Marrying a hyderbadi

So a friend (I swear its not me) of mine might get married to a hyderbadi (indian) guy. The chance of her getting married to this guy is like 10% in my opinion due to other reasons, anyways long story short she is also not sure about hyderbadi culture. I have told her that their food is different. what are other differences? do they speak different language? I think that their accent is a little different? So I guess my questions are?
how are hyderabadi indians different than pakistani people?
if you are a non hyderbadi, were you able to adjust with them?
how are hyderabadi indian guys compared to typical pakistani men?

Re: Marrying a hyderbadi

@khattichic haazir ho…

I am married to hyderabadan and their accent is :wub:

They like khatta more, this is the only major difference i noticed :slight_smile: plus they speak in bit louder tone( this may be my susraeel specific thing) which at times is not so comfortable for me.

@ bao: so true they do speak louder, I have noticed that too on few times I have met some hyderbadis, but I think its true for the females not the males.
sorry folks this is just a informative thread, don’t mean at disrespect.
can’t believe I have to put disclaimers, why am I so scared all of a sudden.

Their biryani is :wub:

hyderabadi bachchi bolte bhai hyderabadi ladkion ko

Kon yaad karray mereku? :smiley:

Yes, we tend to be a bit loud
Our food is THE best
Very khush mizaaj people
The dialect of Urdu can take some getting used to, but it’s very sweet, and if anything, will keep you amused :blush:

I’m one of the few in my family to marry outside of Hyderabadis, my husband is 100% Pakistani. I can’t really say what the exact difference is between a Hyderabadi guy and Pakistani because that’s stereotyping lol but in my experience/opinion…Hyderabadi guys are more mellow and not as jazbati as Pakistani guys :tomato:

^^^ add: Even if they have just Rs 10 in pocket, style waise ka waisaich rehta ustad :smiley:

Laid back, women tend to run the family

Close to their culture/traditions

That’s why we have fast bowlers and none on the other side :whistling:

And jazba attracts… you and Sania Mirza are living proof :rolleyes:

Luv the exaggeration they make as in total reality..

For example, if they say “Parson” for day before yesterday, be sure thats not the actual day before yesterday rather few years back.. just saying :chai:

Haha!!! Spot on!

Hau, Parson’ich milaa unnay mereku…could very well mean I saw that dude 10 years ago :rotfl:

I like Hyderabadi accent and they are lovely people.

bus bataaN buhut kertey

I’m 100% punjabi and I’m the first one in my whole family to marry outside of the culture…and into hydros. I’m not married, but I’m engaged to someone I’ve been talking to for 2 years so I don’t know all the differences but I think punjabis tend to be much more type A and controlling. It might just be his family but they’re all super laid back. I have a hard time understanding their urdu sometimes because I have the punjabi twang when I talk anyways, but the way they speak is very different–at least to me.

Their biryani is amazing; not a fan of hydro dessert though (don’t kill me!)

Hyderabadi Urdu is different then North Indian Urdu. It is perfectly oaky to have hard time to understand them, but it is just the matter of experience. Once you are in family, you will start picking their words.

Abi tang nako …

My advise.. don’t marry a hyderabadi. Not only will your urdu gets messed up, but also your sense of time. Parson doesnt mean parson, and abbi does not mean abhi. All for what? Biryani?

All this talk about hyderabadis reminds me of the scene from Well Done Abba… Abba beckons a guy who is urinating against the wall, and the guy goes…“Kya hai… dikhra nai masroof hoon?”.

Is that a good thing or bad?

appreciate your advice and please feel free to be more honest. I have never even had hyderabadi biryani before

so wouldn’t my friend feel out of place?

do you feel alone when around so many hyderabadis?