Awww :(
Don't worry druggist everything will be fine soon inshAllah :)
Your in the prayers :)
Awww :(
Don't worry druggist everything will be fine soon inshAllah :)
Your in the prayers :)
Hi I have been going through several of these posts and they have been very helpful! I wanted to ask a few questions though:
1) does anyone know of a makeup artist in chicago or illinois who does arabian style wedding makeup? I would like someone who would do makeup that emphasizes the eyes and keeps the lips light. i dont like when they match eyeshadow to all the colors in the dress.
2) I would like to have rukhsati in Ashyana, ive seen their online gallery it looks great. does anyone have experience with the food?
3) can anyone help with reasonably priced photographer/videographer and stage decorator?
any leads would be greatly appreciated!!
have a trial with kaaya salon in oak brook... there is a girl Maaria that works there that specializes in Arabic makeup i believe and shes also worked with a few pakistani girls that i know so she's a good mix...
as for photographers, ive heard studio 7, sejal, and zeerum are all pretty reasonably priced... dont have #'s to any of them, sorry! but im sure u can find them on this thread..
ashyana food is great... been to quite a few events there, never experienced "bad" food..their butter chicken is delish!
good luck!
thanks a lot! I will surely try out kaaya salon, i checked online they have one in chicago as well. do you know of anyone else who comes with good references? ive looked at some of the peoples web pages who are listed here and after going thru their websites i wasnt particularly impressed with their makeup.. i havent lived here very long so i am kind of cluless as to where to look and what to do!
Hi does any one know of a good place in chicago to have a small nikah ceremony? if anyone knows someone who can take pictures and do the stage at a reasonable price and someone for makeup and hair, nothing too heavy since it will be a nikah... if anyone has any info i would really appreciate it!
Where in chicago are you looking for? Around devon or suburbs?
Check the near community halls they are nice cheap depending on the community. Also, how many ppl are you arranging it for?
Re: Make up artists in Chicago?
theres a group on facebook called 'makeup by rabia' (or rabiah, i forget the spelling)...shes in the suburbs of chicago...check out the group there r a lot of pics of brides that she did the makeup for
Where in chicago are you looking for? Around devon or suburbs? Check the near community halls they are nice cheap depending on the community. Also, how many ppl are you arranging it for?
Hi thanks for the reply! Well it will be a small ceremony about 25-30 people at the most, maybe less. i dont mind doing it in devon, but if there is any reason we wont do it there it will be because its hard to find parking space and the in laws will be coming from out of state. which community halls did you mean? were thinking of doing it in a masjid first and then from there we will go to some place for lunch..
theres a group on facebook called 'makeup by rabia' (or rabiah, i forget the spelling)...shes in the suburbs of chicago...check out the group there r a lot of pics of brides that she did the makeup for
Thanks a lot i'll look into it! does she do hair as well? i was also thinking of going to macys and asking them if they do party pr engagement makeup.. since its a nikah and a daytime function then i dont want it to be too heavy..
yeah MAC at macys would also be a great option...they'll do ur makeup if you buy $50 worth of merchandise..which is pretty cheap considering its for a bride plus shell get to wear whatever she buys afterwards..win win :)
thats awesome i didnt know they would do makeup if u buy stuff from them hmm good excuse to buy more makeup :)
i looked on facebook for that makeup by rabia. i dont want my makeup to match exactly my dress color, i just want it to be nicely blended so that the eyes stand out. i think nikah makeup will work from macy's but i dont have someone yet for the main day. do u know anyone who puts on good mehndhi?
sorry i'm asking so many questions! i just moved here over a year ago so dont know much about who's good and who's not and where to go and all that.. i hope u dont mind if i keep asking u q's!
Post was getting too long so I m writing more again.
Thank u for the comments girls. As far is the make up concerned. The reason I m confused between Zubaida is because my fiance loved my eye make up that was done by Anjum. He liked my engagement make up too but actually talked more about my make up from Anjum & he is not the kind of person who would talk about make ups & all. Also since this is wedding time I myself just wanna make sure if there is anyone better out there. U know how we girls are.
PSqaured your engagement mehndi is really nice & yes I was there at Monty's for the wedding. Chicago is getting smaller & smaller now :) Do u know the bride or Mehwish?
Chester make sure that before making that trip to Chicago you have made appointments so you don't end up wasting your time. I did that & saves a lot of extra tension. Also some MAU might be willing to travel but I m sure they'll charge extra. Ajnum charges extra $25 & will come to your place. I m sure others do too. U just have to talk & keep your options open. Look around in Indiana & u might find someone who does it.
Hi I have been going thru these old posts and am hearing the name Anjum as a good makeup artist in chicago, do u have her contact info and does she have any website? please let me know id really appreciate it!
Hi mecef. Congrats for the Nikkah
I would suggest reading all 21 pages of the thread you’ll gain way more knowledge about makeup artists in Chicago.
At some point in the thread I gathered all info. shared regarding wedding preparations in Chicago. I am reposting it again. You’ll find Anjum’s info in it as well.
Mehndi Artists in Chicago
Parvin Saiyed 773-465-2895 Specializes in Arabic designs & makes her own Mehndi. Charges $200 for bridal, $60 for party mehndi & $6 for non bridal mehndi done a little below the wrist.
Bibya Salon’s Zara specializes in Indian style mehndi.
Huda Siddiqui is not taking clients anymore for some time.
Makeup Artists in Chicago
Shumaila -MAC- 77 Old Orchard Shopping Center, Skokie, Il 60077 847.677.2121
Anjum (847) 909- 9425 email id [email protected] Charges $125 for bridal make up (doesn’t do dupatta setting or up do) Travel Charge $25
Deplux’s owner Zubaida (773)381-3880 Charges $150-$200 for bridal makeup (including dupatta setting & up do). Also travels for a charge.
Glamour’s Shaheen (not recommended at all)
Saleha Login | Facebook Charges $150-$200 for bridal makeup (including dupatta setting & up do). Party Makeup $50. Travel Charge – No charge if function is in the greater Chicago area. Trial charges – two Guppans were quoted different charges that is $50 & $75
Makeupforu by Sara Search Names: makeup4u by sara | Facebook Charges- Refer to the group
Zainub 630-561-1172. (Is a little hard to get hold of)
Zareen Chaudhry MAKEUP ARTIST ON THE RISE!!! | Facebook Charges around $150 for Bridal make up (including dupatta setting & up do) Trial charges $25
Kaaya’s Maria in Oak Brook 630-279-0200 Charges $250-$300 for bridal make up (including dupatta setting , up do & traveling to your place) Their work includes making up the models in the recent bridal show done by HSY, Karma & Nomi Ansari.
Mehwish Khan Mehwish Khan - Make-up Artist Charges around $500 for bridal makeup (including dupatta setting & up do). Only takes selected clients & might require you to come to her place.
Arab makeup artist recommended by lil ash. Quotes $200 but is negotiable.
Mona Raja 847-830-7427 Trained by Ather Shahzad and Mussarat Misbah in Pakistan.
Lubna Khan [email protected] 847-997-9767 Charges $100-$250. Trial charges $25 or free depending on the package you get.
Fotonic Maliha Khan (Lubna’s daughter in law) is also a makeup artist. 773-456-1814 (did my makeup on my wedding in May 2009)
Bina for hair/makeup/dupatta $125 Contact MehwishM for details.
Rabia mentioned by VivaGlam
Rajul www.mehendibyrajul.com Mehndi, Hair & makeup artist. Gives complimentary make up trial
Photographers/Videographers in Chicago
Syed Studio Syed?s Studio, Inc. A lot of Guppies & Guppans have gotten their weddings covered from them. (I got my photography & videography done from them)
Memories in Motion’s Mili Ghosh: www.memoinmotion.com. Best Desi photographer in Chicago but a little pricey.
Amna Siddiqui amna siddiqui photography comes highly recommended by Bonbonniere.
Arzoo Abbas 630-205-5839 They’re a father/daughter team, do a good job and have reasonable rates.
Zeerum ZEERUM.COM couple of Guppans have gotten their weddings covered by them
Murad Studio || MURAD STUDIO || (Not recommended at all. Stay away from them at any cost)
Pyari Se’s cousin Murad Toor 708-921-2801 Login | Facebook
Fotonic studio [email protected] 773-456-1814
Unique photo unique photography studios inc
Studio seven’s Ghulam 630-968-2330
LifePix Photography’s Dana [email protected]
Decorators
2.Amer Amer Design Studio Prices start at $1800
Sheeba 847-217-5596 stage decorations/centerpieces/flowers
Arab lady (contact MehwishM for details) stages start at $550 & go up
Anjum Khan AKA Angie 630-469-5568 also owns a flower shop. Prices start at $500
Additional decorators that I know just by names for now
Dream Occasions, Alankar Creations, Bandhan Rentals, Ravi’s Wedding Decorations, Shaadi Creations, Kajaf Event Design Studio, Sprinkles, Professional party planners, Sonray events
Since I posted this info. last time some more makeup artists have come to light. As I said if you can read all 21 pages.
Also you asked about a venue for less people & mentioned wanting to do the Nikkah at a masjid. I don’t know where you live but you could do the Nikkah at IFS in Villa Park & then lunch or dinner at Sabri’s banquet hall in Lombard. The places are 15 minute drive apart & both have their own parking space & shouldn’t cost you much Or you could do the whole thing in IFS and get food catered from Sabri or whatever place you want. There is a lot of places that provide catering in Lombard. IFS is a pretty nice Masjid & a lot of Nikkahs & other events are held there.
Good luck.
Re: Make up artists in Chicago?
Thanks a lot Bint_e_naeem!!
couple questions. You mentioned that Lubna Khan did your makeup. How was it? how much did it cost you, if you dont mind me asking. Also, did they travel to the venue or got you ready at a place of their own.
Also, since you mentioned that they have photography as well. Have you seen any work of theirs.
I saw their facebook group, but wanted to see some samples of fotonic.
again thanks a lot for putting the information together for us. :)
No problem Tlucky8 Anything for the would be brides as I myself have gone through that beautiful yet stressful phase of preparation & research.
I actually got my make done from her daughter in law Maliha Khan. She did a brilliant job all three days. I had booked them both for my makeup & the bridal party's makeup. My mom & two sisters. Lubna Khan did my mom's makeup & not just my mom but every single person loved it.
I think she charged me $180 for shadi & walema day individually with traveling to my venue at that time. I don't remember how much I paid for the mehndi day. She did my hair & some basic coverage of my face for mehndi. I got a 20% paklinks discount. Yay Gupshup & since I was getting makeup & hair done for the bridal party she gave me even more discount resulting in the price I mentioned above.
This past Sunday they also did my sister's Nikkah makeup & mine's & my mom's party makeup.
They are good at what they do & there is no doubt about that. Just make sure you get a trial done because that gives you & the makeup artist a chance to kinda know what you like or what kind of approach she has. They are really good at understanding what you want & giving you that look & most of all they are not arrogant or snobby like many makeup artists I have come across are.
I will suggest however though & this is for all prospective brides. Make sure you let your makeup artist know exactly what you want or like. Don't hesitate if you think your look is incomplete or not exactly what you had in mind. Be open about it.
Like for instance on my walema day I thought my tikka was a little slant & I asked my makeup artist to make sure it was straight. She thought it was fine & now in my all pictures the tikka is actually a little "terha" So trust your makeup artist because she is a pro. at the end of the day BUT also make sure that you are 100% satisfied at that very moment when you are dressed up & the final touches are being made.
In terms of photography I have seen their work but since I had already booked Syed's at that time I honestly didn't pay much attention to their work. A Guppan here booked them for her wedding & was very happy & satisfied. Try reading the full thread if you haven't already. Its in the last few pages.
Another thing. They are very flexible & most of the makeup artists or vendors I have seen except Decorator Rami & the makeup artist Zubaida. All just do their work & you can't expect them to be understanding if a situation arises.
Hope this helped :)
After reading your comment, I cant wait till I get a trial from them. I am super excited and will be contacting them soon. ![]()
Thanks so much for helping me out. It is frustrating yet exciting time. I have started to loose my sleep already so many things to worry about!!
How was your experience with Syed studio. I read some negative comments here about them. If any one else have dealt with them and can let me know how was it?
Hi Everyone,
Thank you so much for all your support and honest reviews. We take each and every opinion into consideration to improve the quality of our services.
Join our Facebook group for updates on offers and portfolio:
LKMK Makeup | Facebook**
**We currently have EID 2009 offer
5% OFF ALL MAKEUP PACKAGES
10% OFF ALL BRIDAL PACKAGES
Offer applies to bookings before 15th Nov 2009.**
**Party and Bridal Makeup & Hair from $25 - $250 **
Lubna Khan, trained from Dupilex (Pakistan), MAC Pro & Laura Mercier Makeup artist
Maliha Khan, trained from London School of Fashion (UK), MAC Pro & Ben Nye Makeup artist
For more samples please visit our website at LKMK MAKEUP and our Facebook group LKMK Makeup | Facebook
For urgent inquires please contact us.
773-456-1814
[EMAIL=“[email protected]”]
No problem Tlucky8 Anything for the would be brides as I myself have gone through that beautiful yet stressful phase of preparation & research.
I actually got my make done from her daughter in law Maliha Khan. She did a brilliant job all three days. I had booked them both for my makeup & the bridal party's makeup. My mom & two sisters. Lubna Khan did my mom's makeup & not just my mom but every single person loved it.
I think she charged me $180 for shadi & walema day individually with traveling to my venue at that time. I don't remember how much I paid for the mehndi day. She did my hair & some basic coverage of my face for mehndi. I got a 20% paklinks discount. Yay Gupshup & since I was getting makeup & hair done for the bridal party she gave me even more discount resulting in the price I mentioned above.
This past Sunday they also did my sister's Nikkah makeup & mine's & my mom's party makeup.
They are good at what they do & there is no doubt about that. Just make sure you get a trial done because that gives you & the makeup artist a chance to kinda know what you like or what kind of approach she has. They are really good at understanding what you want & giving you that look & most of all they are not arrogant or snobby like many makeup artists I have come across are.
I will suggest however though & this is for all prospective brides. Make sure you let your makeup artist know exactly what you want or like. Don't hesitate if you think your look is incomplete or not exactly what you had in mind. Be open about it.
Like for instance on my walema day I thought my tikka was a little slant & I asked my makeup artist to make sure it was straight. She thought it was fine & now in my all pictures the tikka is actually a little "terha" So trust your makeup artist because she is a pro. at the end of the day BUT also make sure that you are 100% satisfied at that very moment when you are dressed up & the final touches are being made.
In terms of photography I have seen their work but since I had already booked Syed's at that time I honestly didn't pay much attention to their work. A Guppan here booked them for her wedding & was very happy & satisfied. Try reading the full thread if you haven't already. Its in the last few pages.
Another thing. They are very flexible & most of the makeup artists or vendors I have seen except Decorator Rami & the makeup artist Zubaida. All just do their work & you can't expect them to be understanding if a situation arises.
Hope this helped :)
Thanks a lot Bint-e- Naeem for all this info :) its kind of overwhelming when you think about all the things u have to do and check in to but its fun as well.. i really am thinking about going for ashyana for the main day, on this forum many people discouraged going to montys. i dont mind going to any other place but i'd rather stick with some place that has everything on site rather than catering from an outside restaurant, that way if somehting goes wrong it can be easily taken care of. what do u think, u have any suggestions besides ashyana?
Thanks a lot Bint_e_naeem!!
couple questions. You mentioned that Lubna Khan did your makeup. How was it? how much did it cost you, if you dont mind me asking. Also, did they travel to the venue or got you ready at a place of their own. Also, since you mentioned that they have photography as well. Have you seen any work of theirs. I saw their facebook group, but wanted to see some samples of fotonic.
again thanks a lot for putting the information together for us. :)
Hi Tklucky8! how are things with u and how is ur preparation going, do u have a date set yet? i still have quite a bit to do, im not sure how much in advance i should be going for makeup trials and stuff. if i come across anything or any info i will let u know:) maybe we can exchange and compare notes on our research:)
My preparation is so-so with classes and work it even harder! Most probably My big day will be Mid February but not sure about the date yet. What bout you? When is your big day? I read your earlier post, Go for Ashyana. it's a great place and love their food as well. One other option is to go for Empress and cater from usmania since they deliver it. I probably will be doing either or.
For make up trial it depends when is your big day is. If it's in May-october then go Asap! cuz thats one of the busiest season for them and you would wanna book some one you like not some one who is available. Inshallah i will be going soon as soon as i find some time for work and school.
Who do you have in mind for the make up artist?
Where in chicago are you at? I am by the north Suburbs kinda far from devon.
And yes definatly let me know and i will let you know any info that i find.
Good Luck! :)