Marriage falling apart :(

Re: Marriage falling apart :(

We did live separate for 3 months recently, from Feb to May, while I was in Canada for my cousin's wedding preps. We missed each other a lot, talked everyday, had one fight that due to something his parents had said to someone about me. After the fight, the same day, he came to visit me in Canada (we don't live near Canada) for half a day coz he missed me. This was the first time I was away from him. He told me he'll never let me go again for this long, coz he missed me so much. I donno if it was "missing me" part or the fact he had to do his laundry and ironing himself, lol. He was at his parents house all this time.
So yeah, after 3 months, the first week I got back was all ok and lovey-dovey and he talked about how everything will be ok, we should have kids, then I can go to school, he promised again, till then I can start studying for GRE, find an online program and go part-time since he's supporting his parents, etc. I was fine with all the suggestions.....until day 7! Again, the whole my mom/dad said this...blah blah blah...and I argued over what his family does to me, all the hatred....blah blah blah....and then again started the whole cycle.
I must admit though, that 80% of the time, if there's fight about his family, I usually start it, but he doesn't understand that I start it because these things are being done to me, shown to me, I'm being degraded everyday....so of course I'll start to discuss it with my husband. My only problem is that when I start discussing I get heated up, which heats him up even more.
The fights over our own personal disagreements usually start as small arguments here and there, and eventually end up in me bringing up his family's mental torture, so it gets even more heated. The fact that every single penny that is spent on his parents (btw his dad took early retirement at the age of 50) from his phone bill/gas/car to the house mortgage is spent by my husband, no other brothers (there's two more), and I always get disrespect from my MIL and get to hear indirect taunts like "our son is supposed to take care of us first, not his wife", and she says all this unnecessarily, like just randomly blurts it out walking around the house! I feel like pulling my hair out, like seriously, just sipping over her chai, she'll say this when there's no mention of any topic even closely related to this! Although he goes there everyday (it's just two houses down), she'll randomly call him on a weekend when he is trying to catch some sleep and tell him to come early, if he says HIMSELF that no Ammi I'll come later I'm sleeping right now, she'll say "tumhari biwi se zyada mera haqq hai tum per", I mean really, did I tie him with a rope? For Allah's sake, the guy is sleeping coz he's tired!.... He knows it's wrong, he admits it, but just says they're elders so don't talk back, although I've never in my life talked back to any of them!
I really don't know where I am. Sometimes I don't know what bothers me more, the fact that my husband and I disagree and his narrow-mindedness on some things or the fact that I myself got married and threw myself in a family of retards!

Seen the same happened with a colleague of mine. After 1 year of marriage sent his wife to germany for education. After completion immediately she applied for divorce as their thinking doesnot match and she want to make her own successful career.

I don't think your marriage is working.

Not because you're two different people (because people rarely stay the same during their entire married life).

But because neither one is willing to accept the changes.

His parents are close by now...you can't throw them out of their house or tell them to move away right? Their location is not going to change.

So realistically speaking, what exactly can you do? What do you have control over? What is in your hands?

The time you do spend with him. Your own self. Your home. Your time.

The first thing I think you need is something serious to do with yourself. I know you're not a bored housewife but an idol mind is satan's workshop.

Go back to school slowly (you don't have to go full time right off the bat)...take one class or get a part time job. But you do need to do SOMETHING with your life woman. You have no self esteem, nothing you're proud of, etc.

Set the mood of your own home and life. Its yours. Your inlaws cannot invade your mind, body and soul. You're letting them get to you.

Hell yes, she has got something to be proud of. What do you call a 3.9 GPA ? :)

Her in-laws HAVE invaded her mind.

They must have read the Hadith (could be zaeef) on PTV:

Aurat par sab se ziaada haq uss ke Shauhar ka hai;
Aur Mard par sab se ziaada haq uss ki Maa ka hai.

Cahlo ji, beeviyon ki to ho gaee chuttee.
Unless they are lucky to have boys of their own and carry on the cycle for the next generation. **

You could wish the in-laws away or shoot them, but both are unlikely to happen.

If you do try to get your husband away from them or out of their influence, you will be accused of trying to pull the proverbial naakhun out of maas.

As time goes by, your husband will become more and more annoyed with both you and his parents and evetually his own life.
And this, when he cannot find any solace in his children, that he doesn't have !

[Isn't this the plot of 50% of Pakistani TV soaps and drama serials portraying all sections of society ?]

How do we accept the change? In what way?
Yes, his parents are close by. The funny thing is they're thinking about moving in, since it's getting hard for my husband to take care of two households at the same time, so he wants to sell both houses and get a bigger one.
You're right, I don't have control over anything. I find it funny saying it myself coz it's coming from a girl who was raised in the U.S! And whatever little is in my hands is eventually taken over by his parents just bcoz they're "elders".
I AM a bored housewife, with nothing to do, but to think and dwell on my misfortune!
I want to work. My husband agreed with me after I had a panic attack and the Dr. suggested I do something with my life since I don't even have any close friends. Husband agreed, I started looking, and Voila....it got to my in-laws ears and hell broke, and he told me to "delay" it. Now, he tells me to use my time volunteering at the masjid and local Islamic school. Yes, I do that sometimes, but I also want to do what I ALWAYS wanted to do.
You're right. In-laws have invaded my mind, and no matter how hard I try, I can't stop letting them get to me....I don't know how to! It's like they'll say something to me, and I'll think about it the whole day and can't concentrate on anything. And every single day, things keep piling up in my mind, while it's on the brink of explosion! They already degrade me in front of others, in front of me, behind my back, even when I don't even say a word to them. So, I fear that if I do stand up for myself and say what they're doing is wrong, they'll probably accuse me of additional things that I never did, in the whole community and their family.

Seriously?! Is that really a hadeeth, I've never heard that. I mean yeah, mom has rights and a wife has rights, but you can't/shouldn't compare the two. If she would just say that your mom has a lot of rights on you, I'd understand. Why does she have to say that "I have more rights on you than your wife"....just bcoz he tells her he'll come a lil later?! Ya Allah!

I do tell him everything that they do to me, but I've never tried to pull him away. I always wanted a big family coz I came from a broken one. I wanted love. I want my kids to have a big family, loving cousins, aunts, uncles, but in these six yrs my SILS and BILS have probably spoken to me 3-4 times, that too my husband said to them "here talk to me wife", they didn't ask for me. I'm an only daughter so my kids wont have any cousins from my side. I wanted all this from my husband's side, but I'm not even getting 1% of it, despite the fact I bend my back everyday, without saying a word to them, to keep them happy, thinking that one day they'll turn :(*

Your husband will have to realize that you can do all you want and more as a divorcee.
He should at least give in to your demand to work outside the house.
And everybody knows that divorce is dearly expensive for men in America especially when the wives have not worked and the marriage is over 7 years.
He should remind his parents of that also.

sorry to say but this is what eventually happen's when you dont get acceptance from your in-law's and marry a mama's boy. Girl high time you realise it. He married you without their consent so he should standby as promised at the time of his nikkah ! With all aside, Respect to elder's - agreed but if he is such a God fearing person does he remember the vow's taken in the nikkah process ? try to inject a few things if not all - the way our prophet treated his wives. Maybe then he might be able to realise as he feels counselling is a gora thingi.

My two cents - Please dont let yourself get tormented in those four walls built around. Go out & explore your abilities.

I think creation of issues between your husband is due to in-laws. I don't believe your having more problems because of his narrow mindedness. Like you have mentioned that he treated you amazingly during separation. It shows he does love you but he needs to prove it through his actions. You need to speak up for yourself and explain your thought process to him else you won't find any satisfaction in this relationship. Saving a failed marriage takes a lot of courage, determination, perseverance, and patience. Obviously, you don't have to forget that you should include the love that was once the reason why you two were brought into that marriage in the first place. You need to get extremely close to him and empathize with him in every situation. Try to win your side by gaining his trust in you. The more you praise him, the less you complain, the better it is for you.

Let him know, Islam encourages the husband to treat his wife well, as the prophet Muhammed PBUH said: "The best among you are those who are best to their wives".

Re: Marriage falling apart :frowning:

Well said BSB :k:

Keep in mind that it is almost very difficult to save a marriage at the expense of in-laws.
You will have to find some sort of middle ground.
It will take a lot of effort, control, negotiation and creativity.
You can't expect the two parties to be chummy to each other, but there needs to be some sort of
practical, working relationship.
Currently the status of you hating their guts and them yours won't lead anywhere.

get pregnant,it's high time.you need a diversion in life.so does your husband.if you still dont want to get pregnant..then...
encounter his mother like you won't get another chance to again.Say it allll!...if you're not strong enough for that..Just respectfully say whatever bothers you regarding her.Go visit her everyday.make her speak up.u speak back.get her heart's 'gard o ghubar' out!afterall...her son...HER SON..made the biggest decision of his life with out her consent.and she's not letting go of that.

so you need to speak up.if you don't speak up about what's bothering you....your husband and you...both will remain doormats..and no need to think of getting pregnant then.You guys had the guts to get in love at 17 and get married at 21...i bet you guys more guts to put back life into your marriage!

and relax...you need more things to focus on...life isnt a tiny binbox.do something with it...instead of..doing what you are right now.Sorry if im being rude...i'm just feeling bad about why you're messing it all up for yourself.if MIL doesnt change...you stop listening to what she says...get immune!i guess 6 years of marriage should have taught you to ignore her bothersome behavior.just make hubby happy.

hugs!

yes you need to stand up for yourself,no one will give you your rights.

how old are you?

facepalms

doesnt sound very pleasing.... but I agree with whatever you said....

How is it 'high time'???

And yeah, she does need a diversion.. a positive one.. not something that could potentially make the situation more difficult (not that having a kid is a negative thing at all.. just the mother should actually want to get pregnant)

bringing a kid into a messed up marital life now why didn't I think of that before?

OH YAH
its because it DOESN'T work furthermore it's EXTREMELY reckless I'm pretty sure other posters have said that your problems don't go away just because you had a kid. If you're old enough to procreate you're old enough to face your problems and certainly NOT yell at your husbands mother! Yelling/Swearing/Using violence is weakness its the same as admitting defeat all you would be showing to the other person is that you're not grown up enough to have a RATIONAL argument without being EMOTIONAL.