Make up artists in Chicago

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

i kno rite...lolz i thought me n psquared r da onli chicagoans. khair i better be invited to all dese weddings dis summer :P lolzzz
my sis got her makeup done from dilnaz in devon she looked reli nice , except dat my sis took her own makeup and she kind of mix and matched wit her products. pm me if u wana se her pics
i definitly wud not recomend shaheeen - my friend got her makeup done from her and her foundation she loked odd and the style of her dupata is jus simply vulgar --plus she ruined my eyebrows once

I KNOW DIS ONLI ARAB LADY, SHE DOES BEUTIFULLLL MAKEEUPP! I MEAN REALILI BEUTIFULL! ISNT DAT PRICY EITHER, SINCE HER SALON IS LIKE IN HER BASEMENT :p
I THINK SHE CHARGES AROUND 200$ BUT U CAN BARGAIN IT DOWN TO MAYBE 100$. PM ME IF U GUYS NEED HER CONTACT NUMBER. :)

i recently went to a wedding last month and the bride got her make up done frm Shaheen she did a good job! idk if it was because the bride is her friends daughter or tht she wasnt having 37646 conversations like she usually does LOL

ahahah yea she luvs to talk ! i remember her telling me dat my eyebrows look uneven--since i didnt get it done from her lolzzz
but maybe she improved, my friend got married in 2007

haha omg she told me tht 2!! i use to go 2 her but dnt anymore. I go to this aunty called Tayaba, she works at this salon called GINAS its right next to Pita Inn on Crawford and Dempster, she alsos takes ppl at her house! Shes amazingg!! She is VERY REASONABLE for full body wax as well! ill ask her if she does Bridal Make Up as well for all Chicago Brides to Be :wink:

Ok i emailed Mehwish about taking me for my walima hair and makeup...im kinda nervous she will say no :s
If shes not available, who do you think is the next best hair/makeup person that i should contact?

Oh noodles even if she says no. You can maybe try Zainab. PSquared already posted her number. Also you can contact Shumaila or Anjum or Zubaida. I personally know these three ladies do good work. I m gonna also try to get a hold of that Arab guy I mentioned & post his info. My sister is not the kind of person who gets impressed easily. Very particular about things & if SHE likes the make up I m sure I wanna check his work out too then.

InshaAllah she will.

Pyari Se why don't u post your cousin's info. here? I have booked mines already but I m sure other brides here might wanna see it.

Lil Ash We do have a lot of Chicagoans here. Even I didn't know.

hey, can you send me the auntie’s number please?

btw, what does she charge for body waxing? thanks.

The auntys name is Tayyaba her # is 773-727-8639, she takes $120 for her full bridal package. She said to call her and she will be reasonable with whoever calls.

i have called him up for his business number, he hasnt picked up yet. i put down his facebook link, you can contact him there until i get his business number

Login | Facebook

Yea ill try contacting them if mehwish is a bust.

The reason im freaking out a little is that im sitting in canada, and i cannot come for a trial so i need someone who is really good that i can just show up and i know she will do a good job.

Does anyone have any pics of zainab. shumaila, anjum or zubaida's work?

Hey thanks but I no longer need bridal services as I already got married 2 years back. :hehe: I was asking about her rates for waxing. Do you know what she charges? Thanks again!

Noodles, don't worry, since I think you and me are pretty much in the same boat :) I am sitting thousands of miles away too and am really anxious about this whole bridal make up thing, but inshAllah things will work out :)

So have any of you gotten through to Mehwish Khan yet? Seems like she's not very responsive in terms of e-mails and all. Don't know if that is such a good thing. You know, no matter how good an artist someone is, the most important thing is the person's attitude towards you. Someone in this thread mentioned earlier that Mehwish Khan is a lil snobby, maybe? What's with the "selected brides" clause she has? I don't know if I will feel comfortable with someone who will give me attitude on the day I am dying of stress as it is :P Not that I have anything against her

Bint, are you going with Zainab then? Is that what you said in one of your posts? I am not entirely sure. Unf., I have not been able to see any of Zainab's work :(

Tayyaba takes:

20 for arms
30 for legs
25 for back
25 for front
8 for underarms
35 for bikini
7 for eyebrow threading
3 for upper lips(wax)

i have gone to many ppl for eyebrows and out of all of them i think she does them the BEST!

She said she is OPEN to give discounts as well! 1773 727 8639 <-- thts her # again!

ok so here is his number 708-921-2801, his name is Murad Toor ( he is not the same Murad tht was talked abt earlier on this thread LOL)

ok i emailed mehwish and i will let you guys know if i can get her direct contact info BUT i have heard from ppl in chicago that she charges around $600 for the bridal thing (hair,makeup,setting) - the usual is around $200-350.

I was writing down all the contact info going through all the posts and i cant seem to track down Zubaida's # - does anyone have it?

Noodles I posted my picture of Zubaida’s work. I think you missed it. How about you contact all these ladies & talk to them in detail about what your bridal jora looks like, the colors, your skin tone & the looks you are looking for & see how comfortable you feel with anyone of them? I know Anjum is good & Shumaila is equally good so it could be anyone. The only thing is these ladies don’t do hairstyles & dupatta setups. Zubaida does that as well. If you plan to contact Zubaida pm me first.

Mahwish PSquared is inclined towards Zianab. I haven’t seen her work & never heard of her so I don’t know. For now I am gonna try seeing the Arab guy’s work. If its any better than okay otherwise most probably I’ll book Zubaida for shadi day & Anjum for walema. I also emailed Mehwish Khan. Haven’t received a reply yet either.

Pyari Se Tayabba’s rates are good. Same as Zubaida. Also there is this lady Sonia from Sonia’s salon. Home If anyone is interested in Brazilian wax she is the person to go to.She is just awesome. Real gentle. Doesn’t make it feel awkward & is fast AND clean. I did extensive online search to find someone reasonable & professional with a lot of experience in Chicago & Sonia was it.

Woah that's a lot for bridal. The other 4 MAUs mentioned here do make up like her too. The only difference is creativity & she has a website which obviously boosts everything up. I m sure all of us brides are capable of making our own styles in terms of how to wear the dupatta. All these ladies have to do is pin it properly.

I was misspelling the salons name. Its Deplux. Phone number is (773)381-3880.

i have not personally went to Duplex but ive heard it is dirty. Is tht true? im just curious

Bint - i wanted to contact Zubaida, but im leaving for pakistan tomorrow for a couple of weeks, can i get the contact info pm'd now and then let u kno that i will be contacting her around the end of Feb? (Thanks!)

I agree with Bint!! $ 600 for a day's make up/setting?!?! That's quite a bit. But, I do think one would need a MAU that should at least do the dupatta setting yaar...I mean, I can do it my self, but then I have no clue how to make a jurra/hair style on which I can put the dupatta...maybe others of u know how to, tou that will be good :)

I have seen Anjum's make up now, and I think she is better than zubaida in a way, but then since zubaida does hairstyle and all, I would say it is more convinient to go with her.

And do consider Zareen Chaudary as well, as far as I have seen, she is alright too and will do your brial make up and setting for about $150.