Looking Sexy in Hijab

we are talking about the hijab here,,, ye makeup kahan say aa gaya. I disagreed with ur hijab comment and we were discussing hijab,,, uptil now, where uve got makeup out of nowhere. and no i,m not tlaking about the original thread,,, but our disussion.

ai hai kaka jee uve totally confused my poor lil head... lemme re-read what u said...

ok, i thought u were talking about makeup, not hijab.. and i think thats how i came up with that comment...

jawab milgaya? sorry baba!!

i thought we were both talking about makeup, not hijab.. hence the confusion

now bow down and touch my feet! :snooty:

astagfurlah!!

i personally think women in hijab are sexy, just because u dont know whats behind the hijab..it could be anything...

okay fine im just gonna leave this topic now

*Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
no one wears a hijab cos they reckon guys would love it. .

I know a girl/girls that wear hijab because they think a particular guy likes it. Do you think its wrong to do that?

I think people need to reconsider if they think a girl cannot feel sexy when wearing a hijab. A girl most definately can. Makeup can also add to this feeling, as any other "accessory" can. I would like to know if you (as in guppies) find this objectionable, if at all.

Wearing makeup has an effect on every girl that wears it, because there is always a reason for wearing makeup, whatever that may be.

*Originally posted by Munni: *

I know a girl/girls that wear hijab because they think a particular guy likes it. Do you think its wrong to do that?

I think people need to reconsider if they think a girl cannot feel sexy when wearing a hijab. A girl most definately can. Makeup can also add to this feeling, as any other "accessory" can. I would like to know if you (as in guppies) find this objectionable, if at all.

Wearing makeup has an effect on every girl that wears it, because there is always a reason for wearing makeup, whatever that may be.

I am no one to comment if its right or wrong, but i,m definitely surprised that a girl would wear a hijab only cos a guy likes it and not cos Allah likes it.

and someone feeling sexy or comfortable in a hijab and being a muslim guy and branding someone in a hijab as sexy(because of the hijab) are two totally different things. i know girls who love their hijab and feel great in it, (they look great in it too). I think its a great thing to feel good about urself or the way u dress, but i wouldnt like to think that other men see em as sex objects. I admire em for their interest in their religion and their personality and well, maybe the overall package. NOT cos i find hijab sexy.

waisay on second thought girls might look sexy in a weird way if she's wearing hijab and nothing else

But I think some girls dont wear makeup just to attract guys and getting attention frm em ...some wear makeup to feel good ,it depends on ur intentions .

stange things do happen mister kaka jee… there are several reasons why one would start waering a hijab or grow a beard… and yes, u do get a few who dont really have a valid reason

mate, feeling comfortable and feeling sexy about wearing a hijab are themselves two very very different things… :halo:

Sadzzz n KAB :smack2: lol

*Originally posted by lussi: *
waisay on second thought girls might look sexy in a weird way if she's wearing hijab and nothing else

u and ur kinky fantasies! :p

This question has so many intricacies weaved into it that whatever i say, someone will have a counterargument so ill leave it to that Personally, i do belive its between a person wearing the hijab n Allah But i cant be hypocritical n say yea i absolutely believe that ( i want too) but yea i might think girls who wear a hijab n do tons fo makeup or just makeup to look better are kind of defeating the purpose of hijab. But then again makeup isnt the only thing, because some might try to make up for the hijab by wearin super fitted clothes. Their reason might be for making themselves feel better by knowing they look presentable or jsut to egt the attention of a cute guy or a girl ;), it realllllllly is between them n ALLAH. And those who wear a hijab, Kudos to them, cuz sumthin is better than nuthing.

*Originally posted by suroor_ca02: *

u and ur kinky fantasies! :p
sur app itnay arsay baad nazar aaye hain...mujhe nafal parhnay chahye

Interesting replies thus far.

For the guppie girls, I'd really like to know their viewpoint as if they themselves are wearing hijab(hypothetically if not currently) and deciding about whether makeup and what amount of makeup is appropriate. And for the guppie guys, from the viewpoint that their wife would do this, and the reaction to it.

One thing I have heard girls mention in the past is that they wear makeup to hide skin blemishes. And at the same time they say they only do it for themselves, only wear the makeup for themselves. I have a question regarding this. What made you decide that you needed to cover your blemishes? Was it you yourself, or did it come from the fact that others said something, or looked at you in a certain way, or you feel people will find it gross or what is it? Have you seen television ads and magazines with girls with no blemishes and you feel you are not beautiful unless you cover them up due to societal pressure? The fact that most of us dont see our faces but rather others do, why would it bother you that you have a blemish? Is it not because of "other people" (at some level) that you wish to cover it up with makeup? Children can have scars all over their faces and they dont usually care. It's when others point it out to them and they get alienated that they start to notice, and then become more withdrawn. Anyway, this is going off-topic but was somewhat related to the topic, which is why I mentioned this. Feel free to comment on this as well. I meant no offense by posting this. Thanks.

enforcing additional constraints motivated by what you percieve as >>defeating the spirit, etc etc is Bidah.

^cant agree more :k: some ppl here just keep on opening threads on this again n again.

Hey

Great topic waise. I just want to quote two ayats from the Quran. I dont remember right now which verse they are from but if need be Ill post that there in this post by editing later. Right now you can either take my word from it or ask that I look them up

The first Ayat on modesty/hijaab says:
And say to the believing men to lower their gaze and guard their modesty

The second Ayat:
And say to the believing women to lower their gaze and guard their modesty

I am not certain at the moment but I am pretty certain that in the second ayat it was also mentioned to cover the chest. Since Im not sure I am writing it here and not up there.

Sigh I wrote such a long post but it got deleted by mistake. So Im starting again with somewhat scattered thoughts.

I do not do Hijaab myself. I admire those who do very much. Hijab is a commitment. A pact. And it requires a lot of strength to make that commitment or pact. Therefore I salute those who do. If someone does hijaab for the purpose of looking attractive/sexy to the opposite sex, then anyone can figure out how sawabdeh that would be. But if someone is doing hijaab for the intention of pleasing Allah and trying to comply to His wishes, I believe that she is in the right whether she puts on twenty pounds of makeup underneath. That is between her and her God. And I am very sure that it will be rewarded.

Makeup under hijaab. Addressing that, I myself dont do makeup either. But makeup is as much a buttress for self image than a tool to look attractive to men. I know days when I wake up in the morning and look in the mirror. And if I don't like what I see I am saddened. We human beings, people of both sexes, measure selfworth on some level with looks as well as other things. We are fallible creatures. We wish to look presentable, even attractive to others, be they men or women. All of us want to.

I believe that Islam is very flexible. It is as stated by the Holy Prophet(saw) 'The best of all religions'. It is so I believe because it gives us a lot of leeway in all aspects of life with a few groundrules. There is nothing wrong with looking good in hijaab. Hijaab is a statement. It states that the girl is modest and she wishes that she be looked upon with modesty and respect. I believe that all who don hijaab with good intentions intend for this message to be sent out. And mashallah, I know for sure that when I don my dobatta whenever I am in some place where there are a lot of strangers who can see me, my heart is shrouded from fear of those eyes, because those eyes aren't the same anymore.

Some people might put on makeup to look attractive. Some might put it on to hide bad skin as mentioned before. The point is that makeup bolsters self image. And self image and self respect is promoted in Islam. What does taking care of your personal hygiene and all that do for you? Why was it stressed on? Besides not getting ill and whatnot, I believe very strongly that it was for the purpose of selfimage. People cannot respect you unless you feel worthy of respect. And looks on a certain level do make you feel worthy or less worthy.

I do not think there is anything wrong with makeup when you are doing hijaab. Of anyone who claims there is and it is defeating the purpose of hijaab I ask:
what is the purpose of hijaab?

I know that even though I do not do it that when I don that dobatta around me, be it that I'm wearing modest shalwar kameez or I'm heavily bedecked in jewels and makeup and going to a wedding, when I don that dobatta I feel a sense of security. And that feeling comes only because that God given protection is there. By donning the 'Hijaab', I am safe from anyone's bad thoughts. Why? Because it is clearly stated that I'm modest and I do not wish to be looked on that way. Hijaab is not bound by makeup or not, by scents or chamcham payal. Hijab is a statement. A statement which which I feel is clearly heard and seen by all. And all have always maintained a respectable distance.

It is within us how we each perceive Islam. It is within us how we carry it out. We should not attack those who are following the path of righteousness on their conscience. This topic was close to my heart though I do not do hijaab strictly, but I hate to see motivations questioned of people who do. I do not wish to offend anyone by my views. You are most welcome to give a rebuttal. I am just stating what I feel

^I agree.

and I,m all for women with hijab looking after themselves...
now if ur wearing skin tight clothes where u hardly leave anything to imagination,,, that in my eyes is defeating the purpose of hijab, a nice moderate makeup to look nice n elegent definitely doesnt defeat any purposes......

Salaams bros n sisters, I'm new here so I don't know many people but this thread sounds really interesting. I started wearing a hijaab about a month ago. I had been thinking about it for a long time and it was a gradual process from dressing modestly like wearing loose clothes not to reveal my figure, not wearing short sleeves and low necks, to the end of covering my head.

Anyway now I wear I hijaab but i still wear western clothes. I still love to shop and buy the things I used to buy when i didnt wear a hijaab. I still wear make up, i like to experiment with different colours etc, i like fashion, and i still get the urge to spend money on designer accesories like shoes bags, tops, skirts and my current obsession with jackets. Its all about my fashion sense.

Just because I dont show my body to ghair-mehram it doesnt mean I have to dress like a tramp. If I do dress smart, and good it makes me feel confident. I wear make up, not lots but some, i like to experiment with it but it does not in any way mean i do it to attract boys or make myself stand out to get attracted.

More and more women who are ecducated and have fashion sense wear hijaab and also compliment it with smart clothes and a little bit of make up. I'd rather wear some make up with hijaab, than show my body off and wear none. Modesty not only comes from within,actually the first part of modesty is your appearance as Allah swt has ordered us to cover our aura we 'have' to do it. Not make lame excuses and delude ourselves that we can still be as modest as ALLAH wants us to be without wearing one.
Jazak ALLAH.

Its never been an issue for me to think about,,,sometimes i wear makeup n somtimes i dont..
I dont wear it for people, but just myself, its just me..

*Originally posted by Munni: *

yes it is. if you wear it to please other than Allah then its wrong..
it actually is hidden shirk..