Memons

Re: Memons

he was probably bohri, but thats a religous denomination within the shia sect, he probably spoke gujrati (bohri isn't a language :) )

Kia dill shikan khabar (Heart Breaking News) di hy os dill wally ky bary main:(

In Karachi, memon poeple donate generously for welfare works.

Yes good Raju Bhai.

Memons are not cheap. They are just not extravagant and do not go chasing useless material desires, the traditional ones anyway. Memons are some of the most hospitable people in Pakistan. When it comes to entertaining guests they do not hold back one bit and really do go all out. They are a gifted people in the sense that they are good at what they do and they prosper at whatever it is they do. Be it business or anything else. You want a living proof, go look up Abdul Sattar Edhi.

I'm not memon.

My best freinds are memons.

After reading this, the joke seems a reality

It is not even an ethnicity… Yeh kuch aur hi haaaain… :tomato:

Eidhi does not represent all memons. I think that is one of the flaws of the memons that they don’t intermingle with a lot of other groups [apnon he apnon main]. Though, my brother is married to a memon family [a first in theirs] and some of their extended family frowned upon this…

PS Farooq Sattar is memon too.. :faizy:

Yeah, as if other groups don’t do that in pakistan. :rolleyes:

Its a fault that most south Asians have - its not limited to Memons.

Anyway, the frugality and staunch adherance to principals and excellent business ethic is fast being replaced by greed and materialism; you’re seeing that everywhere in Pakistan as it is. I don’t know if the Memons of India are facing the same transformation. Our weddings used to be very simple, and now people try to compete with each other to have the most extravagant wedding; people hoard money and then spent is lavishly on dresses and jewelry while still living in their ancestor’s homes that are falling apart. But now people are not so keen on living in those tutapy putay ghar - people are heavily investing in property and really building up beautiful and huge homes. Here, where I am, its a competition over houses - last house I heard of was bought for 3.5 million dollars. I don’t even want to hear of such things, anymore, so I don’t know what the going rate is these days for homes. That was some years ago.

The average memon of yesteryear would not have bought a home worth 3.5 million - they would have bought LAND worth 3.5 million and then built apartments or businesses and charged rent from everyone, while living out of a small teeny apartment.

Is that true memon girls are called "memoni" as in baby female lamb "memoni"

Yeah, as if other groups don't do that in pakistan.

We are not talking MQM or PPI but regular folks. You will be unwise to not admit that. I don't like people who put every emphasis on "paisa"... Khair har koi apni jaga khush..

Yaar aap apne pathan culture ke barre me batao. First, tell me why do you guys cook roti with your feet as I saw in karachi? :hmmm:

Discussion is 'ok' as long as it doesn't cross all "limits".. Limits are defineable as well!

Bangladesh issue had lot to do with people's rights and political representation. In fact, we suppressed anything bengali at that point, stalling discussion that led to the violent breakup..

Just to add some pride to the memon thread :blush:

Companies like the following are run by memons (or at least were started by memons - I don’t know if some have been sold):

Pakola
Pak Towers in Karachi - owned and built by people I know
Rangoon Wala charities
Eidhi charities/social work

there are some other biggies that I’m not sure about names, exactly. I think there is a bank (maybe Habib, not sure); a massive insurance company (can’t recall the name); multiple construction companies operating out of Karachi ; a soap or detergent company (one of our in-laws is involved in it - don’t know the name).

And then we have lots of people in entertainment. Abdullah Kadwani - who runs a production company with Humayun Saeed. I had a great-uncle who produced a few movies and introduced Mohammed Ali into the showbusiness, back in the day. And another one of my great uncle’s was the architect of one of the major civil buildings in Karachi - some judicial/municipal building - I remember it has some domes. I don’t know the name.

Stuff like that. We’re an enterprising group, yo. Its all about figuring out the most efficient way to earn a buck.

Kia bola ? awaz naheen aa rahi…

Aap ko likhe huwe alfaz se awaz aati hai? :aq:

Sab sahee.. ? :muzna:

bat samajh meen aa gae na?

[screams] nahinnnnnnn [/screams]

You don't have to like people who put emphasis on "paisa" - no one is asking you to. I like paisa, so eat my jhooti for all I care, and I like earning it in an efficient way, thereby contributing to the economy. If I start a business tomorrow, and it makes it big, I've generated employment, I've generated opportunity, and happiness for people looking for careers and an outlet for their energy. And I've contributed a service to the world, and added to postiives that we can attribute to Pakistanis.

That's how we memons see things. (not everyone of course).

As for intermarriage, yes its common. But I see the same desire to keep things in the "caste" or "ethnicity" with every other group in Pakistan - take the Pakistani Rajputs, for example. Sindhis marry sindhis. Punjabis-punjabis. Pukhtoons-pukhtoons, etc. You see the same in India. A Patel will only want another Patel. Our generation is coming out of this mess of thinking. In my generation in my family, some have married memons, others have married out. I don't think its as big of a deal anymore.