Make up artists in Chicago

Hi druggist,

There aren't any gardens around as such, how about the evanstan beach? Also how about Bahai temple? Its in evantstan. beautiful location, its free, plus throughout summer their garden is designed quite well.

There are many contemporary locations, depending on what you want. I'll email you some ideas :)

Hi Mia,

Can you please send me before and after pics of recent desi brides you have done to kasusa3 at yahoo.com Thanks!

Thanks Fotonic! :) I would love that
N

Instyle Hairsalon & Day Spa in woodridge

Hello everyone....I came upon this forum today and was engrossed in it. I was itching to respond to some of the things i read but had to wait for my account activation.

First of all, I got married last July and went through all of the headaches I am reading about. This year my sister is getting married in October so I was doing some research for her.

For halls...everything that was said about Monty's is true. My wedding was held there and though our dealings with Dr. Qadri started out great, in the end my mom was doing continuous du'a that he doesn't mess anything up for us. Fortunately we had it good with the manager (Gido i think) and he did a good job for us. However, someone saw a van from Parwaz restaurant pull up in the back of the hall and some of our pans of food were being taken away. Thank Allah our caterer was a family friend and he cooked for 800 ppl when my wedding was for 600. Oh and in one of the threads someone said why Pakistanis do that...just to clarify...both owners of Monty's are hyderabadi from india and not pakistani. Pakistani waisey hi badnaam hai, aur tho na karain.

Decor - i went with Utsav Creations for my stage and she was too expensive in my opinion even though the stage did look good. However she really ripped me off as far as my stage floral arrangements went. I had asked for red roses with different blue flowers such as blue bom orchids and other blue wild flowers. Instead she gave me orangey flower arrangements and not a single rose in the month of July when roses are readily avialable. though the overall effect worked with the stage, it wasn't what i had specifically told her. She also stood my friend up after creating an elaborate design for her wedding. My friends and i made my own centerpices and they were simple.

makeup- i went with a very young girl named Areeba. She was from pakistan and i wanted traditional paki style makeup. I was happy with both my wedding and valima makeup. I insisted she use the paki stick foundation on me and thats the reason i chose her. Also i have two really good friends that have started doing makeup....they both are very good and give different looks. One is rabia sikander abbas and one is rabia zaman siddiqui. Both use MAC makeup. Mona Raja did my sister and my cousins' makeup on my wedding day and she did a good job for their party makeup. However when i went for a trial with her, i wasnt happy at all. As for zainab...i had booked her but like one blogger said...i was one of the brides this aunty stood up b/c she got married and couldnt stop giggling about her recent marriage (sorry for the bitterness but she is in her upper 40s to early 50s and her giggling about her honeymoon when i called her to ask if she needed to see my dupatta made me see red).

photographer - Sejal Photos (Pintu)....he was really nice, price was right, and his pics were nice...not like photographers in pakistan but good enough for a lifetime of memories...i have to say though...his video wasnt anything special. syed studios are a rip off....they quote you based on ur venue...if they think ur a rich party then they will charge u more for the same package someone who doesnt seem rich will get.

okay will write more later.

how is the food at holiday inn, skokie?
i am checking out the hall tomorrow inshAllah, but have heard mixed reviews about the food.
Ashyana is not an option anymore because my family says it's too far away from us.

I've had the food at Holiday Inn a few times. It is pretty good for the most part. One time it was really really good, they had haleem and it tasted great. Biryani could use a little more spice.
I believe the name of the place connected to it is the caterer correct? I think Taza is the name

Salaam everyone,
I've been perusing this website for a while now, using people's suggestions to help me plan for a family wedding. The wedding ended recently and I have some very important feedback for everyone..

1) First of all, STAY AWAY FROM MONTYS! My parents used to love Montys, they love staying and supporting Muslim owned businesses. Well, we were stabbed in the back by an owner of Monty's, who told us for months that the rate we had agreed upon was set, but wouldnt let us come in and sign a contract or pay the money. The uncle refused to show up at the hall whenever we went to pay and sign a contract (he stood us up for THREE HOURS once) and kept pushing it off till a few days before the event. When we finally were able to come in, Montys claimed there was a misunderstanding and tried to charge us FORTY DOLLARS per person...this is more expensive than they generally quote over the phone...they figured that we would have no choice but to overpay because our event was so close. When my family protested, Montys told them something the effect of "take it or leave it, your event is in a few days, so you have no choice but to pay what we charge you" My family actually walked out and was called back later. After a few hours of hell, they fought to negotiate the price back down to the price Montys would have charged them anyways if they had just walked in without talking to that uncle. Oh and in the end, my family had just a few days to come up with the thousands of extra dollars that they were not expecting to pay becuase the uncle kept telling them that the previous rate was set. I cannot believe that one of the owners/partners would try to trick and deceive people like that, they engineered the entire thing so that they could back us into a corner and try overcharge us. My family is so hurt and upset, what Monty's put us through is inexcusable, they set everything up so they could force us to go with their hall and then suck us dry.

Oh and at the wedding, the owner went up to the groom (who had asked for another pan of biryani to be brought out becuase there was no meat left in the rice) and point blank said, "No, you guys have enough guests already, we are not giving you anymore food" To the groom!! The uncle instructed all the waiters not to bring out extra food, they did not bring out any custard either, it looked soo bad on us. When I asked the manager to pack up the extra food, she first said there was no more food left, and then later admitted that the caterer took it all home. Montys IS the caterer! I couldnt believe the batameezi they did, they gained nothing except spite by treating us that way.

Suffice it to say that we will never, ever go to Monty's ever again. The carefully engineered deception and then the complete lack of adab that the management showed us was too much for us. Montys will still give tasty food, and they'll still claim competitive prices, but they way they treat you and insult you is just not worth it. I just wanted to warn people so that they dont go through what my family did. You can still go there if you want, but just know that many, many people have had a horrific experience with Monty's.

2) My friend just had a trial with Sonia Sandhu and she loved it!

3) For photography, we went with Fotonic Studios. Alhamdulillah, we had no issues at all, Fotonic was very professional, they were on time, travelled everywhere we needed them, were willing to work out schedules to accomodate us, and were sooo patient during the chaos. I am so happy we booked them, they were very personable and helpful. How many photographers will run to their car and search for CDs and music because you forgot your entrance music at home? How many photographers will send you urdu poetry to help you formulate your speech? How many photographers will chill with you and calm you down during the madness? Honestly, I have so much respect for Maliha and Saad, they are amazing and such a pleasure (and relief!) to have at the wedding. Also, Fotonic's makeup company LKMK did the bridal makeup for one of the events...stunning! LKMK did a fantastic job...I am seriously questioning the authenticity of some of the posts on the forum that are bashing Maliha/ LKMK makeup...more than one person has told me that some of the posts out there were fake and made up by a rival makeup artist to try to hurt Maliha. All I can say is, call up and Maliha and see for yourself how sweet and professional she is, she is extremely talented and she will honestly go out of her way for you. And for a wedding, that is exactly the kind of service you need.

K thats all, I just wanted to get some of my feedback out there!

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

i agree with the above post in reference to monty's 500%%%% ! I almost got tricked into having my event at Monty's and ended up losing $1000 to get out of the contract... but i had to do it.. i was losing sleep and breaking out from all the stress that monty's was giving me... i had heard so many bad things about him after i booked it and he treated me soooo bad that i had to get out of the contract asap...even all the caterers/photographers/stage decorators that I mentioned Monty's too made a sour face and told me that the owners are very batameez log... sigh refer to my earlier posts for all my venting.. im done with them... although I have submitted a request to the Better Business Bureau in regards to Monty's service... and u all that have had a bad experience w/ them should do the same... they shouldn't continue to make tons of money, ripping people off... we need to take action and COMPLAIN to pple that will actually do something about this!! lets not put any other bride/groom thru that misery!!!

as for fotonic studio, thats good to know.. ill recommend them for my sister's wedding which is next yr.. and as for maliha's makeup, i dont think its a matter of someone writing "false" posts on this, trying to sabotage, i think some people just dont like her style, which is not a bad thing.. all these make-up artists have a different style and u just have to find one that suits ur taste.. i personally went with my cousin for her make-up trial and neither her nor i cared for the make-up... its just a matter of preference...and im sure she's not offended by it.. being in that business, im sure she knows there are many different make-up styles... although i do agree that she is one of the sweetest individuals that i have ever met (mashallah)!

ok thats all for now! but just remember **JUST SAY NO TO MONTY'S BANQUETS **

Hi,

I have looked through this thread and it is very helpful. I'm wondering for the ladies who got married this summer your reviews of make-up artists, mendhi, hair stylists, decorators, photographers, and videographers AFTER the wedding.

My wedding is in the suburbs of Chicago and I can use any advice in all areas. I saw all the reviews prior to weddings but I wanted to know how you felt after working with anyone that you worked with.

Also, I'll be going to karachi this november for shaadi shopping and would appreciate any advice in that are.

My wedding is in July 2010 and engagement is in October 2009. I would prefer to use the same person for engagement and wedding (unless something goes really wrong) and I appreciate all/any help and if you prefer to contact me via email my addy is [email protected]

Thanks a lot :)

Mariam

I am back with probably the most longest message I’ll ever post on GS.

There is a lot of do’s & dont’s about almost all the people I dealt with during my wedding.

People I wouldn’t change a thing about are Chateau Ritz in Niles.
I booked the hall 6 months before the wedding. Finalized everything a week before the big day with Nick Theodus. That man besides Rami was the best in terms of dealing with everything. They really worked with me for my wedding as if it mattered to them as much as it mattered to me.

On shadi day when I got to the hall. I got ready in the hall so was their at 4:00 pm. The chair covers were not the ones I had chosen. (Earlier that week I had talked to another Nick while choosing the chair covers & call it miscommunication but I thought I had chosen something else & he wrote something else on the contract) Anyways These people are so nice that although they had already set up and everything the guy I had talked to before went himself to pick up the right chair covers & they replaced everything again. Might sound like nothing right now but at that time I really did panic & these guys just took that stress away from me in 10 minutes.

If you ladies haven’t checked out Chateau Ritz. Do check it out. Everyone loved their service. Their servers & waitstaff were nice & courteous to our guests. All smiles. Which meant a lot to me. Also the interior is beautiful.

I had booked the hall at min. 300 people . My final count turned out to be 285 & Nick gladly changed the total price without any problem. Where as Astoria’s (the worst thing that happened to me). We booked the hall for min 300 people. Ended up having only 150 people. Yet we still had to pay for 300 people. Which included the chair covers which I am sure Lora did not even have to order.

Chateau Ritz let me set up my own center pieces & actually provided the tools to help make them. Astoria is really strict about that. I ended up paying them extra 200 dollars for just setting up the centerpices. Wish I would have paid that to Rami & gotten better centerpieces.

I strictly reccomend you ladies not to go for Astoria no matter how reasonable the price sounds. They are gonna put on so many ridiculous charges later on & their staff was really rude too. A lot of people complained about how the waitstaff treated them if asked for anything.

In short

Astoria:

1. Gave me problems with setting up the stage. (Rami had to especially go there 2 days before the event & convince them that he was a professional & there won’t be any damage to there building)

2. Wouldn’t change the final count from maybe 300 to at least 250 stating it was a legal contract. Bull crap. My husband ended up giving them more than $3000 extra.

3. Got the wrong chair covers. Didn’t to a thing about it & the hall manager had the guts to call me a story teller on my face. At that point my husband had to intervene.

4. In our contract they were supposed to provide us 3 votive candles on each table. They ended up putting tealight candles which were all crumpled by the time the event was in full bloom.

5. After the initial deposit & booking the place they gave me a lot of crap at different places. I can just keep on writing & writing & the list will go on. All in all avoid Astoria at any cost.

6. Had the most weird policy that no matter how late you start the event anything after 12:00 am You have to pay almost double the charge you are paying per head & that also increases with every hour.

Desi wedings start after 8:00 & go up to 1:30ish. So figure out yourself.

Lone Tree Manor in Niles (had my mehndi there)

Pretty reasonable place to hold your event there. It does have an attatched restaurant which closes at 8:00. So we were fine & had our privacy all night. The owner does not speak fluent english but for what I paid I think I got a good deal & everyone loved it.

Rami’s Mandap (decorator)

1. Almost works with your budget.

2.Has a wide variety of decor styles.

1. Is punctual. He was in the halls all three days before anyone. Did his job. Made sure I checked out the stages & was satisfied & THEN left.

2. I trusted him with his ideas & told him a little bit of what I wanted & I had no worries all three days in the decor department.

3. Although we had decided that I’ll sent him pictures of the haars & gajras I wanted. I was not able to do so & I think he did a pretty decent job on his own. All I had to do was call him & let him know that I wanted x numbers of haar for the bride & groom or x numbers of gajras for the main ladies attending the event.

4. He also volunteered to rent the glass vessels for Walema centerpieces for $5 each which I was buying at Michaels for $12. Also told me about a florist where I could get cheaper flowers.

Parveen Aunty (mehndi artist)

1. Does a bloody brilliant job (mind my language) BUT charges a lot of money (the charges mentioned earlier in the thread are 2 years old)

2. Makes her own mehndi at home which comes out really dark.

3. Also travels to your place depending on time & day but the client has to provide pick & drop services.

4. Only bad thing is she stood me up on my mehndi day at 8:00 in the morning & told me that she won’t be able to do the job. My sister who also does henna profesionally had to really talk to her & convince her that it was too late to say no & I the bride really needed her.

Maliha Khan (Makeup Artist)

1. Very friendly & patiently listens to what you want & discusses the look with you.

2. I do suggest to get a paid trial with her & if possible ask her to do the exact makeup she will be doing on the event. It might make a huge difference in your decision. (my sisters didn’t like my trial makeup at all but I just knew I had to go with Maliha & I am glad I did)

3. I was late on all three days in the hall but Maliha & Lubna Khan waited patiently. Didn’t rush the job & did make me look pretty. (reason I mentioned this is its your wedding. Their is going to be a lot of things that might not go right & the most important thing at that time is an understanding vendor of any sort)

4. They also did party make up for my sisters & mother & it was just right.

Syed Studios (Photographer/Videographer)

1. Professional yet really know how to deal with a desi wedding crowd. I have to give this to Javed that he managed to get good family shots without offending the desi crowd & still getting their pictures right.

2. They do a real good job at potraits. Have their own posses which very kind of unique considering how annoying some bride & groom posses can be.

Do’s

Do let them know what you want them to capture. Whether you want a traditional approach or a journalistic kind. I wish I would have done that. They did a good job at capturing the event but I do wish they had captured 2,3 more things.

Do assign a person who can guide them throughout the event. They asked us to do that & we were not able to. My pictures came out very good but I think if I would have done what they had asked for they might have come out excellent.

Do make sure that you do everything on time & stick to your schedule. At the last moment we decided not to do our downtown shoot on the same day of our wedding. Did it later on a weekday. Ended up being almost an hour late for the shoot & paid $500 extra for the downtown shots. Not to mention the extra I had to pay my makeup artist for getting ready again (she did cut me a slack though)

I don’t really have any dont’s for them. As far as someone mentioned they charge you a lot depending on what hall you book. Bargaining is a word all American desis should know even though they live in a place where fixed prices are common.

We bargained & comparing to other providers in Chicago got a pretty good deal.

Note: They have done a good job in editing the wedding video too. Its not too desified but still has a desi touch. Wouldn’t change a thing about my wedding video except some silly errors of my own.

One thing though is that the dvd cover they gave us is not we had asked for & we do plan to send the dvds back & get it changed. If they give any trouble I’ll be posting it here. All in all good experience.

Food was from Usmania on Mehndi & Shadi. Everyone loved it. There was more than enough food to give to the groom’s side as well as send some to the masjid. Ras Malai did finish on Shadi day but then I heard people went crazy over it & didn’t even touch the other dessert.

They gave us a real good price & tension free food serving. Also the tasting was free of charge at their place.

On Walema the food was from** Gulshan-e-Devon**. It was typical Hydrebadi food & although I myself am not a big fan of Hydrebadi food people loved it more than Usmania so yeah. They were on time & profesionnal about setting up everything.

Below are some pictures to give you guys a better idea of things.

Mehndi Stage

Mehndi Stage close up

Parveen Aunty’s job

Back of my hands

Haar Rami made for Mehndi.

Shadi stage from far

Shadi stage & Aisle

Shadi Flowers in The Aisle

Shadi Stage Closeup

Final color of my Mehndi

Bridal Gajra’s from Rami. Gajras for other ladies were the typical ones with red & white carnations in a thread.

Walema Stage Close up

Walema Stage from far.

Anything I missed feel free to ask.

Always remember if you can whatever you are booking that is the day you are putting down your money. May it be your halls, decorator. Any vendor. If you can finalize as much as you can at that moment. Do that. Don’t go for any person’s “word”. When you are making the first payment people in front of you just wanna cut the deal. They’ll write anything on the contract just to make sure you book them. Once you have booked them making changes or adding anything is not that easy. That includes anything.

A second album from your photographer.
Extra candles or colored napkins in the hall.
Extra appetizer.
More mehndi on your hands.
Even adding extra hours to the events.

Oh & apart everything. If things go wrong. Chill its your wedding. What matters most is you are getting married to the love of your life.

Bint,

Hello,

I'm just wondering how much you paid for each stage? I'm just trying to get an idea about desi decorators as I meet each of them and price them out.

Thanks for your post. It was VERY helpful.

I am glad it was of some help.

I paid $1100 for Mehndi stage & $1800 each for shadi stage with aisle & the walema stage.

does anyone know of Mehwish Khan's work? i hear she's the best in Chicago. she's pricey too i hear. any thoughts?

OMG, the food at Monty's is so bad that I wonder if the Chef has ever tasted desi food.....I wouldn't eat it even if I was paid. Stay away from this hall, it seems like every desi is getting married there!

Do you have any more information about Areeba. I think i have heard of her before but not sure if its the same lady. Also, any sample of her work??

Thanks-

Oh my god.....this is exactly what happened to me...........................I couldn't believe they did that ....same thing i can't believe it....and...we had told them about having 150-230 guests....at the end, they were telling us for the 30 extra people, we will charge $30-35 per head.....we talked with Ido/Edoo; and also we had talked with them about chair covers, Idoo told us $2.50/per chair and a few minutes later he calls back that there was a mistake the chair covers are $4.50/$6.00 with a bow tie.............I was thinking that they did this to just me..and here i am reading this blog 2 months after my wedding.......................................this is so sad, Pakistani/Indian muslims ripping each other off.....terrible........

and the same happened with PaneraYum and Saniyan........what can we do about this..?
....sad and horrifying...

Hi Everyone,

Thank you so much for all your support and honest reviews. We take each and every opinion into consideration to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you to all those who came to support us at the South Asia Carnival 2009.

Why not join us on facebook???

LKMK Makeup | Facebook

**We currently have EID 2009 offer

5% OFF ALL MAKEUP PACKAGES

10% OFF ALL BRIDAL PACKAGES

Offer applies to bookings before 15th Oct 2009.**

LKMK MAKEUP

**Party and Bridal Makeup & Hair from $25 - $250 **

Lubna Khan, trained from Dupilex (Pakistan), MAC Pro & Laura Mercier Makeup artist

Maliha Khan, trained from London School of Fashion (UK), MAC Pro & Ben Nye Makeup artist

For more samples please visit our website at LKMK MAKEUP and our Facebook group LKMK Makeup | Facebook
For urgent inquires please contact us.

773-456-1814

================================================== ===
FOTONIC STUDIO - EVENT AND WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHERS

Official Photographers for Shahrukh Khan South Asian Carnival 2009 - Amitabh’s The Unforgettable Tour 2008 & Summer Beats - Atif Aslam 2008 - Jagjit Singh 2009

We offer competitive Wedding Packages, with Digital Albums, along with the DVD of all your images with Copyright Release* (Terms & Conditions Apply).*

**PLUS **5% DISCOUNT when you quote paklinks *(Conditions Apply). *

Email: [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]

sighhh
wedding preparations on hold until fiance guy gets his visa :( God knows when that will be but I'm praying :-(
And to think I was having so much fun planning everything.
The lehnga's made though, and it's GORGEOUS mashAllah :-)
I guess I'll hit up this thread again in the near future inshAllah, it's good to see some feedback from you gals. Hope everything settles for you guys and that the weddings are perfect inshAllah.
<3