Mawaali and Molaa'ee

Have you heard these words?

What is the meaning of these words (in which context you heard these words)?

Re: Mawaali and Molaa'ee

mawali ka sunna ha not in a good sense though :(

mawaali = plural of maulaa = Ghulaam, naukar chaakar, dost
Haali mawaali = ham_nashiiN, saathii, musaaHibeen

which sense? mwaali itna kharab nahin chief saab.... bus bhai bus ;)

What about Mola'ee

never heard of this word before. :(

Re: Mawaali and Molaa’ee

Dictionary ghumae. Happy Maghaz maaring :hehe:

BTW Mawaali got different meaning in Pakistan (probably its not used in India). Mawaali also means ‘cousin’ in Arabic, but that is not prevalent in sub-continent.

ok I think it represents a villain, I was taking it to another level "which could get me banned here" :(

English main bol do. desi gaaliyan English main translate ho kar asar kho deti hain :hehe:

Mawaali is Nashai BTW

I thought that its a man who deals with prostitutes.

Thats call dalla-l and a word ‘bh’ rhyming with kaRwa.. My cousin used to say ‘Sach kaRwa hota hai aur jhoot bh… hota hai’ :cb:

Banned :hehe:

why is this we are easy in saying prostitute and to some extent tawaif, but other common word as used in Punjabi, Sindhi and Hindi for prostitute starring with 'R' is a taboo.

remind me gem of Amanullah. While perfroming on the stage, sikandar(comedian from karachi) was sitting among audience wearing a red suit. Amanullah said, "sikandar! dehan se, ye na ho mawali log andheray main letterbox samajh k khat daal jaen pocket main. :D

Hindi/Urdu pejorative slang for the lowest class of male street ruffians. They wear flashy clothes, sport oily hair almost dripping into the atmosphere, annoy your visual senses with their trademark red-toothed smile (acquired through years of betel-nut chewing), smoke heavily and reek of foul body odor thanks to their once-in-a-month showers ritual. Typical hardcore Bollywood wannabes, they never learnt the alphabet but can imitate dialogue-delivery of leading Bollywood actors, especially Sanjay Dutt who portrays these characters in his anti-social movies. They’re all rude without exception and think themselves cool but are annoying to say the least. Most of them don’t have any real jobs so subsist by occupations which “they” believe are cool and filmi e.g. selling Black tickets outside movie halls, pimping and tour guide for foreign tourists visiting India (they don’t know **** about Taj Mahal but can weave stories out of nothing). Complete waste of time for normal people and should be avoided at all costs. They don’t belong in residential colonies or any civilized areas because they are real eyesore.
(Mother to Daughter): Beti, don’t look sideways. Full of mawalis.

Interviewee: So, is my job guaranteed?
Interviewer: First get rid of this mawali hair-cut and then we can discuss, maybe.

Urban Dictionary: mawali

"charsi mawali type log" suna hay

mawaali carries a negative connotation...it means...bekaar ke dost aHbaab...aubaash log...vaile log etc...it's not used in a positive sense.

yes in rural Sindh for charsi, nashai , they use mawali :sunnyboy:

Mola’ee has two meanings in rural Sindh. One referring to ihl e tashee (who follows Mola Ali) and other meaning is similar to shareef u nafs or Allah lok.

Mawaali is also successor in Arabic. This is the dua of Hazrat Zakaria (AS) from Sura e Maryam:

Surat Maryam [19:5] - The Noble Qur’an - ??? ???

deja vu! feel like hearing it before, not 100% sure