Make up artists in Chicago

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

Ok....
I am finally getting somewhere!
I think I will be booking ashyana for both my events, working out quite reasonable, and I quite liked the hall too, just not over excited about the exterior and the location!

Stage i am still stuck with, is Rami? very expensive?

Flowers I will be booking Anjum Khan, she made me a few center pieces and I was very happy with her designs and the quality along with price!

I had my makeup trial with Maliha Khan, went very well, have booked her for both my Barat and Valima. All her products were MAC and high end, very accomodating, very contemporary look, plus am very picky about hygene so it was good to see clean brushes! and i loveeeeeee her website

Sweetsarapie
Airbrushed makeup on trial pictures doesnt make sense? If your friend had a trial, why would mklk send airbrushed pictures? Would have made sense if it was portfolio pictures to impress before the trial?
I had very bad experience with Saleeha Goddess makeup so can't really comment on that, didn't like her style it seemed very clownish! plus didn't like the atitude! But whatever works for you

Photography worked out just fine too, saw portfolio for Fotonic studios at lkmk, loved their work, they have covered alot of famous concerts so I think i will be booking them within a week or so.

I am still stuck for mehndi venue and some ideas on diy mehndi decor and stage?

Wedding favours? I need very economical ideas and places I can buy stuff from, any ideas?

and My outfit has arrivedddddd! It needs fitting, does anyone know a very very good tailor here in chicago? i don't mind paying but need someone very good?

Bint-e-naeem : do you have contact details for Gulshan e Devon?
and does anyone know any decent video people?

The dude at Salma’s boutique next to Libas is a good tailor from what I’ve heard. And personally I think male tailors are a lot better than female tailors. That’s where I’ll be taking mine if my dress needs alteration.

Are you getting your food from Ashyana?? Will you let us know how it turns out??

For a buck a piece at Party City they’ve got little heart shaped metal type container/boxes. You could put jelly beans or M&M’s in those. They’re really cute. I don’t know if Jelly beans are a good favor, but the heart shaped boxes are great. :slight_smile:

Actually sorry, they’re a $10 for 6 of the metal ones ($1.65 each) and the plastic ones are $12 for 24 (50 cents a piece)

Metal ones:
Party City - Halloween Costumes, Birthday Party Supplies, Party Decorations, Scene Setters, Costumes, Balloons, Halloween Party

Plastic ones:
Party City - Halloween Costumes, Birthday Party Supplies, Party Decorations, Scene Setters, Costumes, Balloons, Halloween Party

Ladies...a caterer Ive come to love and adore is Nuzhat Beig...anyone ever heard of her? She does an amazing job and has catered many family functions of ours. She just built her banquet facility...its called Lazzat in Streamwood. Ive been there several times for one event or another and its always good.

saimah;
i dont think Rami is very expensive. i booked him to do my wedding and walima. i just went to my friends wedding and he did such a beautiful job with her centerpieces.

back to make up, i dont believe that saleha could have attitude with anybody, she was so loving and proper with a great personality.
what happened with you and her? and can u explain the clownish part to me, it doesnt make sense because i LOVED what she did on me. well on the other hand, i love dramatic make up. and she put the colors that i requested on. her hand is so soft and steady, not rough like some other make up artist that i had trials with. but anyhow, i just booked her yesterday for all three events. i know she is going to make me into a Goddes hehe :)

and mklk does photography? they probably air brush them too then hehe i dont like that since it is kind of fooling everybody. i think im going with amna siddique for photography. im making a decision by sunday. waseem quadri- salehas husband does great photgraphy as well, i saw his stuff at my trial with goddes make up. but i need video too.

also, anybody know where i can get pretty wedding favors? any recommendations?

I have booked mklk for both wedding and valima days. I LOVE her technique and find it to be contemporary, but not over the top. I did not have a trial from Saleha, but from what I have seen, her makeup is a little too loud for my taste. Fotonic studios does a wonderful job with photography as well. Their portfolio is very impressive and their style, again, is quite contemporary and professional.

spam

InshAllah I will be booking her photography and makeup for my events as soooooon as I find out about my fiance's visa.
The wedding will inshAllah be next year, I just hope she doesn't get too popular by then to not be able to do it anymore, lol.
:) :) :)
InshAllah your makeup and photography will be wonderful mazhala :) Good luck!

Hi girls,Knows a good beautician in chicago.Her name is Nighat Jamal.Her address is Salon City,Rogers Park Street.And her Ph no is 7738811999.We had avery good experiance with her.Do see her .

Thanks Druggist for the favors information, i will be checking them out today!!

Hena Artist? Someone gave me a contact for a lady called Parvin Saiyed, she had an amazing portfolio but very expensive for my budget, so any other names?

The dude at salma's boutique? Names or any contact info, or directions?

Sweetsarapie
Everyone is here giving their personal opinions only, some have bad experience, some have good, attitude is one thing, Saleeha's makeup was not to my taste thats all, plus I don't like unknown brands of makeup on my face, anyways hope all goes well with your bookings inshAllah :)

For fotonic, well I loved their work, found it very contemporary which is what I am looking for and plus they have a backing of strong portfolio from famous events and celeb portfolio so thats what did it for me! I can say the people who shot Ashwariya Rai shot my wedding! lolzz ;)
unlike alot of desi photographers I have come across, no disrespect to anyone, these are the only people who I have found to be professionaly trained rather be hobby photographers.

Has anyone tried Anapurna? Does anyone know if they cater? Has anyone done catering from them before? I tried their halwa puri (take away) and it was amaziiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing, was thinking of getting that for my mehndi?

The tailor at Salma's, sorry I don't have his name. But it's the store NEXT to Lebas, on the Left side of Lebas when you are looking towards the store.
The store may not have "salma's boutique" written on it, but regardless it's the one on the left when you are looking towards Lebas.
Lebas and Salma boutique (if that's still the name) are on Devon, on the Right side of the street when you are going from Damen towards Western.
It is just before Devon and Western I believe. Could be a block east or a block west of Western though. Just keep an eye on your Right side when you're going down Devon, and for Lebas.
I believe it's just across the street from Sonia selections or whatever.

Can you give me Parvain Syed's number? I need a mehndi lady. If you find anyone else, please share their info as well.
Wedding's next year, but I've got only these two weeks in July to check people and venues out, so any help is appreciated :-)

Hello everyone,
I am actually looking to trade my makeup and hair service for your engagment day for pictures for my website.
How fun is that!! shoot me a message, this deal has to be before july 15 or after july 27, If you know someone who is having engagement pictures taken soon let me know, i will work according your taste.
Check out my profile here for some images.
God bless you
Mia
Mia Aezaz - International Makeup artist and Hairstylist. - About.

spam

Hi people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
im sooooo excited, i booked Saleha abassi - (Goddess makeup) for my wedding and valima in september. She was my first and last trial and it went BEAUTIFULLY! im glad I got to her soon, shes soo booked for september already. so i suggest all u september brides to get this makeup artist business taken care of as soon as possible!! im doing my own for the manja parties . I wud recomend her to everyone!

so, does sombody have a really nice picture of a bridal updo? I am on the hunt for that, she said to bring any pictures and she will recreate it for me :)

other then that I have everything else taken care of thank god!

I called Belvedere, and their rates were really good! Thanks rza36 for mentioning them! Do you know if they have an outside garden area for picture taking??
Belvedere caters from Gaylord and Usmania, and has packages with them...I don't know which place to choose, but the packages are pretty decent!
And I called up Meridian Banquets again and mentioned Belvedere's package, now Meridian is making something similar for me :-) Before they said $40 without the food on Sunday, now they are saying $50 with the food and cake etc. :-)
So now I guess it comes down to which hall is nicer!

Meridian does not have a garden area. Does Belvedere have one??

Speaking of Gardens,
Are any of you taking outdoor pix? Where are you guys going to go for that? Can you go to the Botanical Gardens or to the Morton Arboretum for it? Do you have to make special arrangements or just pay for admission for your bridesmaides/family and photographer??

I think I am incling toward Meridian, now that they are offering a good reasonable deal with the menu, but I really wanted garden pix as well :( :(

Druggist
got your pm but it wont let me reply since I have less than 20 posts
In any case the consultants name is Jodi, she is great! Mention that you were referred to her by Misbahuddin.

Anyone know of someone who rents just the furniture for the stage? Going to be making the mehndi stage ourselves but need the furniture such as the chairs and couch.

Oh wow, didn't see your post, if you don't mind me asking how much did they quote you? I think I have a really good deal considering we know them real well and are having 700 or so people. Let me know how many people you have and what price they are giving you and I can tell you if you can go lower with some tough negotiating.

No I don't mind at all :-)
She quoted $40 on Sunday for 150 guests with the Indian Package from Gaylord or Usmania. It was Jodi I spoke with.
Wow, 700? MashAllah! It's hard for me to think up of even 150 people lol. MashAllah may you have a wonnnnderful wedding :-)

Ok so latest news is I am back to considering Ashyana. It's only 15 min away from the Morton Arboretum for picture taking, and the girl said if we don't like the food we can def. order from Sabri/Usmania. But we are having a taste test nonetheless in case Ashyana's food turns out to be good.
As for the partition, she said it's really one of those walls, it's not like a cloth or anything. Floor to ceiling, Wall to Wall partition. So that seems nice!
I will let you gals know my impressions once I see it. Most of you have booked halls, but perhaps some future bechari larhki visiting this thread may find some help! :-)

So again, what are you gals doing for outdoor pix? I looked into Chicago Botanic Gardens and Morton Arboretum, they require $125 for using their gardens for wedding pix. There's a form online you have to fill out. But I'm sure the pix will be amazing.
Are there anymore gardens around??

$40 sounds like a good deal considering you will be getting everything. I am paying about $9 less than that a person for a Friday night with food and chair covers and some other additional things, but that is probably in direct correlation to the amount of people I am having. I have known people who have had Sunday lunch valima's there for $18-19 a person!
Trust me and please at least go to Gaylord for a tasting. You will be amazed at there service! They brought out so many dishes and were more than willing to bring out anything we wanted! More than I can say for Usmania who expected us to split one veg samosa between 4 people. We had used them in the past as well, let's just say they were not up to normal standards.
Ashyana is also a good bet as well. Morton Arboretum is prob still a good 15 minutes from there. Belvedere is maybe 20 minutes
In the end go with what you feel comfortable with.