Make up artists in Chicago

Acha wooo stage..hmm..ya I went back to Amer's website yest. and browsed thru it...& felt like a lot of his stages were similar to Rami's...

Found out ke actually Amer gets some of his supplies from Rami (quotinng my fiance here who was quoting Rami).

And bargaining meine nahi karni na, thas the problemo..karni unho ne hai :P Guys sometimes...seriously...

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

Khair, we've decided to also check out a bunch of other decorators now..in case if anyone else is interested, these are some of the few:

Alankar Creations

Bandhan Rentals

Ravi's Wedding Decorations

Dream Occasions

Shaadi Creations

Kajaf Event Design Studio

That many in Chicago. I didn't know that. I understand men avoid bargaining. I don't blame them. Look around then & make sure your fiance checks all his options & then make a decision. Good luck Larki :)

Hi all,

I just joined yesterday and I love all the info I'm getting from you girls! I'm having my Walima in Chicago in October, IA, and am trying to set myself up with a makeup artist. I see most of you are getting married earlier than I am so I hope to take from your experiences. Any chance you all could post pics of trials you go on?

Mehwish, would I be able to get a look at the pics from HSY show?

welcome to GS Kasusa3 and congrats on your wedding :)

Welcome to the forum Kasusa3!

Yes, I have all the pics on my fb....if you would like to see it give me ur email address and i'll tell you my fb

Hi everyone,

I'm about to have a breakdown....Seriously, everything is way too much.....i mean, seriously what is wrong with ppl! First, **Saleha **tells me yes go ahead come and pick a date, and I hesitated due to her $75 for a TRIAL...which, everyone agrees is way too much...so, I dropped the idea....now i'm not too sure did i do the right thing?

Zareen on the other hand has been very prompt at replying and I actually set up a date with her this month for a trial $25 (not bad)

Now, Can someone please give me Kaaya's number so I can contact them....Because I have this one lady who works at the salon who never answers her cell phone/home phone.

And, I still don't have a stage decorator....I talked to Rami, his stage starts at $700+
There is this one (arab lady) whom I talked to her stage starts at $550+ and She doesn't have a website but sent me a few pics and I liked them, I may go to her place and check her albums out and I have a feeling that she may bargain?

Now, Video/Photography: Syed's booked. Talked to "Unique Photos" gave me a quote of $1750 (2 1/2 hours of video/unlimited 5 X 7's and 12 pics in digital albums...I have to look at his work again thorougly, check it out its uniquephoto net
i've not decided i'm still looking around, so Help please.......:(

Cake: we just gove that figured out, and hopefully it will be just fine...

I'm at the edge of breaking down, I have tears in my eyes........

^^
I know this bakery for yummy cakes on devon. The name is Levinson’s…I think they do wedding cakes as well. Check them out. Also check Swedish bakery, it’s really good but pricey!
http://www.yelp.com/biz_photos/1U319-gYOJvhSMPqgkEG3w?select=L0BGNbT_q4YkdZn6WHlvwg

Mehwish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dont worry dear,

Okay, first of all...of the two...Zareen and Saleha...the latter seems to be more experienced. However, WHY is she quoting you $75??????????? She told me $50 for a trial and I just saw her at the Dulhania Bazaar! Call her again and talk to her...see if she can work with you. Here is an idea...maybe if you like her...you can ask her to credit you $50 towards your wedding day make up? IF things go well, thats something you can talk to her about...say you're working on a budget but really want her. Is there anyone you know that is also getting married? Sometimes for a double deal, these people work on their prices with you. Thats what I did with my banquet hall...took another friend there who is getting married and walked out with an insane deal. Worry not, there are a lot of make up artists in Chicago and good ones too. Give me a moment to look for Kaaya's number.

Sheeba is rumored to be good with decorations and Ill post her # here for you: 847.217.5596 and there is also Anjum Khan who does flowers and decorations...she has her own flower shop too: 630.469.5568. I havent had much luck with either of them but thats because Ive been really really sick. Anjum goes by Angie and usually replies pretty quickly to messages or calls. Sheeba replied once and since then I havent heard from her. Ill call her again today.

Mehwish, breathe! Go for a manicure or something...take care of yourself. This day is about you and if you dont look after YOU then who will? Its alright...let us know what you need help with, okay?

Much love

BonBon

Thank You BonBon,

You're right, I need to talk to her openly and tell her to either fix her price or I'll just go with someone else. You do know what I mean because all these makeup trials are hectic, calling/emailing/setting a date and then, driving there for over an hour.....

And, I will call sheeba/Anjum and see how it goes. I don't mind spending the money, but it needs to be worth it.

You're also right, I need to look after myself.....everyone is telling me to relax and take it easy everything will work out, but here I am (just like you and other girls) stressed. But, I really need to take it easy....regardless. And, InshALLAH things will work out great with all these people from makeup to decor's/photography.

Who do u have for pics/video?

Thanx so much for your support...I appreciate it ....:)

Thanx CorruptAngel for the cake info, but I have picked one already :)

Hi And Salam Everyone,

I have just joined this forum and found very helpful, specially for those who have no idea about makeup artists. I live in chicago but still dont know any good makeup artists. First of all Congrats to all girs who are going to get married soon. Actually myself was going to look for a good makeup artist but it is not for bridal its just for a party makeup. Last review which i have read was about Mona Raja someone wrote about her work. I have called her and i do have her work pictures, if anyone is intrested i can send it to them but honestly i didnt like her work. Secondly Saleha i have seen her work, i really love her party makeup but honestly i didnt like her bridal makeup. I've asked her to send me some bridal pictures which she did. If anyone wants me to send those pictures. I can send you. Now left others like Shumaila, Anjum, Kaaya so i dont know about their work. If you guys have any pictures of their work kindly let me know.
MehwishM you are asking about video/photography so let me tell you Syed's Studio is the best in Chicago i think. He has made our wedding and first anniversary albums and video. He was really good but he is kinda expensive. Yesterday i went to another photographer/videographer, name of the studio is Studio Seven. That guy was very nice person and his office was well organized, they recently opened their office in january and i have seen his work. Let me tell you it was awsome i mean i really like his work, if you are intrested or anyone i can give you the number. Please do let me know if you guys need any help. I will be very happy to help you.

Welcom Kiran!

Thank You so much for your offer to help, and I am sure we can all use some!

Can u send me the pictures that saleha sent u (bridal)?
I so far don't have pictures from Shumaila, Anjum, or Kaaya.
Syed Studio's no doubt is the best, but they are already booked for the date I was looking for :(
So, Studio Seven is good I see from your comments, can you send me their number as well?
Thank You so much!

Hi Mehwish!

Yes sure why not, i will send you her bridal pictures but where should i send it to you, i dont have your email address. Studio Seven number is 630-968-2330. Try to call them today but they are closed on mondays i think and their hours are 12pm:7:00pm but see if someone will pick it up. I think the guy name is Ghulam something he is an old man and his sons work for him so he deals with everyone. Mehwish if you go at their website you will say no way because when i looked at their website there was only 5 or 6 pictures which i said it not that good but when i went in person i really like their work. So i will suggust go in person and check out their work. Even this old man is very nice and you can negociate with him. i think their wedding package starts from 799 and if you book your appointment before march 31st you will get free full 1080p hd dvd video of your event. So i will suggent go and check it out before march 31st and if you like it then book it so you will get it for free. Make sure you negociate with him when you meet him in person.

Walai kum assalam & welcome to the clan Kiran & thanks for posting more info. Can you post the studio seven website address?

Mehwish its been three days since you posted that message. I am sure you must be feeling better now. The whole wedding preparation can be very hectic. Just don't forget to take care of your own self. If anything. Go to your room. Take a deep breath & read Ayat ul Kursi you'll instantly feel better :) Since Syed is already booked for that day did you try Zeerum? Also Bonbon mentioned Amna Siddiqui. Call her as well maybe?

Tell the muas to work with you. Its not like only we need them. They'll be getting money for it as well. Ask them to be more reasonable. Kaaya's number is in the thread somewhere. Call them & see what they say. Don't worry. InshaAllah things will work out fine.

ok so talked to syed on the phone. told him we wanted to come this saturday and talk to him. my wedding and valima are in indy on friday and sunday so he said he will have to stay on saturday, i told him that is fine.

for those of you that have booked syed:
- does he bargain?
- how much should i expect to pay?

i just want to be prepared before i go in there
also i want to make some appointments with some other video/photo ppl. I know amna is way more expensive than syed. But i really like her style. Is there someone else with similar style as that?

Kiran: Thank You so much for the information, I will call them for sure and make an appointment to go see them and bargain :D the info. you provided is very helpful. And, I am taking your word for it Kiran :D (my email: [EMAIL="[email protected]"][email protected]

Bint-e-Naeem: I am doing much better Bint-e-Naeem......You're right, I need to relax and inshallah by Allah's Grace everything will be fine....:D I contacted Amna and she said i can make an appointment and come in to see her work, she does Custom Packages...So, I am hoping Either her/Studio Seven work. If not, then I have other video ppl, but, Since Kiran said that Studio Seven has great work, I am taking her word for it!!!

Oh, and I found this other lady named "bina" she does makeup, and guess how much she charges? for hair/makeup/dupatta $125. I saw her work and thought it was very nice and clean....anyone wants to see it? email me your address!

Ok i need some names of decorators!
i know you guys have posted some but i honestly dont want to spend alot of money on stage decorations. Someone who is decent but on the cheaper side... plus do you think if we hire for 2 days they will give me a better deal?

what is zareen's facebook group? i'd like to see some of her pictures and work

its MAKEUP ARTIST ON THE RISE!!!

it has to be typed in all caps in search

let me post a link after my 25 posts