what harm does it make to you - if the fella living next door believes on it ?
does it make you a better muslim if you dont follow this practice ? or does it make him a lesser muslim if he follows it ?
The real shame is , we allow and bear alot by the hands of Non Muslim in the account of difference of opinion but we arent ready to give a fellow muslim the same benefit .
I tend to agree with code Red on this issue !
The only issue I have is with the commercialization of such practices
I don't have any issue with Milad, it is Sunnah, Even Prophet (SAAW) use to celebrate it, but not the way it is done now, He (SAAW) use to fast on the Monday for this, relevant ahadees can be found easily in this regard. Just Search about the fasting of Monday and Thursday...
That is the way to celebrate and being grateful to Allah all mighty, Islam has given us paths, the Prophet (SAAW) himself have shown us by example and we in our grudge against Arabs refuses to follow maybe because of egoistic reasons or maybe just to show that we are better than them...
AS a matter of Arabic and Aajmi, Imam ul Hadees was an Ajmi guy, Imam Bukhari was from Central Asia and The region was center of Islamic studies for centuries... Arab guys totally have no objection on his compilation of ahadith in his book named as Sahi Bukhari...
Bhai sahab, zara saa aur homework ker laiatay. Hazrat Umar did not invent 20 rakaat. People used to read 12 rakaat qyamul lail and 8 rakat tahajjud, individually or in small groups. All Hazrat Umar did is that he made it into one jamaat. That is why you see some people still leave after 12 (or sometimes after 8).
Organizing Mehfil-e-Milad is not permissible as per sharia b’coz it is a innovation (bidaah) is Islam. Our Prophet Muhammad never did nor Khulafa-e-Rasideen ever organized it nor Sahaba-e-karam and theirs companionsa nor followers also ever organized any mehfil-e-milaad as well as there is no prove of it.
Our Prophet Muhammad said: Jabir b. Abdullah said: When Allah’s Messenger (may peace he upon him) delivered the sermon, his eyes became red, his voice rose. and his anger increased so that he was like one giving a warning against the enemy and saying:" The enemy has made a morning attack on you and in the evening too." He would also say:" The last Hour and I have been sent like these two." and he would join his forefinger and middle finger; and would further say:" The best of the speech is embodied in the Book of Allah, and the beet of the guidance is the guidance given by Muhammad. And the most evil affairs are their innovations; and every innovation is error." He would further say:, I am more dear to a Muslim even than his self; and he who left behind property that is for his family. and he who dies under debt or leaves children (in helplessness). the responsibility (of paying his debt and bringing up his children) lies on me." (Sahih Muslim Book #004, Hadith #1885) Sunah Abu-Dawud - Book Types of Blood-Wit (Kitab Al-Diyat)’
**Hadith No. 4515: Narrated Ali ibn AbuTalib: Qays ibn Abbad and Ashtar went to Ali and said to him: Did the Apostle of Allah (peace_be_upon_him) give you any instruction about anything for which he did not give any instruction to the people in general? He said: No, except what is contained in this document of mine. Musaddad said: He then took out a document. Ahmad said: A document from the sheath of his sword. It contained: The lives of all Muslims are equal; they are one hand against others; the lowliest of them can guarantee their protection. Beware, a Muslim must not be killed for an infidel, nor must one who has been given a covenant be killed while his covenant holds. If anyone introduces an innovation, he will be responsible for it. If anyone introduces an innovation or gives shelter to a man who introduces an innovation (in religion), he is cursed by Allah, by His angels, and by all the people. Musaddad said: Ibn AbuUrubah’s version has: He took out a document. **
As per above hadiths. Innovation in Islam if prohibited. Let see what Allah SWT! Said in Holy Qur’an:
Surah Al Hashr - 59:7
Surah Al Ma’idah 5:3
Hence there is no authentic source (in Qur’an and in Sunnah) which states this kind of Mehfil is permissible, although still many peoples orgazine such kind of mehfils and they think its a good deed. A matter of thought for them, isn’t Allah SWT! completed religion of Islam for this Ummat and our Prophet Muhammad conyed all those things which we must follow and obey. So organizing such kinda mehfil is an innovation (bidaah) in Islam and we should refrain from it.
In Sahih Muslim - The book pertaining to the Excellent Qualities of the Holy Prophet and His Companions (Kitab Al-Fadail)’ Hadit No. 5706:
**Anas b. Malik reported Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) as saying: Some persons from amongst my associates would turn to my Cistern; when I would see them and they would be presented to me, they would be detained in the way while coming to me. I would say: My Lord, they are my companions, they are my companions, and it would be said to me: You don’t know what innovations they made after you. **
If such kind of mehfil needed to organized then our Prophet Muhammad surely given green light to His companions. So its proved here that it is an innovation (bidaah) and it has nothing to do nor related to Islam as on the above said hadith clearly stated what our Prophet ordered us in last sermon.
In the light of above, scholars prohibited organizing such kind of mehfil but some others scholar differ and they says: it is permissible in case if there will be no joint gathering of males and females, music of any instruments is used. Then this will become a good innovation (biddat-e-husana). Although majority said that is not permissible in any conidition. If they argue on it then they can begin their allegations at the beginning point i.e. to the Book of Allah (Qur’an) and to the Sunnah (Serat-e-Mustafa Hadith) b’coz Allah SWT! said in Surah Al Nisa 59:
Allah SWT! completed Islam for this Ummat, so there is no references in Qur’an to hold such kind of mehfil. Now let see what Sunnah says about it. There is no hadith which is in regard of hold such kind of mehfil.
Both kitab Allah and Sunnat-e-rasool have nothing to do in holding such kind of mehfils.
Importance of Darood-o-salam:
Reading darood-o-salam is one of best deeds as Allah SWT! Said in Holy Qur’an Surah Al Ahzad 33:56
We can read it at any time, best we read after every prayers.
According to my understanding, Most adherents of Ahl-e-Sunnat (including all four schools of fiqh)have no strict stance against Milad and durood. And many encourage such gatherings.
However, according to Deobandi school of thought, commemorating the birth of Prophet Mohammed (pbuh), reciting poems in his love, remembering his virtues and seerat, is an innovation, and should not be organized or attended by any Muslims.
The Alim that i am refering to is deobandi (and deobandis are hanafis). Also to clarify, deobandis dont say that do not recite Naats or remember his virtues or seerat. In fact in Karachi, some of the best Seerat-un-Nabi conferences are organized by deobandis. We are specifically talking about the way its done in Milad and calling that an innovation.
Allah SWT and His angels honour and bless the holy Prophet as the greatest of men. We are asked to honour and bless him all the more because he took upon himself to suffer the sorrows and afflictions of this life in order to guide us to Allah’s Mercy and the highest inner Life. There is a hadith in tirmidi (praising Allah SWT! and Prophet Muhammad ) but i hav weak reference so i don’t wish to post here. However below i quote a hadith in this regard.
**Sahih Bukhari Book Prophets **Hadith No. 589
Narrated Abdur-Rahman bin Abi Laila: Ka’b bin Ujrah met me and said, “Shall I not give you a present I got from the Prophet?” 'Abdur-Rahman said, “Yes, give it to me.” I said, “We asked Allah’s Apostle saying, ‘O Allah’s Apostle! How should one (ask Allah to) send blessings on you, the members of the family, for Allah has taught us how to salute you (in the prayer)?’ He said, ‘Say: O Allah! Send Your Mercy on Muhammad and on the family of Muhammad, as You sent Your Mercy on Abraham and on the family of Abraham, for You are the Most Praise-worthy, the Most Glorious. O Allah! Send Your Blessings on Muhammad and the family of Muhammad, as You sent your Blessings on Abraham and on the family of Abraham, for You are the Most Praise-worthy, the Most Glorious.’”
He said, 'Say: O Allah! Send Your Mercy on Muhammad and on the family of Muhammad, as You sent Your Mercy on Abraham and on the family of Abraham, for You are the Most Praise-worthy, the Most Glorious
You posted one gem of a hadith. I consider myself neither shia nor sunni, but a seeker of truth. And I have learned that remembering Rasool, his deeds, his actions, his lifestyle, his sufferings, sending blessings on him, saluting him and his family and his true companions ..... completes our faith. Denying the love of Prophet Mohamed (pbuh) is nothing but depriving the soul in the world and in hereafter.
He is the prophet of 'Alamin': all the words; all kinds of beings; all nations; all creatures.
I believe if we get the Moral Police on this case then every person who celebrates Milad is doing Biddat... but by the same idea the koran is Biddat, Quwwali is Biddat, Sufism is Biddat and every molvi since the time of our Nabi Paak is also a Bidatee.... naoozbillah...
I think this biddat baiddat shirk shirk chanting by some is over the top.
All things in Islam except Allah his Rasools and the Ahle Bayt are subject to scrutiny and can be wieghed for thier pro's and con's.
In printing the Koran you might well be commiting biddat but it's a benefit to the faith and thus it's no harm in fact it is worthy of being encouraged.
In adapting zkir and spreading teaching through media, and the use of music is biddat but it can be beneficial biddat and so it's agian permissable.
It's common sense from there on... theres obviously no reason to have a street party just cos of Milad shareef but if it's beneficial to the community then why not?
Agian we all do zikr or at least I do on a daily basis but to do extra on Milad shareef is not a sin and so even if it's biddat it's beneficial.
Common were not out to cause trouble and besides one of the reasons my ancestors accepted Islam when they could have easily come to wipe it out of the world was becuase something impressed them....
I remember the legends in our history that my forefathers accepted Islam becuase of it's tolerance and simplicity, that note resonates to me even today becuase it's in my blood to want to cause trouble but Islam is the one thing that keeps me in check and that is by no means a bad thing... afterall Islam is to surrender is it not?
Finally if Muslim scholars, Dervish, Sufi, Ghaus, Kutub and Qalandar of yesteryear were ever so Bidat bidat, shirk shirk type people Islam woule never have spread to the world like it has.
I think this biddat baiddat shirk shirk chanting by some is over the top.
Really!
All those people in this thread who are mocking the argument that Milad is biddat by throwing things like if milad is biidat then Molvi is biddat and toothpaste is biddat and Khilfhat os biddat; fine I am convinced through your sarcasm that Milad is not biddat. With due respect then, please define biddat to me, which act would be biddat then in your knowledgeable opinion.
because the Deen was passed on to us like this, from Muhammad to Sahabah raziallaho anhum, from them to Tabaeen, and Taba Tabaee, rahimohum allah ta’la, and then from them to aima karam and like that… plus, Quran explicitly orders us to follow Muhammad :saw: and “wallazeena ma’a hu” that is people with him, and those are “Sahaba”…
this is simple arabic term, if i’m not wrong, i heard this from some aalim too… literal meaning of this word “bid’ah” is this ==> discovery, invention, and creation i.e. forming something without any previous sample… like we call ALLAH :swt: “Badee’uz Zaman” because HE created this “Zamaan” when it was not present, and there was no sample of it, it was created for the first time.
now when you use this in religious context, it obviously means “by sample” we mean the “way” or “act” of Muhammad and his fellows rizwanallahu alayehem… so the definition of this term which TLK mentioned seems quite right
Bazurgwaar, Moujzana Guzarish hai ke mujhey is tarha treat na karain jaisay log mulana Zakir Naik Ludhiyaanvi ko kartey hain, india se bahar
Quote my statement in full context which is firmly in place here
Now you can throw your reply out of window or should I do the honour ?
Sorry to say that I fully wholeheartidly do not agree here.
Here are few examples of biddat common among sunnis folks
Milaad is a biddat. If it is just praise, zikar Darood o Salam then it is ok, otherwise it is not
Traveeh in jamaat (congregation) a biddat. I have explained it in detail. it is ok.
3 Talaq in one sitting is a biddat. This is wide spread among sunnis. This is a criminal offence and a clear blasphemy of holy Quran. Sunni approve this blasphemy because our forefathers did this by mistake.
Any person issuing 3 talaq in one sitting should be put behind bars and should be prosecuted
under section 246 A,B C and should be executed by the orders of court for blasphemy of holy quran in Islamic republic of Pakistan.
Milaad is a biddat. If it is just praise, zikar Darood o Salam then it is ok, otherwise it is not Traveeh in jamaat (congregation) a biddat. I have explained it in detail. it is ok. 3 Talaq in one sitting is a biddat
Yaar between these 3 examples. number 2 and 3 are in practice from last 1400 years, Milad is something that took its present shape and form in last century.
Taraveeh was hardly challenged ever so all of a sudden thinking that we can pass judgment over something that was approved by 1000's of scholars in last 14 centuries is little scary for me to do.
3 talaq; at least hanafi/sunni way is a safer way if you think of it. What if by 1% chance sunnis are right about 3 talaq, then imagine that all others who did not follow that rule are living a life of zina (I can explain in detail what I am saying but we can do it later)
Really! All those people in this thread who are mocking the argument that Milad is biddat by throwing things like if milad is biidat then Molvi is biddat and toothpaste is biddat and Khilfhat os biddat; fine I am convinced through your sarcasm that Milad is not biddat. With due respect then, please define biddat to me, which act would be biddat then in your knowledgeable opinion.
Bhai sorry if I have offended anyone.
If you actually read my post I am not getting into the arguement as to wether it is Biddat or not...
I am arguing that even if it is Biddat in a sense of inovation is it not a positive innovation...?
Furthermore who is to say wether it is right or wrong and the jist of this thread is as if Milad shareef is some sort of Taboo thing.... which it is certainly not!
It's so typical of modern Muslim arguements and it's like a house burning down but instead of putting out the fire we are looking for culprits to blame.
Even if it is Biddat I am of the view that it is not causing any damage to the faith... what is causing damage is pointless arguing.
Technically bhaiyo Koran and Hadeeth specify how to make an Animal Halal, it dont specify what colour the halal animal is or what shape it's halal so long as it's healthy and suitable... same with Milaad guys.
Milad is not haraam by any length so arguing pointlessly over wether it's biddat or not is detrimental in so many ways. Just when Muslims need unity we are sqaubling like animals.
Like my old analogy of two bald men fighting over a comb.
I dont think that there is anything as positive innovation. Every biddat looks like a positive innovation and that is where people get confused in thinking that Oh, after all we are doing something good so what is wrong in that. If you read the whole story of ( I think ) Hazrat Ilyas, his quom started making statues of their dead love ones thinking what is wrong in that as it only shows love - and before you know it, idol worshiping started.
Can I add 1 more rakat in 3 farz of maghrib? Hey its a good thing, I love allah and want to spend more time in his darbaar. I am adding a rakaat, not subtracting it. - that is how a biddat starts, always with good intentions, but islam is not about using our brain to invent things, its about obedience, its about blind faith.
^ I dont like to cut and paste, but here you go (it was quom-e-nooh, not quom-e-ilyas)
[QUOTE] The first to commit Shirk amongst mankind were the people of Nooh . Ibn Abbas explains how *Shaitan**** lead them to worshiping idols in stages, 'Indeed these five names of righteous men are from the people of Nooh. When they died, ***Shaitan*** whispered to their people to make statues of them and to place these statues in their places of gathering as a reminder of the people, so they did this. However, none from amongst them worshiped these statues, until when they died and the purpose of the statues was forgotten. Then (the next generation) began to worship them.' [Agreed upon]
Abu Ja'far***said, 'Those from the later generation saw what the (previous generation) had done and considered that... to the extent that they took him (i.e., the righteous man) as an ilah (deity) to be worshipped besides Allah.' He then said, 'This was the first idol worshipped other than Allah, and they called this idol, Wadd.'
I dont think that there is anything as positive innovation.
Then no offence TLK bhai but why dont we all get of these terrible innovations... computers.
Why dont we all stop celebrating our birthdays... and stop having avatars... and lets all stop.... okay you see where this goes.
Bhai I dont like this ideology and I know what it does from first hand experience. It's intolerant and does not have any scope for balance... I think this Deobandi ideology is eroding centuries of heritage in the name of religion. I too am religous but not blindly following an ideology that has no scope for balancing things.
Besides I am no Alim this is just what I think... but were not the citizens of Madina sinners too by this logic when they came out on the streets to first greet RasoolAllah?
Nauzbillah I think they were definately not. If we can celebrate our birthdays why not celebrate birthday of RasoolAllah Sallalho Alayhi wassalam.
Hang on by this sort of logic saying Salalaho alayhi wassalam would also be an inovation?
Aggressive Jihad an innovation?
Books and Inovation?
Yaar for centuries Islam has spread through tolerance not intolerance and backtracking on things.
I too was swooned by this ideology but I have come to learn it is more detrimental than benificial and like all things it can be weighed.