I was wondering what are some natural emotions one encounters right before marriage. Is it normal to feel kind of scared, confused…and just be veryyyy oversensitive? Please.. share your experiences of how you felt (all those that are married) a week, a month, or a few months before marriage??
Re: marriage emotions?
Funny you open this thread.. I was just thinking of that.
Cold feet is one emotion I can tell you off the top of my head. And boy is it making me a nervous wreck right about now! I think most people feel this way, making a huge life decision and all. But yeah fear and doubts do arise every now and then.. My wedding isnt near, but my engagement is, so im fearful and a bit unsure, but other than that..... hope for the best!
i felt scared thinking abt is like months before bt as time neared i wasnt scared or nervous bt i was tired n very angry most of the times. lolz
bt its all good at the end of d day.
i think i was just busy and tired from all the planning and coordinating so i didn't focus too much on the whole "holy crap! im actually getting married!" bit.... in the end, that was the fun part! :)
but i can understand where you're coming from... just do a lot of deep breathing to calm yourself anytime you feel anxiety or a panic attack coming on.
Everyone emotions will vary greatly, for me ity was sort of really weird i was completly clam the whole time we were engaged (about a year) and then the night before my wedding my husband to be called me just to chat like he had done many times before, but i don't know what happened but after that and right up to the moment i walked into the hall i was a complete freak, i cried at everything, got upset over little things, couldn't hold down anything i ate. It was something that was completly out of character for me, my husband now teases me by saying it was my bodies way of telling me i was about to make a big mistake :P
i think my mom went through more cold feet htan I did when i got married
i was happy.. very happy before getting married. i couldnt even pretend to be sad on those kinda feelings that i m leaving my parents house or whatever. its probably because i was moving just 12minutes drive away from my parents. i was just very excited on everything :rotato:
is that normal??
ummm i dont remember being terrified ro scared or anything before getting married...but i was frustrated b/c freaking out over my clothes (cz i dint do my own shopping) and jewelery and stuff, the date wasn't being set, plans kept changing, parents wanted 1 thing, we wanted something else, mom was going crazy..etc etc
I hope I am happy during my shaadi season. I really want to enjoy it to the fullest especially since I have waited for sooo long for this day. I would really want to make the best out of those times- being pampered, shopping, salons, and anything else that a bride has to do before wedding.
But I do agree that manyyyyy women go through the phase of worrying and being oversensitive, primarily because mentally they realize they will be starting a new life.
Inshallah i'm getting married in May, 2008 at this point i'm just thinking how can i deal with the new person and a new relationship (as a husband)...i'm calling all my guys friends and my female friends....
i was veryyyyyyyy happy and excited.....sometimes i was nervous about the wedding prep but overall i was very calm...i became sad when i was leaving for the airport and phir it hit me...OMG i am leaving my family!!!!! lol...but that too changed once i reached LA. :p
several days before my sister got married…her and her fiance got into a fight and she told him that he should leave her and that the marriage would never work ![]()
He just ignored her…hung up the phone on her and acted as if nothing happened…20 yrs and 2 kids later mashAllah they are still happily married. ![]()
I was happy but also scared on my sis's wedding. i did not cry even at rukhsati or at any other time ,
but i was not able to watch her wedding movie- it made me cry :)
I was happy but also scared on my sis's wedding. i did not cry even at rukhsati or at any other time , but i was not able to watch her wedding movie- it made me cry :)
awww so sweet! you guys must have been very close.
after my sister got married...you know how the bride and groom come to visit the brides family? wellllll I had the remainder of her things that were left in her room boxed up and sitting at the front door of the house. I was moving into her much bigger room :D
i love my sister despite my actions :)
yeah . my mother often said 1 esa aur dosri moosa ![]()
but it feels very strange , and after marriage things change alot. she always occupied my room , never slept in hers’. instead she also used to sleep on my bed
and used all my things like deordrants etc. which often made me angry ![]()
now the upper portion of our house is as empty as ever. i often think she occupied a big space in our house ![]()
i have given her things away. yeah they come and in our family spent the whole day and night in the brides’ house. and at breakfast i noticed her eating half cooked egg with her hubby and i smiled at her ( she hated half cooked eggs) ![]()
MashAllah that ure sister is happily married ![]()
aww thanks guys... its good to know im not the only weird one.. lol... ive been crying over the smalllest things.. my wedding is nearing i'A but i feel like im so much more sensitive to anything my fmily says.... especially my mother... she can joke about somethign and i start crying... I really am assuming its because in teh back of my mind i keep thinking about the wedding and leaving the house.. and I just dont know what to expect, etc. but I will pray and insha Allah that shoudl help : )
and yes, i still cry watching my sisters wedding video..lol...
^ i have over come that ,
i don't cry now , it was only for the first and 2nd time
but i'm happy she's happy :)
Oh yes, this is totally normal, believe me. When my aunt was married in 1974, she threw up 3 times that morning, but they are still happily married, with 3 daughters with kids of their own. I'm getting married in two weeks, and I am a nervous wreck about it. My fiance is from Islamabad, and I'm a white girl from the USA, so I'm having American dress for the nikah, and the walima will be Paki style. Trying to incorporate two different cultures into a wedding can be a real headache, but it is all fun though. Alhamdulillah, my future in-laws are very sweet so far, so it has really been a blessing to us from Allah.
ok, is there anyone who like.... ummm... cried on their wedding day at rukhsati ka wakht?
I know it ruins your makeup and ur hubby may think u look like a chorhail post that... but what if u really cant help it :(
Is anyone here who is more on the emotional side, but managed to not cry? :(
The very thought of leaving my family brings tears to my eyes, hence I dont think about it at all (almost)...
my friends have told me they felt scared
i know some girls whose hands were shaking when they signed their nikahnamas
i can imagine myself crying at my nikah...if it ever happens lol
its not easy dude
anyway, be comfortable with how you are feeling. you dont have to fit into a mould and feel a certain way. let yourself be