Make up artists in Chicago

Hi everyone,
Hope all your preps are going well and no one is running around like headless chickens! :p

LK Makeup is currently offering free bridal makeup trials plus 20% when you quote paklinks.

Lubna Khan, trained from Dupilex (Pakistan), MAC & Laura Mercier Makeup artist
Maliha Khan, trained from London School of Fashion (UK), MAC Makeup artist

773-456-1814

20% off ALL Photography packages for a limited time only, quote paklinks

fotonicstudio.com (Wedding Photographers)
[email protected]

Salam Everyone,

Hope everyone is okay, Thanks for the info fotonic and chester. Fotonic have you seen lubna khan's work or did you try it yet or seen any pictures by her. There was another lady her name was Mona Raja and i have seen her advertisement in the newspaper saying that she has been trained by dupilux(pakistan) by famous artists i think mussarat someone and she was saying that she can do any kinda makeup like photography bridal party anything, and guess what when i called her and i asked her about her work pictures, to be honest with you that was nothing like dupilux at all. I didnt like her work since i have seen dupilux work and those makeup artists work, but i really want to see lubna khan's work too since she is saying the same thing.
Anyone has tried lubna khan's work please let me know.

Hi Kiran,

Lubna did my barat and valima makeup! The images are on my member's profile. If you email [email protected] you can get more sample images, or better yet book a free trial.

Lubna Khan and Mussarat Misbah (owner of Dupilex) are actually cuzns! Lubna back in time used to have a very well known designer lable in lahore by the name of Lumieres (designed for Jamima Khan and many other renowned names) and worked with Dupilex on all their joint ventures.

I am a photographer (fotonicstudio.com) and makeup artist myself, trained from London School of Fashion (Maliha Khan) and work with her.

Alot of times the sample images people show are so highly airbrushed that when they do the real makeup it doesnt look anything close! Maybe thats what happend with Mona Raja? I haven't seen her work as yet so can't comment, you have any images from her to forward in an email?

If you are looking for party makeup or a funky bridal thn maybe contact Saleeha? She's fairly new in the feild but very colorful and brilliant at what she does.

Hope all this helps!

xx

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this message, so please forgive me if you feel this is an inappropriate posting.

I have a photography business in Chicagoland and I would like to take the wedding part of my business in the direction to focusing on SouthAsian weddings. The problem is that my portfolio is sorely lacking in this area.

I'm wondering if there is anyone out there who can help me?

In exchange for allowing me to use your wedding pictures for marketing my business, I am offering...
---FREE photography services on the wedding day (2 photographers)
---FREE DVD slideshow of all the pictures (not print resolution)

Additionally, I will discount the prices of prints, full-res CD of images, albums, etc.

If you email me or call, I can give you my website URL address (GupShup wouldn't allow me to post the URL here because I'm a new member). [email protected]

If you know anyone planning a wedding would be interested in this type of arrangement, please pass along my information.

Thanks,
Dana
owner, LifePix Photography

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

ClassyGal: Just sent u the HSY pics, they're dark but hope they help! :)

Kiran: I talked to Maliha on the phone...and she was very helpful and friendly....and I booked a trial with her this Thursday, the one thing I really like was the way she talked, it was very friendly and welcoming! :)

So, do check them out!

Hi!

I didn't know they were cousins!!! I absolutely love Mussarat Misbah's personality....I saw her entire interview on "Geo Hina ke saath." She's such a strong woman and a good role model after all what she has been through in life. Her makeup is just amazing!!!

Maliha, can't wait to come for my trial :D :D

btw,how can I see the makeup pics?!

thank u Mehwish! i cant check them from work cuz i dont have facebook access..but ill def check them out when i get home!

ok but im confused..

Maria from Kaaya salon did the HSY fasion show correct? and who is Maliha Khan? I mean.. where is her contact info? the post above gives both lubna and maliha's names but only lubna's contact info...

ive contacted lubna and got a quick response from her where she asked me a few ?'s.. i emailed her back and now theres no response :( oh well, we'll see... i guess the less trials i schedule, the less confused ill be at the end! thanks for ur help guys!

Hello Brides,

My name is Rajul and I am a Mehendi, Hair and Makeup artist.I have moved from Toronto last year.Please have a look at my work on mehendibyrajul.com.I have been trained at George Brown in Toronto.I use MAC cosmetics.I give complimentary Makeup trials.Feel free to Email me.

Salam everyone.
Thanks fotonic for the info, yes i do have images from mona raja, if you give me your email id i will forward it to you. How should i see lubna khans images in your profile, please let me know. Any one have a number for maliha khan and lubna khan please let me know and if you have any images can you share it with me please. I will be very thankful to you. Thanks

kiran, i dont have maliha's info either.. im looking for that as well.. but i do have some pics that lubna emailed me.. u should try e-mailing her as well at the above email address provided for her.. she sent me the pics within a day but now i cant get a hold of her again :( if u dont wish to contact her, give me ur email addy and fwd u the pics..

Thanks alot classyGal, My email address is [EMAIL="[email protected]"][email protected], Kindly send me her work pictures on this. I think MehwishM has Maliha information or fotonic. . Anyone knows Maliha khan's number and where she located at? Please let us know. Thanks

just sent u the pics kiran :)

and i just noticed that lubna and maliha work together.. the e-mail i recv'd from them had this signature:

Best
Maliha Khan / Lubna Khan
773-456-1814

let me know if u end up talking to them!

Thanks alot classygal for sending me those pictures, hmmm thats strange so who does the makeup, did you talk to them, i mean are they sisters and do you know where they located? Plus did you talk to Maliha or did you talk to lubna. Let me see if ill be able to talk to them. Thanks once again for the pictures.

Hi guys,
A huge sorry to all of you, I am having real bad issues with my internet connection at home so therefore haven't been so quick with any replies. Just sending this quick msg from my husband's phone :p

If any of you need to be in contact in a hurry please call me on 773-456-1814

And just to quickly clear..I am Maliha, Lubna is my mother-in-law :P We both do makeup, just different styles.

We also offer wedding photography, which is under Fotonic Studio, that is myself and my brother. He's a trained photographer from here, I used to be a Photographer in London, teaching in university and freelancing.

Our trials are free at the moment, with 20% discount if you are coming through paklinks.

--
LK Makeup
Lubna Khan, trained from Dupilex (Pakistan), MAC & Laura Mercier Makeup artist
Maliha Khan, trained from London School of Fashion (UK), MAC Makeup artist

773-456-1814

Sponsors

fotonicstudio.com (Wedding Photography)
lumieres.biz (Design Services)

Hi Fotonic,
Good to know that you are maliha, no problem we were waiting for your reply and here you go, you did answer all of our questions. One last question fotonic, as you said that lubna and yourself work together its just the style is different, then do we have a option to choose that whose style we like and want them to do our makeup or we have no option for that.

Did you talk to Rami yet for the decorations? He can work with your budget & you can def. get hooked up if its 2 days or three days.
As far as Syed's are concerned. Bargain Chester. The quoted me $7000 for what I wanted but we got them down to $5000 without skipping anything & actually added more things. See the discount ratio? So bargain :)

Walai kum assalam & welcome :) Congrats for your engagement. If you want a female photographer there is Amna Siddiqui, Arzoo & Syed Studio also has a female photographer. There is Mili (a little pricy though) There is another photographer Sadaf Syed who is a Hijabi herself. But she only does Bridal potraits.If you are interested let me know & i'll get you her contact info.

Ameen & welcome janab. Didn't know we had that many Chicago Brides getting married this year. First of all thanks for the info. you posted & congrats.
For Mehndi backdrop ideas. Go through some threads over here. You can even open a new thread & get guppies guide you. We have some really creative ladies over here.
For Arabic style Henna there is a lady Parveen. Ira & Atr already posted her info. here once. I'll post everything again as well. You can call her.
For hairstyle guidance open a thread. That's the best idea I can give you.
Food, Usmania Rocks for me. I don't know about you.
Hope that helps a little bit :)

Thanks from everyone Chicagohelper for the wishes as well as the input you gave us about Syed, Zareen Chaudhry & Dream Occasions. I am sure this will def. help some of us brides.

I bet you are the most favorite Guppan on the wedding forum :)

Fotonic all I say is I have emailed you :)

So I went trough the thread again & organized all the information we have so far regarding makeup artists, henna artists, photographers/videographers, & decorators. Here it goes…

Mehndi Artists in Chicago

1. Parvin Saiyed 773-465-2895 Specializes in Arabic designs & makes her own Mehndi. Charges $100 for bridal, $60 for party mehndi & $6 for non bridal mehndi done a little below the wrist.

2. Bibya Salon’s Zara specializes in Indian style mehndi.

3. Huda Siddiqui 630-523-hena (4362) [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] who also happens to be my sister specializes in Indian & Arabic designs. Also travels for an extra charge.

Makeup Artists in Chicago

1. Shumaila -MAC- 77 Old Orchard Shopping Center, Skokie, Il 60077 847.677.2121

2. Anjum (847) 909- 9425 email id [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] Charges $125 for bridal make up (doesn’t do dupatta setting or up do) Travel Charge $25

3. Deplux’s owner Zubaida (773)381-3880 Charges $150-$200 for bridal makeup (including dupatta setting & up do). Also travels for a charge.

4. Glamour’s Shaheen (not recommended at all)

5. Saleha Login | Facebook Charges $150-$200 for bridal makeup (including dupatta setting & up do). Party Makeup $50. Travel Charge – No charge if function is in the greater Chicago area. Trial charges – two Guppans were quoted different charges that is $50 & $75

6. Makeupforu by Sara Search Names: makeup4u by sara | Facebook Charges- Refer to the group

7. Zainub 630-561-1172. (Is a little hard to get hold of)

8. Zareen Chaudhry MAKEUP ARTIST ON THE RISE!!! | Facebook Charges around $150 for Bridal make up (including dupatta setting & up do) Trial charges $25

9. Kaaya’s Maria in Oak Brook 630-279-0200 Charges $250-$300 for bridal make up (including dupatta setting , up do & traveling to your place) Their work includes making up the models in the recent bridal show done by HSY, Karma & Nomi Ansari.

10. Mehwish Khan Mehwish Khan - Make-up Artist Charges around $500 for bridal makeup (including dupatta setting & up do). Only takes selected clients & might require you to come to her place.

11. Arab makeup artist recommended by lil ash. Quotes $200 but is negotiable.

12. Mona Raja 847-830-7427 Trained by Ather Shahzad and Mussarat Misbah in Pakistan.

13. Lubna Khan [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] 847-997-9767 Charges $100-$250. Trial charges $25 or free depending on the package you get.

14. Fotonic Maliha Khan (Lubna’s daughter in law) is also a makeup artist. 773-456-1814

15. Bina for hair/makeup/dupatta $125 Contact MehwishM for details.

16. Rabia mentioned by VivaGlam

17. Rajul www.mehendibyrajul.com Mehndi, Hair & makeup artist. Gives complimentary make up trial

Photographers/Videographers in Chicago

1. Syed Studio Syed?s Studio, Inc. A lot of Guppies & Guppans have gotten their weddings covered from them.

2. Memories in Motion’s Mili Ghosh: www.memoinmotion.com. Best Desi photographer in Chicago but a little pricey.

3. Amna Siddiqui www.amnasphotography.com comes highly recommended by Bonbonniere.

4. Arzoo Abbas 630-205-5839 They’re a father/daughter team, do a good job and have reasonable rates.

5. Zeerum ZEERUM.COM couple of Guppans have gotten their weddings covered by them

6. Murad Studio || MURAD STUDIO ||](http://www.muradstudio.com/) (Not recommended at all. Stay away from them at any cost)

7. Pyari Se’s cousin Murad Toor 708-921-2801 Login | Facebook

8. Fotonic studio [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] 773-456-1814

9. Unique photo unique photography studios inc

10. Studio seven’s Ghulam 630-968-2330

11. LifePix Photography’s Dana [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]

Decorations
1. Rami Welcome to Rami’s Mandap Prices start at $600

2.Amer Amer Design Studio Prices start at $1800

1. Sheeba 847-217-5596 stage decorations/centerpieces/flowers

2. Arab lady (contact MehwishM for details) stages start at $550 & go up

3. Anjum Khan AKA Angie 630-469-5568 also owns a flower shop. Prices start at $500
    Additional decorators that I know just by names for now**
    Dream Occasions, Alankar Creations, Bandhan Rentals, Ravi’s Wedding Decorations, Shaadi Creations, Kajaf Event Design Studio, Sprinkles, Professional party planners, Sonray events

omg Bint_e_Naeem thank you so much for organizing all that info! It is so much easier now.
Yes i bargained with him and he quoted us the same and we bought him down to $5000 too, but have to pay for hote for 4 nights as that is what he wanted. So at the end i was like fine. I learned if you don't bargain you are gonna get screwed big time. Thank god for my mom otherwise i would be in so much trouble.

And I hadn't contacted Rami yet because i thought he was just as expensive as Amer. But I will contact him now just to see what he says. Thanks so much again :p

No problem Chester. There were so many new brides showing up & so I thought I'll just make it easier for everyone of us.
Why do they want you to pay for 4 days? What are your event dates? Also keep in mind one person you want to keep happy on your big day besides the other many is your photographer/videographer. They are going to capture every memory & make it beautiful & you want them to be happy that day & be as accommodating as you can with them. Just make sure they do the same & do the best job they can for you.

Rami's work start at $600 & can go as high as $3000. It all depends on what you want. Good thing about him is he can break down everything for you & will let you know what to keep & what to skip so it works with your budget. Since you have more than one event than you can tell him your price range for all days. He'll ask you what day is the most important one among the two or three & will work a design according to that. Hope that helps :)