Um okay…once again…I didn’t make any immeasurable comparisons of very subjective traits such as religiosity/conservativeness/etiquette in my posts. So I hope that I am not one of the “two offensive posters who think everything Punjabi is better.” Nowhere in my posts have I said that Punjabis are superior. I said that Punjabis are also known for hospitality and cuisine. I also said that I’ve encountered rude folks within my own ethnic group. Heck I even said that the few negative experiences that I’ve had with other groups such as Hydros or Urdu Speaking or even my own ethnic group did not hinder me from befriending them nor did it lead me to form very rigid conclusions about a group in its entirety.
Look at this thread. Comparisons have been made on whose language sounds less jarring to the ears. Who is more or less controlling than the other. Who is more or less religious than the other. Who is more or less conservative than the other. Who is more less tameezdar than the other. And in all these comparisons it’s the Punjabis that are being portrayed as sounding less pleasant in their language…less flexible…less religious…less conservative…less gracious in their etiquette/hospitality. Heck…if just one Punjabi aunti failed to act a certain way as a hostess…then that failure was compared to the hospitality of all members of another group. To think that this thread is about Pubjabi superiority is strange when we’re the ones coming out “less” in the comparisons. I edited my post because I felt as though it may read as though I am picking on members or baiting them when I don 't want it come across as such.
No one is less, no one is more than any other ethnic group..I’ve proudly stated that I am hydro who is married to a Punjabi. I listen to a lot of crazy stuff about Punjabis in my family, I don’t care, and my husband hears a lot of negative stuff about hydros and he doesn’t care.
And RV nothing personal, but if soconfused was talking about her personal experience with hydros vs Punjabis, it wasn’t directed at you. You shouldn’t get all worked up all the time. Unless you are also marrying a hydro, you have nothing to worry about. Trust me.
Someone needs to lock this crazy thread, which I will again say OP simply asked a question which turned into this.
At a dawat a punjabi man is much likely to go hungry at a Hyderabadi/bihari/indian (insert other indian ethnicities) dawat. The cuisine tends to have more veggies and tastes funny. General Lack of meat dishes and/or the meat dishes lack flavor. As a general rule, you want to eat ahead of time just incase.
Afghan, Pathan and Kashmiri women cooking on the other hand. I will skip two meals before going to one of those. They put out a vegetarian nightmare at every dawat.
Here is my ranking of women and the food over a span of 40 yrs.
Chalo.. kuch aur shuru. Carry on apa ji.
Let other people worry about their future spouses/married life. When its time for you to worry about that, you can start this nonsense Punjabi vs Hydro thing.
Peace
Why is it** interesting** to you that your remarks were either rude or they hurt someone?
If this thread is obnoxious to you, why did you put a smiling smiley there?
Look dadi amma…I didn’t “start” any “nonsense” in this thread about one group vs another. I never pit one group against the other nor did I say that one was more or less superior than the other. It was you who was made the accusation of Punjabi superiority in your post…not me. Since I didn’t initiate a pissing contest between any two groups…then I am not the one who is “carrying on” in this manner. It’s a rather cheap shot to bring up my relationship status when it’s not relevant to the the debate. It’s really none of your business and there are other unmarried members that have posted in this thread besides me. You do not get to condescendingly tell people when they should participate in a discussion or what qualifications they need to have in order to participate in a debate…be it marriage in general or a marriage of two diff cultures.
There are loud,crazy,inhospitable people in every family/caste and it has nothing to do with what group you belong but does a lot with what UPBRINGING you had. I dont think it has to do with being pakhtoon or punjabi or Hydro. Bhooka koi nai marta and they all have their cuisine Everyone is usually proud about his/her tradition/culture and there are good and unacceptable (for others) values (I wont say wrong or bad values/traditions … just unacceptable or not understandable) in all families/castes/areas.
All I would look into is the general nature and behavior of the family and how flexible is the family,the guy AND myself. The couple HAS to make modifications in lifestyle and compromises in a lot of thing even if you marry your khala da puttar/beti who lived next door all your life…even they would be different heck we are talking about cross culture. Some people can take this diverse difference and are happily married into people of other RACE/Religion. Those who cannot manage and digest the change shouldnt take the chance at all because if you are not open-minded and are going after all itchy bichy of a culture, you will surely screw it all up in the end.