Make up artists in Chicago

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

I hope so, they're all going to be here from Pakistan so Im not sure what the protocol is. I dont want them to feel like Im just worried about myself and no one else. You know?

Bint, u shud try and get ur fiance to visit this place. I am def. trying to convince mine :D Seems like there is a lot of activity that's gonna go on, and since we have yet to decide on decorators, DJ, etc. this place mite serve to be quite helpful.

After all, we all need as many ideas as possible when it comes to wedding preps sigh

YA, I feel u. Esp. if ur mom/dad is one of the elder sis/bro in the family, then Pak relatives think of themselves as not only mehmaan, but siblings that need to be taken care of. Oh well, how abt u get ur make up done sum place else and then just let ppl knw where they can get there's done? Like, say if u go with Saleha, are u planning on calling her home/banquet hall for the make up?

Yup, Im just going to go straight to the hall and get ready there because they have a very nice bridal suite with plenty of space for us to spread out if need be. Saleha/Mehwish would just meet me there and then I dont have to worry about transporting myself too far in my lehnga. Although there is the matter of walking down the staircase...lol.

Saleha.

Oh dun worry. We'll all do fine InshaAllah! I was planning on going to Chicago for the expo weekend. Have to finalize some other affairs too. But boy oh boy the beautiful weather of Chicago is so uninviting. Lets see are you planning on being there too? Might convince him then lol.

Shay can you tell us more about the make up she did on your cousin.

Bonbonniere about the people that come from back home or elsewhere you don't HAVE to pay for them. I don't think they should feel that you are thinking about your own self. You are the bride so there is no comparison. What you can do is once they get here casually mention the mau's name to them, tell them how much she charges for party make up & ask 'em if if any one of 'em is interested in getting the make up done from her so you can get the booking done in advance. That way you'll look thoughtful & they get the point indirectly that this is the charge if they wanna get it done professionally. No hard feelings there.

Oh & by the way I emailed Mehwish Khan the same time Noodles did. Haven't received a reply yet. Saleha sounds reasonable too. How is her work?

hey im just checking in from pak. I still havent heard a reply from Mehwish yet!
im stressing out more about getting this shaadi shopping done on a budget :s

Aww Noodles! Bargain bargain bargain. Shop around & you'll do fine InshaAllah. Best of luck.

hey Bint, since i cant pm you, ill just talk with you here! Im in karachi after about a decade so i have No idea where im going except with the help of some nice family friends.
do you know anything about the karachi shaadi stores?

Well I myself don't know much about Karachi but I am sure my nani knows a lot of places. She just got a gharara made for younger sister's Nikkah & got a good discount. The store owner is her friend's brother in law. Maybe you can try that store. What part of Karachi do you live in? I also have a friend who lives in Karachi. Her three sisters have gotten married in the past 6 years. I am sure she'll know a lot too. Tell me your location & also how long are you there for.

the worst part is im only here for 2 weeks so my mom pressures the tailors to be do the work in a couple of days or a week. Im staying at Avari towers i think thats in the heart of karachi but not even my mom knows the part of town we r in!

Just sent a message to my friend. I'll try to call my nani too InshaAllah. Tailors can even stitch in 2 days so don't worry about that. Make sure that you don't tell them exactly when you are leaving so the clothes will be ready in time & instead of you just grabbing them & bringing 'em straight here. You can actually try on the suits to make sure there are no glitches.
Will let you know about the places soon. Just post anywhere in some other thread so you can have 25 posts. It'll be easier to communicate & I can maybe write some personal info. too then. That'll save you some more time.

So guys, any updates from any of you yet??? I'm still procrastinating about e-mailing/calling any of the make up artists. Bint, whatever became of that arab MUA u were talking abt ?

Oh and I tried to add Saleha on FB but no response from her or Mehwish Khan yet :S

Ladies, if you're still looking for MUA in the Chicago area....there's a new desi salon that opened up in the Oakbrook area. Its called Kaaya Salon and Spa. I got my trial makeup done there a couple of weeks ago and I was very satisfied with their work. The girl that does bridal makeup there, Maria, is very nice, and very willing to work with the look that you want. Their prices are pretty reasonable, they're not going to charge you $600 for your wedding day. Also, my mother STILL has not heard back from Zaynub...and it's been about 3 weeks. She did make contact with Mehwish Khan, but she seemed a little hesitant to do the makeup in July. Any MUA that seems hesitant or hard to get in touch with doesnt seem too reliable.
Well, I hope Kaaya can be an additional resource for those of you still looking for MUA in Chicago!

mazhala, this is the OP (w/ a new name! :)), did you take any px on your trial? If so, would you mind sharing??? Would really really appreciate it!

Also, I know you mentioned they don't charge $600..so are they in the 150-200 range? Do they offer other bridal services (like mehndi, waxing, etc.)? You knw, iss tarha kum hassle ho jaye ga yaar instead of getting things done in diff. places.

oh, and this might be a stretch, but they don't have any website, do they?

Yeah, unfortunately they dont have a website. Their number is: 630.279.0200
I actually did not take any pictures during my trial, or else I would've put them on the site. They offer waxing, mehndi, and the usual salon services. I mainly wanted makeup, updo, and dupatta setting from them. Im not sure if the waxing/facial is included in their package or not. They will ask you to bring either your dupatta or some sort of matching so they can see exactly what colors to use. They use mainly MAC cosmetics, especially for all eye makeup. Also, make sure to bring a couple of pics if you can, of the style of eye makeup you want. Maria is pretty good with working with the pics and the shades that you want used. They do offer updo and dupatta setting for your wedding day. They will charge extra if you want the MUA to travel to the hall. They are definitely cheaper than $600, but are going to be a little more than the $150-200 range. I believe with hair, makeup, dupatta setting, it will be close to the $250-$300 range, but that is because I'm having the MUA travel to the hall. I would go to or call the salon for their specifics. Im getting married in July and they recommended to book the MUA early, because they do get quite busy in the summer. Good luck and let me know if you need any other info!

thx for all the info mazhala, but I was wondering if you choose them after going to any other MUA?

Just thinking in terms of process of elimination..because I know Bint recommended Anjum, but the drawback with her is that she cannot do duppatta setting hence would need another person for that. Zainab is not responding according to some.

In terms of convienience, Kaaya does sound good, but do you know anyone else who has gotten make up from them? Un ki koi pictures? Maria ki koi profile? So hard to decide on these things, sitting so far away :(

I know yaar...it is really hard. Theres not much of a choice for MUA in Chicago, which is really surprising. I basically chose Kaaya without getting a trial done anywhere else; mostly because I havent not been able to get in contact with anyone else. Also, if its any help, Maria from Kaaya did the makeup for all the catwalk models for the HSY fashion show this past October or November in Chicago. I believe there are a few pics available online, but I cannot recall the website.