Michigan

Don't tell me.......Did you work for the same parking company where you have that desi uncle who owns TAWA(Desi Cuisine)........Lots of desi ppl still working for that company....I know few of them...small world.

'

did you ever find some quarters and dimes missing from your car .. if no then I never parked your car :D

you mean malik sahab .. he owns a restaurant now :hehe:

there was another big time desi parking lots owner , butt sahab ..

yeah small world eh ..

Re: Michigan

You should watch Roger and Me by Michael Moore! Michigan is #@#$ hole! I hate that place. A few friends went to Uni there and I visited. Right now its full of snow. It's not bad in April but really hot in the summer. I don't particularly like that place, plus the Arabs over there think they are better than Pakistanis or something. If you are only visiting one place in the US Michigan should not be it!

Thanks for such a lovely attitude. That really was very encouraging for all of us who belong to Michigan ..

no wonder Arabs think that they are better than Pakistanis .. after reading your comment, I started to think like that too :p

Lets see, dwindling job industry, racist natives, ultra religious fanatics (both Christian and Muslim) I don't see what there is to like. If you have something positive to add about the place please do so. I related my experience and what I see through national statistics. I am assuming someone from Pakistan is trying to use their limited money and resources to find a place to visit in the US, I'd rather give them an honest view of the place. I guess my loyalties are still to my Fellow Pakistanis despite being born in the US and not to white trash Midwestern Americans.

Aap to serious ho rahee haiN, I was joking .. I agree that Michigan got to be the most depressing place to live nowadays ,, but AE might be visiting there for some personal reason and in the meanwhile trying to make the best out of her time ..

I lived in Detoit area for many years and I dont want to go back there .. mainly because of where MI economy is nowadays

shop, say what you must about the economy (which is meaningless to most tourists), but what you just said about the people here gross generalization. Though I'm not from dearborn, but the arab community has the nicest people ive ever met. I went to school with many of them and loved the experience. The first campus job I ever worked, I was lucky to have a supervisor who was a Lebanese American and I can safely say that I trust him as much as I would trust my very own father. The Pakistani community here is doing very well too, and most of them are working white collar jobs. Now im not a Michigan native and neither am I fixated at staying here but suffice it to say spending alot of time here I never encountered any racism.

Rocking vibes...thanks for the info. :k:

there seems to be a lot more things to do in Michigan then I anticipated.

Shoponline, as TLK said…I am going to Michigan for personal reasons (not really a vacation or anything) and would like to do a little sight seeing while I am there. Thanks for your POV tho.

Tawa's the place near canton right, garden city or something? I was passing by once, got lost and ended up eating there just because it was pakistani/indian.

I might come to MI in july :@:

Wow! Racism in Michigan?

Perhaps in remote areas but Michigan people are very foreign friendly and midwestern culture is very humble and nice compared to many southern places.

Many places discussed above I have been to and had really fun.

Lets see: the partial list is here for anyone who thinks Michigan is boring.

Visited Frankenmuth many times and stayed there one night. Shops below resturants have european items.

Shopped at fairlane mall, summerset mall and great lake malls.

Stayed at JJ resort (west michigan) for one week. Did formal horse riding lessons there first time.

Drove along thumb area (opposite of pinky area to see old houses)

Video taped holland city girls dancing on music with wooden shoes and visited windmill. Holland city is on I-94 west of detroit.

Ate at the resturant on renessance center and watched river, boats and windsor.

Detroit Zoo is boring. Meuseum of Ford is just Ok.

Any good looking resturant in remote area or city I found I have eaten there.

Forgot the name of seafood resturant in south of detroit I think Melvindale city area (East of airport) right on the river. Best shrimp pasta I ever had.

Loved to eat Fishbones seafood resturant in Greektown, Detroit. Must try all the spices available on the table. Ask them make food extra spicy/cajun. (Not the one in farmington hills on lodge 10, Thats not good place to eat)

Sand dunes in western part is good only in summer. You get a jeep ride and get to see the beach. Clean but very soft sand on the beach and people have died there buried in sand.

Grand hotel in Mackinaw is good place to stay again in summer. Stayed there for 5 days or so. its a french type hotel with Jamaicans servers. Hotel is closed in winter.

Mackinaw island is a lot of fun but only couple of days are needed. One can ride a bicycle, even a tandem bicycle for two, or a horse/ horse cart. No motorized vehicles allowed there. One can see Fudge being made and buy fresh fudge.

In Dearborn one must try Hamido Lebanese resturant chicken rottessory. Out of world taste better than Al-amir or Cedar Land. Hamido is close to Shatila on Warren.

Shatila pastries and arabian sweets are yummy. Go after dinner there and you might find a friend there roaming around.

Upper Pennisula is too far about 7- 8 hours or so. Staying there in summer in a cottage is again great. Cannot describe the fun. You get to watch the movie how mackinaw bridge was built besides driving on the bridge itself to get to UP. UP also has waterfalls. ( I almost fell off one while climbing the rocky shaded area)

Travers city is beautiful again in summer or fall. Nice boats on the beaches and jetskis.

Troy is just a residential area. Nothing to do there.

12 Oak mall is another great place. They have a place close to for everyone to enjoy at night. Bowling/video games/movies/ laser tag/ resturants. You just walk from one place to other.

Ann arbor downtown and royal oak downtowns are for youngsters. Royal oak is trendy...:-)

Detroit downtown has become somewhat safer since gambling is started and extra security and lighting there.

West bloomfield, bloomfield hills and farmington hills suburb areas have nicer houses.

Try to see Arab-American meuseum in Dearborn also. Haven't seen myself though.

Coming to question:

Not much to do in winter except eat, ski, shop or drive around.:(

One must go there in summer. April is not a good time.

And two days??? If traffic is heavy then half day on the road anyway.

Someone did not want to spend time and money on the visitor I guess, inviting in April to Michigan!!! J/K :)

nicely done diwana! Sand dunes is beautiful, there's a very touching story behind it, its about a bear who crossed the river and her two cubs didnt make it across and shes been sitting there ever since waiting...

Ji Janab! Aesa hi Kuch Suna Tha Magar Bhool Gaya Tha! :-)

"WOW".......is what my bro-in-law and his wife...my 2nd cousin responded..when I copy-pasted some of the interesting exchanges on this thread on MICHIGIN.

They have been in FLINT past 15+ years....very happy with Michigin and its people!

The Official Website of the Sleeping Bear Dunes Visitors Bureau

Shop - I think it's a great place to raise kids.

Give me my "chawani" back! :) I was too broke to even have quarters in the car at that time.

Dude......I have lived in TX, OK, MO,NJ, CA and IL apart frm MI and somehow I found MI being the most friendliest place(after CA) in terms of interaction among White/brown ppl. I don't intend to stay here all my life but as far as I am hanging on to my job, I am kewl..... My office has 99% caucasian staff and they are the most fun to work with. They are the main reason why I came here for a 4 months contract and then finally ended up with a PERM job. Economy is bad everywhere.....In MI it is worse because it was pretty much based on the automotive industry.

Yep...that's the one. I know the uncle who owns it personally, but I'd say the food is no the greatest.....Just heard that he fired the last cook and got some new Indian(Dilliwallah) cook....never tried food from his new cook but if he is really a dilliwala then shd be good.