Make up artists in Chicago

Haan tou that makes a lot of sense. And it is very true that his prices are much cheaper than Dream Occasions..and according to my fiance, his work is really good too.

I guess we (as in my fiance and I) were comparing him to Rami, in which case dono ki prices are almost the same...and Rami is very well established/popular in Chicago, so I was just expecting that Amer's prices will be a little lower.

But I guess nowadays just a decent stage setup averages about $1200-1500. I mean there are cheaper services out there for sure, but the nicer ones ka yehi standard hai.

BBLaila! :hug:

Saaaaaaaaaaame thing happened to me. I finally sent an email 2 days ago to her saying I need to know if she is still going to be covering my event or not. June is peak wedding season and I dont want to run aroud to look for someone last minute, it will cause me too much head ache.

She replied right away - this was two days ago - saying she has had a family crisis and has not been available due to that. She will get in touch with me in the next few days.

So, I thought I’d share that with you! Email her and tell her you need to know if she is still going to cover that day or not.

You know, its a wedding. Not just a party and you're the bride. So, not only do you have to worry about your own makeup but a million other huge and small details. Inlaws, catering, clothes, out of town guests, invitations being sent out on time, mehndi functions, decorations, etc etc etc. Not to mention the stress of knowing you're about to marry someone and your life is just about to take a drastic turn. It isnt stressful enough? We also have to worry about our makeup artist and hang on every word she writes because it may be her last?

Biggest issue with our desi business community: poor customer service skills. If you dont want to do business with me, then say it. Im booked, dont like you (btw, we're not under any pressure to like each other...you're there to make money and Im there to benefit from your services), cant do it, against my morals, etc. Anything! But dont leave the person hanging, wondering if you can find it in your heart to reply to a friendly message.

It just bothers me because Zareen replied almost a MONTH after my initial email.

I also suspect I know why.

I understand your frustration yaar..I am going through the same crap...I mean seriously, most of these MUA artists and all have dealt with brides before...some of them have been brides themselves...can't they understand what we're going through? Is it so hard to be prompt and efficient?

FYI..I received an e-mail from Amna, conincidence.....???

haha…are u having chai or offering it ? :wink: Coz I sure cud use some :smiley:

Lol. Just watching you girls & gaining more knowledge on Desi people :D
Waisay I don't know about other decorators but dude I know Rami def. works with client's price range so I don't know what is he doing quoting $1500 & all.

I call it the "jitna faida utha sakte ho utha lo" tactic ;)

Oh hayyyyellllll noo. The ghadda smiley. Kinda cute. Lol.
I was not expecting that from Rami. But then again desis are desis at the end of the day. Laila contact Rami & tell him that our friend recommended you guys & she said that your stage start at $500 & go up. So what's the deal?

heyyy guyssss so I was jus going through the newspaper and saw advertisement by dis makeup artist mona raja . it said shes trained by ather shahzad and mussarat misbah. here's her number if u guys wana give her a shot 1847-830-7427. :)

Re: Make up artists in Chicago?

Lil_ash…you’re adorable…always so helpful!

Thank you!

:hug:

awwww ur more adorable! I jus hope ur big day goes perfect :)

Hi guys,
New here, was going through the forums, here's some photography and makeup info, both based in Chicago. hope it helps. xx

for photography
Fotonic studio
[email protected]
more images and album viewing by appointment
contact number 773-456-1814

for makeup
Lubna Khan
[EMAIL="[email protected]"][email protected]
contact number 847-997-9767
prices start from $100-$250
trials are either $25 or free depending on ur package
portfolio viewing on appointment

Alright guys, so just some updates on Amer.

My fiance and I absolutely looooooooooooooooved his work. His stages are very versatile and chic. He has a website, but it is very hard to navigate...I mean it's just not well designed and opens with a lot of errors...just google amer design and you'll find it...

His prices are quite high as well...but I think it's sort of worth it..based on your budget and all. We are not going with him though because sadly our dates are taken :(

actually, here you are with amer’s website:

Amer Design Studio

Bon bon, app ka sheeba ke saath kuch bana? How was her work in terms of stages and all? Any info would be helpful :slight_smile:

I am going with Syed Studio for photo/video btw! Thx to Bint’s advice, I am very content with their work, customer service and the final price they offered us wasn’t that bad either. So Yaay :slight_smile:

Thanks for the info. Fotonic. Oh & Thanks to Lil Ash as well :)

Mabrook Janab. At least one thing is out of your way now.

Saw Amer's website. Nice work. If you are saying they were working with your price range then too bad they are not available for your date. The only thing scary is that I saw two stages that I have seen at Rami's too. I am thinking who copied who.

HAW?:O You did BINT?? Kon se?? I hope wo na ho jo mujhey pasand they :D Mujhe zaroor batana, becoz Rami is honestly my next option...

In fact, Rami would have been my first option, had he not quoted extremely high prices to us..for example..u know that mehndi stage he has online on his website..the one with the green and golden dupattas (i bel. it's mu2) for like $1800!! And my fiance wuz like whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat :O

Oh, and nahi yaar, I never said he wuz working with our price range :wink: He too quoted us $1500 as starting price, but my fiance was just very impressed with his work so we sort of had our heart set on this one stage…hadn’t even started negotiating yet ke date hi chali gayee :smiley:

Now I just have to start dreaming of walking on to another stage :hypo:

On Amer's website when you start clicking on the stages its number 9 with Maroon & rusty gold back drop & flowers.

As for Rami's price. $1800 for that. What the heck. Bargain woman bargain. He quoted me a fifferent price for something like this waisay.