love/arranged marriage

Re: love/arranged marriage

I have no problems with cheap weddings as long as people feed me when I am invited.

totally agree :slight_smile:

u dont need to go around showing off the size of ur rock (which i dont have as yet) to prove someones love.. or ur love for them… thats just plain materialism or watever..

mine was semi arranged.. kind of. I actually dont even know what it is myself.. but watever the case, its awesome Alhamdulillah..

Size of the rock is meaningless. Any rich sleezy guy can buy you one.

Its the size of his heart and commitment that makes love and marriages work.

^ yes... the only mature response (besides Ira's)

<----------Majnun ki layla :blush:

Man whats wrong with being totally in love with each other and having a rock on your finger and a awsome wedding? You can have it all, I know I do!

I don't think there is wrong with those things, but rather the thinking that a nice wedding ensures marital bliss or a big rock is a measure of his love for you is very wrong...

I dont think so, I dont think along those lines at all, but if you have them why not right?

I dont have a rock either :blush:
His bhabi brought a desi style ring and i dont wear it becuz first its not from “him” directly, adn second bec its not really an engagement ring per western standards. :rolleyes: But it doest bother me, since i am committed to him through my heart and not by a ring.

Majestic: If you can have it all, i say go for it!!! But i think what most ppl are trying to highlight is the fact that the size of a diamond doesnt ensure the amount of happiness what you will get from him. :slight_smile:

^ I know, but you know me I love attention :D

lol, what chick doesnt? :smiley: He told me he would get me a ring from where he is at (germany) of his choice. What else could i want?

aww thats sweet of her to do that :slight_smile: haah yeah it means so much more if they do it huh…? even if its a $10 ring.. it’ll matter heaps more.

Its nice to wear a ring and go “hey im engaged”, but really… that soo doesnt matter at all.. and im sure u know what i mean :wink:

yes sadzz, i know what you mean…

but i wonder how guys go, i got engaged? I know he just tells his friends , but he keeps telling me maybe he should wear a sign that says SOLD OUT! :blush:

hes not gonna wear a ring Ira??

haha I meant I want the attention on this forum :smiley:

Sadzz, the actual mangni was here in the US without him. Can you belive that?? I got him a ring but havent mailed it to him since i dont want to risk it getting lost in the mail. But its just a formality i think. I have never seen any guy wear an engagement ring here or in pak. Wedding bands are a diff story though.

Majestic: See, i dont like attention unless its from you-know-who. Even at the engagment, i was sooo embarassed of everyone staring and taking pics etc. That was wierd. Dont even get me started on that one.

^ eww i hate unwanted attention, thats why i never had an ameen, or a huge bday party (well besides my 1st bday, and anything my parents planned)

i think itd be cute to have a desi backyard wedding, with relatives and good friends, but supposedly some ppl get pissed if they dont get invited to the wedding, cus sadly i dont want my cousin's aunt from the other side of her family there, especially if i have never met them.

Ira .... i have seen people showing attitude ..... but i have yet to see sumone **using **attitude. Yes, this comment iz abt ur sig. :D

messin

[off-topic]

im petrified of attention too :bummer:

ours was just a baat pakki thing too.. we havent actually had all that formality stuff yet too, but it doesnt bother me.. i mean i cant wait for it to happen (minus all the attention and stuff .. yikes!)

neither of us wear a ring as yet

Sadzz, rings ko maro goli yaar. And i guess you cant get rid of the attention thingy. Just enjoy the day yaar. Me and him were really missing each other that day. Atleast i had both families around me, he didnt have anyone :frowning: But the day of the mangni he told me that no matter where i am, i shouldnt feel he isnt there, since he will always be looking out for me InshaAllah. So that made me feel better and still does when i think abt his words.

Sorry for getting sidetracked, but yeah enjoy your day, let everything else go!! Trust me, all the mehandi, friends over, all the smiles etc are so much fun. :blush: