Make up artists in Chicago

Mehwish, how can I see the HSY px in ur fb profile? Umm..I'm sure there are a lot of Mehwish M's on FB, no?

Lol Laila. U r just too cute.

Also talked to my friend yesterday about that Arab MUA. She said he does hairstyles as well. When I asked her about the duppatta setting she didn't even know what I was talking about :D She did mention that he goes back home every 6 months for a couple of months so we would have to check his availability.

By the way Mehwish I am getting married on May 29th InshaAllah. We def. have a lot of May brides here. Wow!

Another MAY!! Uff Allah, there goes my chance with Syed Studio entirely and completely, hehe :D If at least 3 guppans in this threat are getting married in May, then khuda janta hai how many other girls are :D Oh well, better luck next time LOL ;)

Khair yaar, Bint, ser. I think we are all getting married in May then at least by now we should settle down for a MUA, no? I mean I am just getting palpatations at this point, so little time left before May!! Besides, Saleha's been saying that she has had a lot of inquiries for that long weekend of May too...so I'm thinking, phir ussey hi haan keh doun? Coz it's like, in all this research mein kahein options hi khatam na ho jaein :D

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

Oh and btw Bint, are you then getting your stage done from Dream Occasions? My fiance went to the expo and inquired from Utsav & wht not..they were like, our prices start from $1000 jiss mein there is like nothing except pillars and sofa's I think :S

Sahi baat hai. We should have booked 'em by now. Well if you are comfortable & you think she is undertsanding towards what you want then I say Allah ka naam lay kar go for it. If I remember right you also mentioned she doesn't charge extra for traveling to your place.
I will be in Chicago soon & as I mentioned I am gonna check out everyone & finalize my MUA too. At this point I am just too confused & there is little time left. If it seems right then you can wait a bit as well. I'll be InshaAllah updating the thread with all the information I collect & what I find over there. Again you said Saleha is saying that she is getting a lot of inquiries for May. What do you think?

Also if you want I can maybe contact Syed's & ask. You know how sometimes references work. Although I don't know them that much myself. But we can give it a try. Did your fiance find any other vidoegrapher/photographer?

lolz BBlaila!

yes, i'm sure ther are alot of mehwishms.....heheh

i will tell u my id in a minute....oh and it wasn't me with teh syed's studios i missed it too!

and yes, there are alot of may brides here....and

I am getting my stage done from Rami. Welcome to Rami’s Mandap Have heard about Dreams but since I really liked Rami’s work & he is usually booked 6-12 months in advance I booked him in December. His basic work starts at $800 & goes up to $3000. He works with your budget. He basically asks for the theme you have, any ideas you have or if there is a certain look you want & then works with it & tries to come up with unique stages for all occasions. He also makes centerpieces & flowers gajras & all that. In fact I have his prices for all the things he makes. I’ll look it up & post 'em here. Tell your fiance to check him out. He takes 2 bookings for a single day so there is chance he might be availble for your weekend.

Mubarak Bint_e_Naeem!!!! I don't know I guess we need to start finalizing the MUA....but I am still confuse...I really want to have trials done and be comfortable...
and thats right when u think things are going great something or the other goes wrong!

That's the thing, see I was thinking too that maybe you or PS would like do more trials and update us all poor souls on this whole MUA business :) But the only reason I am getting nervous is BECAUSE the very first time I spoke with Saleha, she said that she has had a lot of inquiries for that in which I am getting married-- which sort of makes sense since it is a long weekend, so a lot of people must be getting married( desi and western) plus aunties and all wanting make up's and wht not.

The other thing is that is making me nervy is the syed studio bit. Abhi tak tou my fiance hasn't gone and seen them, but he met them at the expo and inquired about our date and they said, oooo, May is waay too busy..but talk to us anyways. So, he still has to call and ask them, but I hope aisa na ho ke we get leftovers :D U knw, the less skilled videographers or something because we came late ;)

Khair, but I would still really appreciate if you can ask them, and see what they say? Do u rem. my date or shall I re-tell it?:D

Have u seen his work? how is it? or do u think I can see some pictures?!

BBLaila.....I went to PM u and cudn't coz i dont have 25 posts..........:( ah.

The pics on my Fb about HSY aren't that clear they are dark...but it does give u some idea i hope...here's my fb id...Mahwish Mustafa

Oh n yes, my fiance did talk to a few others...one of them was Anna or someone and he said ke her work looked cool.

The other thing is I don't know about the rest of you, based on the expo my fiance learned ke now regular albums are out and coffee table albums are all the hype! :) That was news for me...apparently my fiance is truly convinced that paying an upgrade for 600-700 dollars for a coffee table album is totally worth it :D Hehe, personally, I don't even knw if it shud be that expensive...

Thank you Mehwish :) Keep your hopes up high & leave everything on Allah. Everything will turn out beautiful. Even if some detail goes wrong the beauty of that day would be our marriage not our wedding. If you know what I mean.

I haven't seen his work. My sister has & the kind of picky person she is & so fashion/make up consious she loved it. Even I have not been able to see his pictures. When I see his work I'll update you.

Lol Laila. You’ll have to tell me your date. It was May 17th I guess?

Okay so about the MUA ask Saleha if she is okay with you confirming it by 3rd week of March. I’ll post every information I can to help you make a decision.

About Syed Studio tell your fiance to call them & I’ll contact them too. This is what I have seen with them. Syed or his wife does the photography & they call someone else for Videography. If they are already booked they’ll let you know. They won’t just take the booking & sent someone inexperienced.

About the coffee table albums you are right. They are actually called Flush Mount Albums. They are the “in” thing these days. Long gone are the days of old fashioned album. I am getting those for my wedding too. The extra money is totally worth it. Trust me. You are gonna love the end result & they last longer too. With time the printing won’t get bad.

This is what it looks like

By the way Syed’s has more options in terms of album covers & colors.
Here MobileMe Gallery
Also they had more options in their studio.

^ thx Bint, that really helped. I am so out of date on these things, koi haal nahi! :)

& no it isn't the 17th, but ur close :D It's on the 22nd.

& ya, I guess I'll have to call Saleha and ask her about the March thing. Like I said earlier, when I spoke with her for the first time, she said that she works on the first come first serve basis..so essentially who ever signs her contract first, gets the date. After all, I'm sure there are brides out there who are just as unsure and inquiring all over the area ;)

Wow! I had no idea so many girls were getting married in May, Inshallah! Congrats to you all!!! BTW...if anyone is looking for a stage decorator, may I suggest the person I am using. His name is Amer. VERY reasonable prices. He definitely works with your budget, and he is one of the first desi stage decorators that will use modern flair, but keep traditional desi touches with good taste. As long as you have an idea of what kind of theme/colors you want, he will work with you and create a vision that is personalized to your own taste, but budget friendly as well. I have his contact info, 630.825.9902. He lives in the Carol Stream area. In fact, Syed Studios referred me to him.

Also, another tip for girls that are going to Kaaya for their trial makeup...make sure to bring print outs of bridal makeup pictures. Also, you may want to bring your own false lashes in case they dont provide them (they do provide them for the actual wedding day, but i dont think so for the trial makeup day). They might do your makeup in the back room, but make sure to step out to the front of the salon every once in a while to check your foundation/eye makeup in brighter light. If you have a specific shade that you definitely want to use, u can bring the eye shade/lip color in and see if Maria has something that would match. My outfit being very bright red, she opted to give me a lighter, matte lip with a heavier eye.

Let me know if you need anything else!

Thx for the additional info mazhala, u knw it always helps for sure.

I've been searching bridal make up px, but have found very few to my liking. And the ones I do like generally tend to have very tiny px so one can barely make out what's going on...I guess in that case I generally go for the over all look. But long story short, I was wondering if you could post the px you took with you for your trial?

Oh, and by any chance, does Amer have any website? Or any webpage that might have a few px of the work he has done? Let me know so I can convince fiance to make that trip :D

Unfortunately, my SIL took the bridal magazine I had with her to Pakistan to get some outfits made. But I know there are some pics in the "bridal pics" thread in the forum that I found to have very nice bridal makeup. As long as you find a couple of pics that give a general idea of what kind of eye makeup or overall look you want, then you should be fine!

Amer does not have a website as of yet. I believe he has been working on one, and as soon as I get some info on that, I will most definitely post the link here!

[quote="mazhala, post:63, topic:195882"]

Wow! I had no idea so many girls were getting married in May, Inshallah! Congrats to you all!!! BTW...if anyone is looking for a stage decorator, may I suggest the person I am using. His name is Amer. VERY reasonable prices. He definitely works with your budget, and he is one of the first desi stage decorators that will use modern flair, but keep traditional desi touches with good taste. As long as you have an idea of what kind of theme/colors you want, he will work with you and create a vision that is personalized to your own taste, but budget friendly as well. I have his contact info, 630.825.9902. He lives in the Carol Stream area. In fact, Syed Studios referred me to him.

Thanx for posting this up, because I am still searching for a good stage decorator!!!

[quote=“MehwishM”]

Mehwish,

Zeerum (zeerum.com) is much better than Syed’s Studio. Try calling them and speak to Zeeshan. URL

ZEERUM.COM