Make up artists in Chicago

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

Meshi's work is amaaazing! she did a couple o my friend's makeup and it looked great. too bad i cant afford her. she starts at 500 and goes up to about 600? I thought zaineb was expensive until i found out about meshi's charges. Druggist i think you shouldn go ahead and get a trial with kaayas maybe they were just having a bad day when i went. cuz the thing is i always heard good things about them. i think the lady who does a good jo her name is maria? but she wasnt there when i went so maybe thats why? oh yehh im getting a trial from lubna khan too! im so excited. yay il let you guys know how it went! please remember me in duas everyone. i will do the same :)

p.s: has anyone gotten a trial from sawliha? if so how was it? or any other trials that you guys had? good and bad? let me know! thaanx!

I have been following this thread for a while and i just had to say a few things lol. I am getting married August 2009. As far as makeup goes I trialed with many people. Actually Zainab is the best and yes she has been a little out of it lately but she is doing my wedding in August. Also Kaaya Salon is really good for pre-bridal facials and other prep stuff you need. I had my trial there with maria and she uses all Mac and other products. She is from Iran and she does a really good job.

I wouold highly recommend finding someone who can do all three hair, makeup and jewlery setting. Kaaya you can do it all there, and their salon is very posh and neat. the girls are really friendly.

For stage decorations go to Ravi she is amazing and very friendly lady.

For flowers i went wwith Christine Flowwers, she wworks with your price range and gives you exactly what you want wiwth a little here and there.

Photography is one problem with me, it's so hard to find the right photographer. and good person who makes cakes. who would have thought wwedding cakes could be so damn expensive!!!

Well if you guys need more information letm e know.

thank!

So, who has booked who for the makeup?

no one yet.. and i only have 2 months left!! i still have to schedule a trial with saleha.. ive only had one trial with maliha (who was soo sweet) but im still undecided :P

same here, i had a trial with her, and i'm also undecided..

sweetness gets u no where :S
why are you guys undecided? why not have another and try something different :P?

Chateau Ritz just by it self is charging me $25 per person. This includes the hall rental & their services & also choice of napkin color, & overlays for the table covers.
For cake they recommend three bakeries. Prices start at $2.50 per slice. There is no cake cutting fees if I get my cake from any one of those bakeries. ( I still haven't booked a baker yet but I think I know who I might be going with) Bows for chairs extra $3.50

So basically $31 per person. Do note I booked my whole before the renovation was done. They told me they were going to raise the charges after renovation. Its just beautiful inside. Can't wait to see what changes they have made.

I have booked Maliha Khan/Fotonic for all three days. I would highly recommend the to be brides to check her out. Do make sure that you get a paid trial though coz it makes a huge difference. She is a really sweet person. Clean, professional & courteous. Most of all we connected instantly in terms of what my vision was for all three days. What more can you ask for from a makeup artist. She worked with me in terms of the charges as well as timings & all. Because timing will be really crucial for me on shadi day. I'll be getting ready on my shadi day & then go downtown for my photoshoot. They even offered to stay in the hall till I get back from the shoot to give extra touch ups.
I do feel like my base should be more natural looking but I am sure we have that covered for those days. Other than that. I loved the eye makeup Maliha did on me.
So girls who haven't tried her do so. I am glad she introduced herself on GS.

P.S Some people might think since Fotonic was the one who posted last my reviews might have something to do with it. I just finally got a chance to come on GS. Hense late review.

Hey Bint,

Do you have pics of your trial with Maliha Khan by any chance?

I checked out Kajaf's website. The loveseat looked awesome. Like old antique furniture.
I sent them an email regarding rates. Hopefully they will get back soon!
Has anyone else had any experience with them? Or Dream Occasions?

I'll get back with info from Kajaf if they reply :)

[quote="Bint_e_Naeem"]

I have booked Maliha Khan/Fotonic for all three days. I would highly recommend the to be brides to check her out. Do make sure that you get a paid trial though coz it makes a huge difference. She is a really sweet person. Clean, professional & courteous. Most of all we connected instantly in terms of what my vision was for all three days. What more can you ask for from a makeup artist. She worked with me in terms of the charges as well as timings & all. QUOTE]

i agree Maliha khan has been the best so far. I booked her for both days. If any of you girls still dont have a makeup artist i would definetely give her a try. She has been great in terms of giving advice on how to get yourself ready for your big day. I was having a bunch of skin related issues that I never had and she gave me lots of tips on how to make my skin better.

Also, you guys i would be really careful on who i get as a vendor. One of my vendors actually ended up raising her prices 3x more than what we had initially agreed on. Her name is Um ziad and she is this arab/palestenian lady. At first she seemed like the cutest and sweetest person ever. but she ended up being very unprofessional, wouldnt return my calls, didnt have teh right fabrics and colors and was not gonna use real flowers. and she did all this three weeks before my wedding so it was a total nightmare finding a decorator but alhamdullilah it worked out even better. but please be very careful and make sure you sign contracts with everyone. good luck!!

I actually had a trial with Maliha Khan and it was ok. I wanted a more smokey look but really didnt think it was what I wanted. I did get a trial with Sonia Sandhu and it was great, I ended up booking her for all my events, she was even willing to do my sister and family. Sonia worked with me on timing and since I was on a budget she really helped :)

Anyone ever been to the Meridian wedding hall? Know anything about it? I’m going to check it out in July inshAllah.

.: Meridian Banquet & Conference Center :.](http://www.meridianbanquets.com)

Hi all,
Am new here, so any help would be great!
Just moved to Chicago from Toronto few months back so don't know much about here.
Am getting married on 12th Dec. Have booked Monty's, they have been nice so far.
I have booked Anjum Khan for catering and stage deco, got a really good deal with her, she's been super sweet, very nice lady.
Stuck with few things now, I need a cheap place for Mehndi function, about 100 people, cheap catering too! Any ideas?
Anyone knows any good cake people? am looking for something reasonable and someone who's able to make henna pattern on the cake?
Makeup: I had a trial with Saleeha, that didn't go too well, she said different prices on the phone and different when I met her! Plus she used strange branded makeup and it was all way too heavy and clownish for my liking!And when I gave my feedback she was quite rude!
Have spoken to Maliha Khan for makeup, she was very sweet on phone, have booked a trial with her so lets see. She's also a photographer, working under Fotonic studio, so will check out her photography too, would be great if I can book makeup and photography from one place.
Any other makeup and photography people? reasonably priced?
Any cheap ideas for table centerpieces?

Depending on where you live, can you have your mehndi at the local community center?
My sister is in Lincolnwood and she says they have a decent community center. Since I will only have my relatives at the bharat, I'm thinking of using it. I think it's like 80 bucks an hour or something, but you'll have to arrange for the cleaning and stuff yourself. You could probably hire some people for that for maybe a fify to a hundred bucks a person or so.

I am booking Maliha for makeup and photography as well inshAllah. I haven't had a trial, but I don't think I need one. The wedding is next year anyhow. The pics I've seen of Saleha's makeup are just too bright, but maybe that looks nice on some people. Rabia Sikandar Abbas is another girl on FB who does makeup, you can get a trial from her as well, her makeup seems really nice.

About the cake, so far all of the halls I have called up can provide cakes. Maybe you can give Monty's a picture of a cake with a henna design, and perhaps they can recreate it? I don't see how that could be hard for them...
If you want cake from an outside vendor, try Swedish Bakery. I love their cakes. But they might be a little pricey.

Cheap ideas for center pieces....ahh I still have to look into that myself! But I just might go for whatever generic centerpiece the hall has to give, as long as the stage looks good!

Do you have Monty's phone number? I am checking out the Meridian, but they are kind of expensive. I want to see Monty's as well.
Does Anjum Khan have a website? I need to find someone for the stage....

i almost booked my wedding at monty's...NOTE TO ALL THOSE BOOKING THERE...make sure u get EVERYTHING in writing.. one of the owners is reallyyyy rude (dr. quadri) and talks down to you and he takes back EVERYTHING he says... i would NEVER have it there and i advise everyone to be careful... the desi owners are sooo 'chalaak' and unprofessional! anyway, thankfully i didnt sign a contract there and went and booked at Stonegate instead... yeah its a little bit more expensive but for the kind of service im getting now as opposed to monty's, its DEFINITELY worth it.. i highly advise AGAINST monty's to all my friends/family...its just so popular cuz they're the cheapest but u get noooo service whatsover.. i have quite a few horrible stories from my friends as well that have had their weddings there... i highly recommend against it..save urself the headache!!

anyway, back to makeup, rabia seems pretty good, saleha seems good too, you should be able to work with both of them.. note everyone has their own style.. just tell them exactly what look ur going for and hope they can achieve it... go with whoever ur comfortable with and pray for the best!

i ended up booking a white girl for both days since im going for a more natural look.. but best of luck to ya'll! :P

Yikes! I guess that's one less venue for me to check out! Thanks! Glad you were able to book somewhere else :-)

yes definitely.. i really want to get the word out about monty's.. and honestly i could just be happy that i didnt finalize my contract there and move on but i REALLY want all of u to be aware... its so weird but just last week i finalized my caterer (sabri on Devon) and the owner from there asked where the wedding was and he's like please dont tell me its at monty's.. im like no thankfully its not.. and his response was "shukar hai.. woh bohoth batameez log hain"...even caterers dont like him cuz Mr. quadri (one of the owners) goes in the kitchen and literally STEALS/HIDES trays of food and then tells pple that the food ran out... then the caterers panic and the bride/groom's families panic.. and literally mr.quadri enjoys this... he does this b/c he also gives u the option of catering thru his cook, and when another caterer's food "runs out", he'll come back to u and say "see? i told u that u should've catered thru me... if u would've, the food wouldn't have ran out".... ugh! plus my stage decorator was not too happy when i originally told him i might have it at monty's.. he told me that he got into an argument with mr quadri too because quadri originally told the decorator he could come in early to decorate but then didnt show up at the banquet hall til much later to open the doors.. so the poor decorator had only 2 hrs to do the whole place when he needed more time.. and it ruined his image b/c the pple at the wedding thought he was the one that was late...

horrible horrible man this Mr. quadri...PLEEEASE all of u, do urselves a favor, and DONT book at monty's!!!! im even thinking of creating a facebook group or writing to the better business bureau about them... thats how strongly i feel about this... no one should be treated that way, especially for their WEDDING, something they're already paying thousands of dollars for! ugh makes me sooo mad that he's still screwing over so many pple!

I couldn't agree more!!! Like you, classygal, we were first considering Montys. When we went there to check out the hall, we were treated very rudely. My fiance turned to me and said, 'because of this man, I am not going to have ANY of my events held here.' That's so weird, classygal, because I booked my wedding at Stonegate too!!! When are you getting married? Mine's in July (17th to be exact). The hospitality at Stonegate is COMPLETELY different from Montys. They are SO much more helpful and kinder. And there are plenty of other places in the area that would do a much better job. Yes, they may be a tad bit more expensive, but at least you wont have to worry about missing food trays or poor attitude. Dr. Quadri needs to stick to his day job. His actions have left a bad taste in many peoples' mouths

mine is july 25th :)

can u believe that just this morning, one of my friends who DID get stuck booking at monty's (she cant afford to lose her $1000 deposit) just called me upset cuz she booked thru an outside caterer and her wedding is in 2 weeks @ montys and dr quadri just called last night and told her that since shes catering thru someone else, he won't supply the drinks for her.. when they had talked before, he told her she could have an open bar with no restrictions, but of course she trusted him, didnt put that little fact in writing, and dr quadri took his words back so now she has to worry about buying coke bottles on her own and keeping pitchers at the table! another added cost! bechari.. i feel so bad for her! arghhh.. my anger continues... a Muslim to do this much "baymaani" with his Muslim brothers/sisters? horrible.