you need 6+ just doesn't make sense. His running b/w the wickets was pathetic. Maybe it's just me but i felt like he only wanted to take single(s) off the last ball of the over. Hopefully someone will put a video of his innings on youtube. I would like to watch it over again.
Don't blame Misbah or make him a scapegoat. It was a collective batting failure. We just kept losing wickets at regular intervals owing to poor shot selection and lack of mental concentration and application. I do agree though that they should have taken the batting PP earlier
That being said I believe both Younus and Misbah should retire from all limited overs cricket
GA, I have maintained that Younis and Misbah clog up the middle too much. While building innings is well and good, there is something to be said for overbuilding. And having both come back to back made little sense, IMO.
kitne afsoos ki baat hai ke loag misbah ko zimedaar tehra rahe hain pak ki haar ka....halanke us bande ki waja se hum ek sharamnaak haar se bach gaye...us bechare ne apni taraf se bohat mehnat ki...akhir main kaafi zahir tha ke woh kitni baichaini se chakkay aur chokkay marna chaha raha hai. ek akele bande ko ilzam dena sarasar ghalat hai....hum match poori team ki wajah se haare hain sirf akele misbah ki wajah se nahi.
This and many conversations like these are useless. Get over the loss of Semi-Final against India. It wasn't that great of a match to begin with and I will say this even if India goes on to win the World Cup.
This World Cup was not the end for Pakistan Cricket like '03 and '07, but it is a new beginning. We should be more happy. We are turning a new chapter here. The old and under performing will be removed naturally. The reason they stayed in the team is that we really did not have the type of talent available right now.
Its not about whether cricket is finished or not, its about what we did in the ground, its about being lousy during fielding, one bowler has an off day, batsmen fail to focus. It was complete failure in all departments.
Cutie pies! Kids always speak the truth.
Afridi was very charming in all his interviews.
Yeah exactly at least he was till the end unlike others
If others were playing like Yunus and Misbah then we would have ended with score of 105 for 3 after 50 overs and losing for 155 runs. Would that have been better than what Pakistan did?
Actually, the biggest cause of Pakistan losing the match was batting of Yunus and Misbah, followed by Pakistan dropping catches (Yunus and Misbah each dropped catch of Tandulkar), and then followed by Pakistan not taking power play earlier when Shahid Afridi was playing as that may have reduced the pressure caused by test like slow batting of Yunus and Misbah.
oh God, cuties
m’A
If others were playing like Yunus and Misbah then we would have ended with score of 105 for 3 after 50 overs and losing for 155 runs. Would that have been better than what Pakistan did?
Actually, the biggest cause of Pakistan losing the match was batting of Yunus and Misbah, followed by Pakistan dropping catches (Yunus and Misbah each dropped catch of Tandulkar), and then followed by Pakistan not taking power play earlier when Shahid Afridi was playing as that may have reduced the pressure caused by test like slow batting of Yunus and Misbah.
In part that is true, Misbah's failure to put pressure on fielding side by attacking put pressure on other batsmen and they holed out but responsibility also lies with carelessness of Hafeez and Kamran for reckless shots. Misbah probably thought that he could repeat T20 2007 final against India and turn around game in last 6-7 overs but just like that final he choked again.
If Misbah took upon himself to make sure it would not happen the rest of batsmen gave him a big helping hand by throwing away their wickets. You still haven't answered my question why didnt Afridi take the power play when him and razzaq were batting with Misbah. Maybe Afridi took upon himself to make sure victory didnt happen? Do I believe this, no, I believe it was a collective failure and everyone was equally repsonsible. If Misbah had a bad day Umar gul had a worse one, so why not talk about him? He gave away 69 odd runs and Pak lost by 29 runs. What do you say.
ODI is not about not getting out but it is about making runs quickly. There are only 50 overs and team can only lose if they could not make required runs in available overs, regardless of 1 got out or 9 got out in those 50 overs.
Keeping that in mind, difference between Misbah (and yunus) with rest of the team was that, rest tried to win ODI they were playing, actually they even tried to cover up handicap that Misbah and Yunus were showing, but Misbah (and Yunus) did not even tried to win the game rather tried their best to make the team lose the game.
Yunus got out early and that was probably good for Pakistan. Wished Mishbah had got out early too, than at least chances was that others would have played with less pressure, hence more carefully, and may have achieved the target.
You are right that power-play was not taken early, but maybe Shahid thought that he would take power-play after Misbah is gone, as the way Misbah was playing, he would have done tuk-tuk on maybe 20 out of 30 power-play balls, wasting all advantage of 5 overs power-play.
Even my Indian friends are saying the match was fixed by looking at Misbah's performance and dropping of Sachin's catches.... I will support my team no matter what!!! I heard news about heart failures and my cousin friend's lungs got damaged because they also bet on Pakistan's victory.... gambling bohat hui hai...
I would like to bring to the attention of all here the performance of Younis Khan and Abdul Razzaq......what did they do???
Please stop this blame game, why are we not accusing other batsmen for the defeat for not playing at ALL
In part that is true, Misbah's failure to put pressure on fielding side by attacking put pressure on other batsmen and they holed out but responsibility also lies with carelessness of Hafeez and Kamran for reckless shots. Misbah probably thought that he could repeat T20 2007 final against India and turn around game in last 6-7 overs but just like that final he choked again.
Yar, Misbah pressure kiya dalta ... He should have played average ‘ODI’ cricket. Less than 3 runs per over is considered low run rate even for test cricket and he was consuming valuable ‘ODI’ overs at that run rate. The way Misbah (and yunus played), I do not know what they were doing other than wasting overs. Could not understand what these two could have achieved by making less than 3 runs per over.
Just imagine, Pakistan needed around 261 runs in 50 overs or ~5 runs per over.
When 7th wicket of Shahid Afridi fell and loss was certain, Misbah at that point made around 26 runs in 51 balls (at the end of 42nd over). If we include Yunus 13 runs in 32 balls, both culprits together made 39 runs in 83 balls (@ 2.8 runs per over).
As for rest of the team (Kamran, Hafiz, Asad, Umar, Razzak, Shahid) at the end 42nd over, together made 148 runs in 165 balls (@ 5.4 runs per over)
Pakistan was 187 for 7 in 248 balls (42nd over).
Everyone criticizing Misbah, Younus, or Pakistan’s overall performance, just imagine how the South African fans must be feeling. Their team was THE favorite to win the tournament coming in, and they could not chase 221 playing against New Zealand on a neutral venue! They went from 108/3 to 172 all out. They didn’t even qualify for the Semis, but I am sure their fans are not questioning their players' integrity or callings for massive changes. These things happen in sports. Let’s be thankful to all the success our team had in this tournament and hope for the best in the future.