Re: Make up artists in Chicago?
Yep, got it
Didn’t find the actual px of models yet.
Funny thing though, Kaaya has their website listed on the ad, but the website does not exist ![]()
Yep, got it
Didn’t find the actual px of models yet.
Funny thing though, Kaaya has their website listed on the ad, but the website does not exist ![]()
Also, in case if anyone is interested, they have a real basic profile listed here:
www .relevantyellow.com/profiles/15006 (sorry haven't reached 25 posts yet so please add spaces to the link)
Has a e-mail, in case if any of you want to write before opting for chit chat over the phone :) Esp. overseas guppans like Noodles :D
Btw, mazhala, another dumb question lekin how was the interior of the salon? Like upscale and all or traditional, normal?
Ooh yes and guys, for those of you who were interested in Saleha's work...here's a link to her FB group:
www .facebook.com/group.php?gid=44468546406&ref=share#/group.php?gid=44468546406
Oh the interior of the salon is very nice. Its not like the typical salons you see on Devon. It is very clean and upscale-ish. Most importantly, it doesnt smell like pan masala like every other salon on Devon ave!
LOL, yes, not having pan masala as background fragrance is always a plus :D Khair, I sent an e-mail to Rehana Akhtar (who I bel. is the owner?), tou let's see kya response ata hai, agar response ata hai
I hope they can provide some pictures tou I can see how they do their thing.
ok, heads up on their album. If they email you pics or show you their album when you go in, then do not freak out when you see the pics. I hate to say this, I really do, but I sort of freaked out when I saw their album and the pics of the brides. Lets just say, the album gave me a VERY wrong impression of the salon. The best thing to do is talk to the makeup artist herself, tell her exactly what you're looking for and make sure she understands. So, bring some pics for examples and something that matches the colors of your dress. So, not to freak you out, but their albums dont really do them justice.
O-O..tou phir tou px mangney ka koi faida nahi :D Hmm, and taking the color of my dress..well, again impossible since I'm not going to be in Chicago like until 2 days before my reception. Besides, the color of my dress is fuschia and I def. don't want that color anywhere on my face, not even the eye shadow :D So God help me LOL :)
Did u take sample px? If so, then may I ask kon si? And did Maria come close to what the make up in the pic?
Hey girls,
I’m not sure if anyone has already info on Dulhan Expo event on Feb 22nd so here is their flyer MySpace.com - DulhaniaBazaar My Photos - Photo 1 of 1
and their main website: Home
I know yaar...it is really hard. Theres not much of a choice for MUA in Chicago, which is really surprising. I basically chose Kaaya without getting a trial done anywhere else; mostly because I havent not been able to get in contact with anyone else. Also, if its any help, Maria from Kaaya did the makeup for all the catwalk models for the HSY fashion show this past October or November in Chicago. I believe there are a few pics available online, but I cannot recall the website.
Hi everyone!
I just joined this forum today and am finding it very helpful!
Just like the rest of you I am looking for a Good Makeup Artist & Video/Photographer.......
I actually went to teh HSY Fashion Show, and I agree with mazhala that the makeup of the models was really nice...she had done a great job....I do have pictures from that fashion show i can post them up but they were a lil' dark due to the lights let me know if anyone wants to see them, if it helps...I am trying to get a hold of one of the ladies who works there but she never picked up her cell/home phone...so, i'm going to try and give her a call...
I added zareen chaudry to my fb today and didn't see any bridal makeup pictures, so i dont know how her work is? and i know someone said earlier that she is rude, i agree...
Mehwish Khan I heard does good job, I will be calling her soon and see how that goes....
Hi everyone!
I just joined this forum today and am finding it very helpful! Just like the rest of you I am looking for a Good Makeup Artist & Video/Photographer.......
I actually went to teh HSY Fashion Show, and I agree with mazhala that the makeup of the models was really nice...she had done a great job....I do have pictures from that fashion show i can post them up but they were a lil' dark due to the lights let me know if anyone wants to see them, if it helps...I am trying to get a hold of one of the ladies who works there but she never picked up her cell/home phone...so, i'm going to try and give her a call...
I added zareen chaudry to my fb today and didn't see any bridal makeup pictures, so i dont know how her work is? and i know someone said earlier that she is rude, i agree...
Mehwish Khan I heard does good job, I will be calling her soon and see how that goes....
Hi Mehwish,
I'd actually love to see the px from HSY Show, but I'm not sure if you can PM them to me yet since you haven't completed your 25 posts yet :) In any case, the thing is, I e-mailed Kaaya and they responded quite promptly...so I am leaning towards them in terms of my bridal make up.
I also contacted Saleha and she seems really really nice. I think her & Maria's/Kaaya's rates are quite similar...though Saleha is only cheaper if you think about it in terms of travel costs--basically she doesn't charge for that if you're function is in the greater Chicago area.
As the other girls have mentioned, Anjum, Zubaida, etc. they all don't do updo's & jewellry setting. Zareen & Mehwish do..but u must have read enough about them already :D
I'd say contact Saleha & Kaaya and then let us know how u feel about them :) Btw, when is ur big day??
Hello Girls,
How are we all doing with the wedding preps? Welcome to GS Mehwish and the CHicago thread. :)
I havent gotten too far along yet, surprisingly. My outfit will be here end of March and in a few weeks I will also have my wedding cards...they will start to go out in April for the June wedding, Inshallah. Good timing right?
Im going to call that Maria girl you guys are talking about and see if she can do a trial on me...
Exciting!
So guys, any updates from any of you yet??? I'm still procrastinating about e-mailing/calling any of the make up artists. Bint, whatever became of that arab MUA u were talking abt ?
I still haven't received that info. yet. My friend is being too lazy I guess. I am going to Chicago soon. Too bad I am gonna miss that Dulhania Bazaar. I m gonna check him out myself now. I am thinking about checking out Kaaya too now. Boy this is crazy. Everytime I think I have made up my mind. I come across someone new & then get confused about trying them out too. I m gonna go to Zubaida as well as contact Anjum & see what the final rates are. Oh & by the way Zubaida does dupatta setting & hairstyles as well. She will also travel to your place for an extra charge of course. I contacted Mehwish Khan's sister again & left my phone number with her. But still haven't received any response from the MUA. Considering the fact that I know her too from my cousin & she hasn't bothered to at least reply. I say so much for professionalism.
Lol at pan masala. I have been to quite a few salons on Devon. I never smelled it. But that's funny though.
Hello Girls,
How are we all doing with the wedding preps? Welcome to GS Mehwish and the CHicago thread. :)
I havent gotten too far along yet, surprisingly. My outfit will be here end of March and in a few weeks I will also have my wedding cards...they will start to go out in April for the June wedding, Inshallah. Good timing right?
Im going to call that Maria girl you guys are talking about and see if she can do a trial on me...
Exciting!
Bon! Holy golly its too hard not to call you PS. Hopefully I'll get used to it soon. Card timings are perfect. Tradinationally you are supposed to send out the cards 2 months in advance. For people who'll be coming from outside U.S you should call them in advance to let them know so they can make necessary arangements & post them the cards when you get them.
Welcome Mehwish & congrats for the engagement :)
Oh & I checked out Saleha's work on facebook. I think it looks good too. What do u girls say? Its somewhat like Anjum's except there were more model pictures than bridal.
Hi!
*Thank You BBlaila for the info....I really want to see kaayas work...and surprisingly Zareen actually has replied back to me very promptly and in a nice way...although i had not read good stuff about her at all....do u think i shud do a trial with her? she charges $25 for a trial????? *
*and, u can see the HSY pics on my fb in my profile? I really want to go with Kaaya they had done a great job on the models there....and also, Mehwish I will be emailing her today....so lets see what happens! *
*Oh, and i also met Lispstick squad/somethign like that yesterday at the bridal expo. the girls name is anna i think she was nice too, but she does trials for $75 and bridal $150-200, the bridal makeup rate seems fien but i think the trial is a bit too much dont u think so? *
My big day is May 24th InshALLAH!
Nice to meet all of you!
[quote="Bonbonniere"]
Hello Girls,
Thank You Bonbonniere! I'm glad I came across this forum it is soo helpful!
I still haven't received that info. yet. My friend is being too lazy I guess. I am going to Chicago soon. Too bad I am gonna miss that Dulhania Bazaar. I m gonna check him out myself now. I am thinking about checking out Kaaya too now. Boy this is crazy. Everytime I think I have made up my mind. I come across someone new & then get confused about trying them out too. I m gonna go to Zubaida as well as contact Anjum & see what the final rates are. Oh & by the way Zubaida does dupatta setting & hairstyles as well. She will also travel to your place for an extra charge of course. I contacted Mehwish Khan's sister again & left my phone number with her. But still haven't received any response from the MUA. Considering the fact that I know her too from my cousin & she hasn't bothered to at least reply. I say so much for professionalism.
Lol at pan masala. I have been to quite a few salons on Devon. I never smelled it. But that's funny though.
Bon! Holy golly its too hard not to call you PS. Hopefully I'll get used to it soon. Card timings are perfect. Tradinationally you are supposed to send out the cards 2 months in advance. For people who'll be coming from outside U.S you should call them in advance to let them know so they can make necessary arangements & post them the cards when you get them.
Welcome Mehwish & congrats for the engagement :)
Oh & I checked out Saleha's work on facebook. I think it looks good too. What do u girls say? Its somewhat like Anjum's except there were more model pictures than bridal.
Thank You Bint_e_Naeem! Nice meeting you! and Congrats to you as well!!! How can I look at Saleha's work on fb? do i have to join a group?!
Hi! Thank You BBlaila for the info....I really want to see kaayas work...and surprisingly Zareen actually has replied back to me very promptly and in a nice way...although i had not read good stuff about her at all....do u think i shud do a trial with her? she charges $25 for a trial?????
and, u can see the HSY pics on my fb in my profile? I really want to go with Kaaya they had done a great job on the models there....and also, Mehwish I will be emailing her today....so lets see what happens!
Oh, and i also met Lispstick squad/somethign like that yesterday at the bridal expo. the girls name is anna i think she was nice too, but she does trials for $75 and bridal $150-200, the bridal makeup rate seems fien but i think the trial is a bit too much dont u think so?
My big day is May 24th InshALLAH!
Nice to meet all of you!
MAY 24th!! AAAA...ur like getting married at around the same time as me :D Sooo exciting! :D Yaay, no wonder when my fiance visited Syed Studio @ the Expo they were like, yaaa, we are all booked for May functions :D I guess most people are plannin on getting married that long weekend, more time to party and then relax that way :)
Anyways Mehwish, I think personally that Zareen is prob. not the best choice (can't be too sure ever), but ho sakta hai she's been reading this thread and altered her attitude a lil bit? U can never tell these things.
The irony of all these discussions is that you get so much information that it is hard to digest, and at times the info is contradictory too. Like, for example, take MUA Anjum...I have seen her work on Bint, and Bint was satisfied with her, but then just a few days ago I saw Anjum's work on another girl and I really really didn't like her make up. Uppar se bride ka hair style bhi bohat bura tha (now I don't know if Anjum recommended the hair stylist or the bride chose).
In any case, the pt I'm trying to make is that these things are very very subjective PLUS a little bit of kismat also :) At times u think u have things all sorted, and then things go crazy. If you have the privilege of being in Chicago, then I'd say trial at least with Kaaya & Saleha, because I feel like they both have good reputations in general (I guess?!).
U have seen Kaaya's work and you like it..I think they are a little on the expensive side, but not too much...plus they are a proper salon, tou un ki service technically should be better than freelance MUA, right?
I've been talking with Saleha and she seems very nice though her trial charges are WAY high too..(like $50). So yea..there's my little speech :)
You don’t really have to join her group. This is the link to her group. Check her photos out Login | Facebook
Oh and you asked for Saleha's FB group...here it is :
GODDESS MAKEUP by SALEHA
Let me know if it works, if it doesn't I can ummm..tell u the name I guess...?
U beat me in posting the link, Bint! :D
Oh well, I couldn't post the link anyways ;) 6 more posts before I can..sigh