Massacre of Hazaras

Re: Massacre of Hazaras

The Shia-Sunni card has rarely never fails to work for the imperial powers towards advancing their goals. Both Shia and Sunni suffer and the small, mysterious, terrorist tola does the job as mercanaries for them. what shambles that we have no response to them!

Gunmen target Hazara minority in Pakistan - Central & South Asia - Al Jazeera English

**Gunmen have killed at least seven people identified as Hazaras , a mostly Shia ethnic minority, in three separate attacks in southwest Pakistan, police said, bringing the two-week death toll to over 30 people.
Senior police officer Shaukat Ajmad said on Saturday that assailants riding on a motorcycle opened fire on six people in a taxi in Quetta, the capital of violence-ridden southwestern Balochistan province.

The men were rushed to the hospital but died of their injuries.

Minutes later, two people, including a police offier, were shot and killed in a rickshaw in the same area. The attackers managed to flee after the incident.Targeted violence against Shias, particularly the Hazara minority, has been on the rise.

**In the span of a week, gunmen have opened fire on a shoe store, a tea shop, and a juice stand, all at the heart of some of Quetta’s busiest areas.
The latest violence has triggered peaceful protests from the Hazara community, who accuse authorities of not doing enough to go after the perpetrators.

Speaking about the alarming rise in targeted violence, Zulfiqar Ali Magsi, the governor of Balochistan, warned on Friday of a risk of civil war in the province unless the security situation improved.

**“The situation is slipping out of control. Target killings are happening on a daily basis despite the presence of paramilitary Frontier Corps (FC), Balochistan Constabulary and police,” the governor said during a meeting with a delegation of the Hazara Democratic Party (HDP).****“We will be compelled to call out Pakistan’s army… if the government does not check incidents of target killings,” he said.

‘Constant fear’
On Friday, the HDP held a protest of thousands in front of the provincial governor’s house in Quetta. Smaller protests were also reported in several other cities in Pakistan.

**Khaliq Hazara, the party’s leader, said the assailants have been emboldened by government inaction and were now carrying out attacks easily in the city’s busy markets.
Ahmed Ali Kohzad, general secretary of the HDP, said the tight-knit community of about 500,00 people “cannot go to work, cannot go to school” due to a constant fear of attack.

Saleem Javed, a physician and blogger in Quetta who attended the rally, said the protesters called for action against Lashkar-e-Jangvi, an al-Qaeda-linked group which has taken responsibility for most of the targeted attacks.“Lashkar-e-Jangvi operates from a particular area, we demanded a clamp down,” Javed told Al Jazeera.

**“We also asked for the federal government in Islamabad to take over the issue.”****As a result of a lack of local media attention, Javed said “the rest of Pakistan remains almost completely unaware, while it’s an everyday issue for the people of Balochistan”.
As the governor’s staff promised the protesters that their demands would be met and requested them to leave, another Hazara - an elderly guard at a market - was shot dead.

Many of shops and markets remained closed on Saturday, as the HDP called for a “complete shutdown”.

Ali M. Latifi contributed reporting.***

this is just insane, everyday they are being killed!!! how many more will die .... I fail to understand is it really only because they are shias or there is more to it? do you think Baloch nationalist could be behind these brutal killings, because of the fact that Hazaras are very pro-Pakistani???

The hazaras allege that Lashkar e jhangvi is behind the killings, and they have received some threatening letters to leave balochistan by the end of 2012.

^ And Rehman Malik sees "foreign hands" everywhere. What good is a government if it can't provide security to its people?!

Amazingly, the media which is always showing all kind of crazy stuff on TV, is absent from Balochistan. There is no discussion on what is happening there, who is responsible, and what is this incompetent government doing to stop this massacre.

Press TV

Shia Massacre Continues in Pakistan
At least ten Shia Muslims have been killed in separate attacks by unknown gunmen in Pakistan’s southwestern province of Balochistan, Press TV reports.

Armed masked men opened fire on a passenger van in Barori road area of Quetta – the provincial capital of Balochistan province, killing at least seven Shia men and wounding four others on Saturday.

The gunmen opened fire on another vehicle moments later on Sabzol road area of Quetta, wounding two other Shia Muslims.

The rest were killed in two separate attacks.

Meanwhile, in another incident, the militants shot dead a policeman in Qali Chaltan road area. The assailants fled the scene of incident.

No group has claimed responsibility for the attacks yet.

The offensive came amid reports of massive protests of Shia Muslims against the killings of Shia people in the volatile country.

About 2,500 people held a sit-in outside parliament in Islamabad on Friday, calling on the government to take immediate action against the forces involved in the sectarian killings.

Demonstrations were also held in the cities of Multan, Muzaffarabad, and Quetta, where protesters chanted slogans condemning the Shia killings.

Anti-Shia militant groups have been engaged in a violent campaign against Shias over the past few years.

Strike in Quetta, life comes to standstill | DAWN.COM

**QUETTA: Life came to a standstill as a wheel-jam and shutter down strike continues in the city on the call given by the Hazara Democratic Party and the Balochistan Shia conference over the killing of 9 mebers of the shia hazara community in the city on Saturday, DawnNews reported.
Shops and markets were shut all across the city and traffic vanished from the roads as the city wore a deserted look.

**The call for strike was supported by various other parties in the province who also demanded for Governor’s rule to be imposed over the province.
Provincial Governor Nawab Zulfiqar Ali Magsi ordered an immediate crack-down against terrorists.

The Chief Minister of Balochistan Nawab Aslab Raisani called for a high level meeting regarding the law and order situation of the province which would be attended by both shia and sunni clerics.

Lawlessness and target killings have become a routine in Quetta due to which businesses in the provincial capital are suffering from stagnation as the day to day deteriorating law and order situation and strikes are causing losses worth millions of rupees. Security is essential for trade and businesses to flourish but it remains only a dream for the residents of Balochistan especially in its provincial capital city of Quetta.

Though people from all walks of life are affected by the strikes but it’s the daily wage earners who suffer the most. Daily producers of perishable items usually have to suffer more losses as their products are not sold due to untimely closure of business in the largest but least developed province of the country.

Didnt anyone not notice they released LJ leader Malik ishaq and Shia killing has intensified. Extremist Sunnis are butchering innocent Shia and normal Sunnis just don't do enough to stop it. Shia khoon itna sasta nahi hai. Shias haven't even retaliated yet but wait for Imam Mehdi's arrival and then u will see justice in this world

I think they are not sunnis at all, extremist or not.
They are neo-kharijites who are against both sunnis and shias. Shias are just an easy target, hence more killings of shias.

No normal human being (including sunnis and shias) will support a genocide. Sunnis dont like what some extremists are doing but what can they do? the 40000 people killed over the past 10 years include a large cross section of people.

Provision of security and carrying out operations against extremists is the job of the government.

two more dead bodies were dumped in Khuzdar and Quetta today!!!
both of them belonged to Hazara community! ....

I'm just speechless and saddened ... govt is just silent ... watching the tamasha!!
if no action is taken, God forbids we might even witness a civil war there ... which is what our enemy wants!

I'm sure Police and everyone in provincial govt knows who is behind these attacks and by not taking any action against these killers, are they harbouring the terrorists?

If you think Shia's haven't 'retaliated', and that there are no Shia terrorist groups, you don't know what your talking about.

If you want to compare Muslim 'retaliation' against khariji fasaad then you don't know what you are talking about.

Can you condemn the perpetrators of this violence first?

^ I have lived in karachi, so I know what shiite terrorist groups have done. They used to target even non-sectarian barelvis / ahle-sunnat mosques in "retaliation" back in the day until some worshippers actually decided to hit them back when they attacked sunni mosques. The reason that so-called sunni militias are more powerful like similar gun-toting militias in iraq is because of a bigger pool of available recruits (sunnis in Pakistan and shiites in Iraq). This region went to hell with the twin tragedies of al-qaeda (assembling of jihadis) and Iran's decline into a theocratic state when the shah was overthrown.

can anyone here actually vouch for the good character of the hazara shias? ive heard they cause alot of trouble in afghanistan, and now in pakistan :bummer:

ive not seen any evidence of sectarian involvement in these incidents yet, but if hazara are incompatible with the host nation then possibly moving them back to afghanistan or onto iran would be better

@ shardmanny - you cannot paint a whole ethnic group with the same brush. There are good and bad everywhere. The Hazara community in Afghanistan has suffered for hundreds of years but then recently thay have made others suffer. They have suffered more though. In Quetta there ae 2 types of Hazara:-

1. Afghan migrants who primarily came in the 70's as refugees

2. Hazaras who migrated pre-1947 to the then British India due to persecution in Afghanistan. They are as Pakistani as Pakistan itself. They are referred to as Changezhi and their was a famous boxer from this community.

They are quite different now. The Pakistani Hazara's are quite progressive and open minded. They work in many goverment jobs ie police, army. Some poster states that the Hazara have done well because they served the British - in Pakistan 99.99999% of educated and "done well" families have done well because they served under the British times.

I do not think the Hazaras of Quetta are violent and are less linked to extremist Shia organisations than say Punjabi Shias or Urdu speaking Shias from Karachi. I know there have been many attacks on the Hazara community stretching back over a decade but whether they have retaliated using extremist Shia groups, I do not know.

I personally like the spirit of the Pakistani Changezhi community - they arppear open minded, progressive, adventurous and quite hygienic in comparison with other groups in Quetta. In spirit the Changezis have less hang ups than Afghan Hazarasfrom my own little experience.

I read online that Baloch separatists were blamed for the sectarian violence however, the Baloch have no issues with the Hazara or people with different sectarian beliefs. The Pashtuns of Balochistan also appear quite comfortable with the Changezis in general. In Balochistan there are Zikris and they have never faced any persecution at the hands of Sunnis. They are both equally considered as Baloch.

The violence against Hazaras in Quetta is strange because going in and out of Quetta there are checkposts which hinder the Baloch militants but not radical Sunni militants. In Quetta kast year I asked someone if Baloch were targeting Hazaras and Pashtuns - he was a Pashtun and argued that the intelligence was trying to alienate and tar the name of the Baloch. With so many intelligence agents out there in Balochistan it makes you wonder why extremists cannot be stopped? Quetta is quite isolated from other areas of Pakistan so therefore should be easier to nip in the bud. If Baloch can be disappeared on baseless allegations then why are they not taking the issue of Shia-Sunni violence seriously?

Before talking about 'retaliation', one would expect you to first condemn the perpetrators of violence. Yet this thread is four pages long and the only time you entered the thread is to talk of this 'retaliation' instead of first saying anything about the khariji perpetrators or their victims.

I would say again that if you think this is retaliation then you don't know what you are talking about. I have lived in Karachi as well, and I know as well that shias never targeted Barelvis at all. But I can't change your opinion, and I don't even want to try it.

This similar decision should be first tried on people who are the perpetrators of this fasad in Pakistan. It would be even better if they move to their own fatherland of Saudia. Since they are the cause of fasaad therefore they and their supporters deserve to be kicked out of Pakistan more than anyone else.

But the way just condemned the victims instead of the khariji mufsideen who killed them shows a lot about your own character.
bayrra gharaq kar diya he inn khawarij takfirion ne Pakistan ka.

I am from Karachi and you guys have no idea what u r talking about if u r even suggesting that there is friction between Barelvis and Shias. If you attend any funeral of Shia or Barelvi victims then you will see notables from both side by side blaming LK or TTP for the crimes. All the top brass of Barelvi scholars has been cleaned out by Wahabhi Deobandi groups such as in Nishter park blast when 57 scholars were martyred. Barelvi scholars have said it openly time and time that even their mosques are being taken over by these heavily armed gangs. Recently Barelvi and Shia leaders have held some meetings, Sunni Tehreek and MWM, and lets hope we see an alliance emerge that can save Karachi from these fundamentalist nutjobs insha Allah.