i have not personally went to Duplex but ive heard it is dirty. Is tht true? im just curious
Lol. The way you have highlighted just two sentences, it seems like we are on comparing each others recommendations now. Funny. Anyways comparing to Devon's standard I think its okay. I myself am a clean freak but then for my eyebrows & waxing I only trust one person in Chicago. I would actually love to try Tayyaba out too for body wax. I wouldn't call that place dirty but not shining clean either.
Bint - i wanted to contact Zubaida, but im leaving for pakistan tomorrow for a couple of weeks, can i get the contact info pm'd now and then let u kno that i will be contacting her around the end of Feb? (Thanks!)
Will sure do that Noodles.
I agree with Bint!! $ 600 for a day's make up/setting?!?! That's quite a bit. But, I do think one would need a MAU that should at least do the dupatta setting yaar...I mean, I can do it my self, but then I have no clue how to make a jurra/hair style on which I can put the dupatta...maybe others of u know how to, tou that will be good :)
I have seen Anjum's make up now, and I think she is better than zubaida in a way, but then since zubaida does hairstyle and all, I would say it is more convinient to go with her.
And do consider Zareen Chaudary as well, as far as I have seen, she is alright too and will do your brial make up and setting for about $150.
Mahwish when I got my make up done Anjum mentioned that there is a lady she usually calls who does the dupatta setting & hairstyles & that we will have to talk to her & ask her about the charges & options she has. I am myself kind of confused about dealing with two people on big days. I am gonna check out Zareen Chaudhry too. You mentioned earlier that she is on facebook right? I still have to check that other guy. I m just too lazy to email my friend. Ah man wedding preps.
Ladies, I just spoke to Zaynub on the phone right now. She seems nice but not too eager to take on clients. She will be out of town until March 1st so asked me to call and come by after that.
March 1st...is that too late to be looking for makeup trials?
Ladies, I just spoke to Zaynub on the phone right now. She seems nice but not too eager to take on clients. She will be out of town until March 1st so asked me to call and come by after that.
March 1st...is that too late to be looking for makeup trials?
Lol. The way you have highlighted just two sentences, it seems like we are on comparing each others recommendations now. Funny. Anyways comparing to Devon's standard I think its okay. I myself am a clean freak but then for my eyebrows & waxing I only trust one person in Chicago. I would actually love to try Tayyaba out too for body wax. I wouldn't call that place dirty but not shining clean either.
ill give duplex a shot as well when i go 2 devon. but Tayyaba is very clean she has her own private room! lol smells like lysol.
^^ this this Dulhania Bazaar Expo thing in Chicago i posted it up incase u brides to be didnt know abt it! itd prolly be fun to get some ideas frm there
Oh wow!! Psquared, I am soo happy for u :D :D Tell us more please? Like, how was she, and are u getting portraits or all wedding coverage? Also, if you don't mind, can you share how much she is charging u? Oh & btw, when is ur BIG DAY?:) Sorry if you've said this already...I must have missed it :)
I e-mailed Amna ages ago and no reply still :( Guess, I'm gonna have to call her only :(
Im getting all wedding coverage and portraits...the pictures are all I have left and I need them to be excellent! Ive actually scheduled a consultation for this week to talk about pricing and will update you ASAP! My wedding date is June 28th Inshallah. Pray all goes well...as I will for you. :)
Definitely call her, Im sure she is inundated with emails.
Oh congrats PSquared for getting the booking done. Hope all goes well InshaAllah. If Zainab didn't sound that eager then maybe you should look around just in case as well. So if by any chance God forbid she says no you'll have other options. Your wedding is in June. Its peak wedding season & from what I have heard the good professionals, be it MAU, caterers, photographers, venues, they get booked at least 6 months in advance. It all depends on who you plan to go for. 3 months sound less time to me though.
ill give duplex a shot as well when i go 2 devon. but Tayyaba is very clean she has her own private room! lol smells like lysol.
Lol! Sahi Janab! The expo sounds cool. Thanks for posting the link. Wish I was there to check it out.
I'm sorry to hear abt ur experience with Zareen, Psquared. Her profile on FB wasn't all that gr8 either. I mean strictly mediocre. I haven't been hearing anything about Mehwish Khan lately? Did anything work out for anyone there?
I did reach Mehwish and she was very nice. She did ask me to bring my dupatta to the trial so I can see a preview of the big day. I dont have my dupatta yet, it will be here end of March Inshallah so Ill schedule her around the 1st week of March.
Saleha did get back to me in a timely fashion, was nice and also gave me rates...$200 for the makeup, dupatta and jewelry setting. Also, I would need her for the entire bridal party's makeup. She charges $50/person for party makeup and Ive got a ton of girls not to mention my in-laws. Am I responsible for getting them ready too? I dont know if I should be paying for their makeup and hair also.
Mehwish charges around $600 for the whole day from what she told me. But if I actually schedule her for that day...there is no way Im paying that much. She will have to negotiate with me.
Lol! Ok bon/psquared..will have to try and keep that in mind :D & ya the $600 charge makes sense coz that's wht was said to be her range in the first place.
U knw, $200 seems very very reasonable, in the sense that most people in Chicago have told me that $150-200 is average...so I'm sure if Saleha is saying $200 for now, she mite be willing to negotiate as well.
& in terms of the you paying for everyone else's make up..I'd say BIG NO nO :P Brides/Bridegrooms ka pehle kharcha kum hota hai, jo ke u wanna dash out some more ?:D I think people will be thoughtful enough to pay for themselves...rite?:S