Re: Memons
was watching PTV the other day and this comedian said this joke:
ek memon kulfi khaa ke stick kahan phektha hai? pocket mai rakhta hai.. kyun? "naara dalne kaam aigee.."
LOL, sorry.
was watching PTV the other day and this comedian said this joke:
ek memon kulfi khaa ke stick kahan phektha hai? pocket mai rakhta hai.. kyun? "naara dalne kaam aigee.."
LOL, sorry.
i would define cheapness as follows: the act of inhibiting a want due to financial concerns
Then no, not all Memons are like that. Don't know if the ones I've come across represent the majority of memons or minority but they do not inhibit a want.
Then no, not all Memons are like that. Don't know if the ones I've come across represent the majority of memons or minority but they do not inhibit a need.
bhai sahaab read the post again; i wrote 'want' not need.
My fault. That's what I meant. I have edited my previous post.
Memons do tend to be cheap. But I’m afraid, this intelligent trait that has allowed us to battle natural selection in full force (I mean, just look at us, how else do you think we haven’t been weeded of the gene pool yet?) is quickly disappearing from the current generation.
Currently, my fellow memon comrades are all in tough competetion over who’s got the biggest SUV, the biggest house, and the most mehnga johra. It is not uncommon to hear from one of the memon girls, if you ask her where she got her johra from a very uncivilized and proud response of “Maine kisi designer se banwaaaya tha, bohat mehgna hai you know”, as if I’ve got an inheritance of 13 pennies.
Now, there are still many of us who do proudly uphold Memon traditions of frugality. I myself save thelian (bags) in the fashion of my mother’s elder cousin Parveen, who was notorious for all the thelian she collected (her drawers flowed with empty bags, and when asked WHY she kept them around, she retorted “Kabhi kaam aa jayenge”).
Agar zameen pe theli milthi hai, tho utaa lethi hoon.
Memons do tend to be cheap. But I'm afraid, this intelligent trait that has allowed us to battle natural selection in full force (I mean, just look at us, how else do you think we haven't been weeded of the gene pool yet?) is quickly disappearing from the current generation.
ohhhhhhhhhh
devil himself
Mal jamah karna mana hai.
Mein maal jamah karoon, woh mera business hai - tumhe isse kya? Agar kal thelion ki kammi ho gayi, I can sell my stash for 2 cents a piece.
Actually, I do use the thelian - saves me from buying trashbags for my small waste-baskets.
If you're using whatever you're collecting, to be resourceful, I don't see a problem in it.
^ lol; i save bags for garbage use too; that doesn't mean cheapness.
but what i don't get is why do you think being cheap is good or well preserved trait?
Like others have said, it depends how we define cheapness. If you're trying to manage a small budget, then frugality is key. I'd rather be frugal than waiting in line for welfare and leeching off the public, when I can earn on my own.
If you have a big budget, you should still spend within reason and take your excess money and distribute some to charity, and keep some on the side for bad times. That's just intelligent planning.
If you're insinuating memons do not spend on luxuries, then you've got to be kidding me. We do. And furthermore, we invest when we do it. For example, we might buy gold, or land, or buildings and put them up for rent, or bonds, or CD's, etc. Do we take all of it and spend it at Starbuck's? Probably not (although yours truly is having a Starbucks addiction problem).
The rule typically is: If you have a choice between getting something perishable vs. non-perishable , then go for the non-perishable (providing all else is taken care of).
Again, like I said, people are becoming very extravagant as of late, so this trend is disappearing.
Ex. Go to a kheri-anjaar wala's wedding.
memon are very intelligent ppl. all other races hate them for being that successful.
they know they are cheap but not afraid to admit it, whereas all other races have this double standardz. in fact they use their cheapness for their own good, which is a good thing.
n no i am not Memon, nor i personally know any memon.
^ memon is not a race; i think its more of an ethnicity like pushtuns or gujratis
Like others have said, it depends how we define cheapness. If you're trying to manage a small budget, then frugality is key. I'd rather be frugal than waiting in line for welfare and leeching off the public, when I can earn on my own.
If you have a big budget, you should still spend within reason and take your excess money and distribute some to charity, and keep some on the side for bad times. That's just intelligent planning.
If **you're **insinuating memons do not spend on luxuries, then you've got to be kidding me. We do. And furthermore, we invest when we do it. For example, we might buy gold, or land, or buildings and put them up for rent, or bonds, or CD's, etc. Do we take all of it and spend it at Starbuck's? Probably not (although yours truly is having a Starbucks addiction problem).
The rule typically is: If you have a choice between getting something perishable vs. non-perishable , then go for the non-perishable (providing all else is taken care of).
Again, like I said, people are becoming very extravagant as of late, so this trend is disappearing.
Ex. Go to a kheri-anjaar wala's wedding.
I haven't given an opinion yet on your people; all i've done is pose a question :).
Well according to the way the other "peoples" regard these issues, memons are a "caste" (although that's flat-out incorrect)
I have three memon family friends and believe me they are not cheap at all. The new generation of memons are makin up for the time lost by elder generations and breaking the stereotype image.
**PLEASE FOLKS..........................no threads on discussion about CASTE & CREED! I strongly urge upon you all---not to encourage such threads.
This is a very dangerous thing!
We MUST remember that ONE of the basic reason of the break-up of PAKISTAN in Dec-1971, was fanning of such discussions which were not controlled..........
I can only say or advise here..........the adaptability YOUR call........
I am outta here........
Khush Rahein.........
-Raju
^I agree arjay.