long distance marriage

Re: long distance marriage

Firstly I never said never. I just said no, and that she hasnt done enough to save this marriage. She crossed lines too, and she didnt change her behaviour. She is being very resistant to change and compromise. Im tired of people nowadays treating marriage like a game, things get tougher than tough, you get out? bus??? I mean, please. Some respect to the sanctiment of the bond.

@stoppit I can understand what you are saying abt flirting with other women and ignorng you, but you deal with it. Not the way shes going about it.

Secondly she isnt doing anything to remedy her faults. If she does give him space it is because she is forced to and that too in tears and jerks rather than willingly. She doesnt give him space, he TAKES it. That is how that is going so far. She needs to be consistent in her behaviour like @hareem01 said in another thread. A branch that doesnt bend, breaks. And thats whats happening with her. She keeps trying to change him and check him and restrain him. She is exhausting herself in the process and driving her parents and the people around her batty too. She needs to BACK off. Let the situation cool. And then see where the chips fall.

I agree sometimes divorce can be a solution but not until you try everything else.

I am not breathing down his neck. I have a full time job and I never call him everyday minute of everyday. If anything, I used to be clingy before marriage and he was always there for me then. After marriage all he has been getting is space. The last space I gave him was a month, and willingly without a fight. I was waiting for him to call me but he never did. When I finally gave in one day and called him he told me that he missed me but he never once messaged or called.

My dad has contacted a lawyer in Pakistan. He thinks separation is the best solution though my mom still continuously says that he's a good guy. My mom told me again this morning that I wi regret it. 'shaadi bhi apni marzi say ki thi ab khatam bhi apni marzi say karo'. I think i was still in it because I kept thinking maybe one day things will be like they used to be before marriage and we will be happy. But from where I stand, things continue to get worse. We are going to send him the papers and I will not call him in the meantime. If he still has anything left for me he can try and save our marriage because I am done trying.

Please just pray for me. I feel like I am going through the worst phase of my life and I am really losing all my strength.

be strong inshAllah things will be better

Yes SN..be strong. Insha'allah..it is very tough for anybody to be in your situation. May Allah give you strenght always..

why dnt u come 2 pakistan and try to sort it out for one last time but face to face. i think yr marriage deserve that much effort!

i really feel bad for you and i know all this must be real hard on you but just keep the faith and iA you'll be fine.

this.... ^^ .. very good points RV

Demesne... yes nikkah is a commitment... but do you realize its the commitment made by TWO?

.... if he is flirting around and had been caught then why should she leave him alone for a while OR (give him* a space*??). .. she has a RIGHT to question him..... she is his WIFE .....
what exactly she has Not done so far??..... because he is a man thats why he deserve 3rd or 4th for 5th chance and until then she is destained to compromise.....?

since we dont know other half (your husband's part) of the story so the solution will be inconclusive.

but if someone is making you cry its better to reconsider your relationship with them. guy is not a keeper (at least not for you)

"Please just pray for me. I feel like I am going through the worst phase of my life and I am really losing all my strength."

May God give you strength to get through this tough phase in your life.

^ Ameen.

Sure I do realise that. But you control your own actions. Not someone else's.
I am in a nikah. I honor my commitment. Im not advising something I dont practice. It is just how I feel about it. I have my sympathies with the OP and am posting to the best of my ability, the best advice for her situation.

^ Your advice being 'work at this marriage/give him space indefinitely because it's a sacred bond. It's irrelevant that this relationship means little to your husband, the important thing is you made a commitment so honor it.'

To quote Stoppit, just because she made a mistake doesn't mean she has to live with it forever. Others' bewilderment is understandable as your first response to the OP's story was reflexive, misplaced criticism. Instead of reacting to the cyber sex - the big fat elephant in the room, the red flag that could've saved the OP in time had she not recklessly dismissed it - you suggest the cheating husband changes his passwords and not divulge them to the OP. (Really?)

In any case, how exactly does one "deal" with a husband living a double facebook life, serially flirting, not contacting his wife for weeks on end, carrying on with women who "don't know" he's married? More importantly, why should she at this point? Justifying this guy's behavior by citing the OP's 'neediness, suspicion, inflexibility' amounts to enabling a warped mindset in a woman already racked with boundary and self-esteem issues. A man with class doesn't behave like this, period. What's more, had he been genuinely into her, he simply wouldn't be interested in sex talk with another woman.

It's bizarre how some people expect wives to raise their husbands. What exactly do we hope to teach an adult male who's cheated on his girlfriend before marriage and is now cheating on her after marriage. If anything, THIS, not divorce, amounts to disrespect of the institution - setting such pathetically low standards of behavior for, and expectations of men. Remember, if you've been granted greater rights over the weaker sex, you better have an impeccable character and the mental maturity to accompany that privilege and responsibility.

OP : Sounds like a green card job. Even if it's not, you've got enough good reasons for calling it quits. God/the Universe/Nature/your own instincts were warning you when he cheated on you before marriage. Your mistake was going back to him. Life's hitting you on the head again with a sledgehammer trying to tell you something. Get out before you get pregnant. Along with your parents, Mirch, Stoppit and RV have already given you sound advice.

My sister went through a similar situation and she did the same mistake as you did. They got married, however, she has no expectations from him anymore. He is still careless about her and once a cheater is always a cheater. I am sure how hurtful and challenging this emotional trauma is for you but there might be someone better for you. Atleast, you will be more focused on yourself and living a happy life without him. Its hard to gain trust again, you will be shakki forever because he has hurt you alot. It is hard to break a relation and he is definitely not worth suffering for. He does not love you! You were a goal to accomplish before marriage and he succeeded.

The heart is a fertile ground - you will reap what you sow.
Love or hatred equally apply

I stand firm on the Nikah stance. People who are married should have better advice for you IMO than people who arent going through the experience of all the effort this bond requires.

You did make a mistake. Rectifying it does not mean necessarily to start over completely by erasing him from your life. This can work. Trials of fire are put before us all.

I don't think he is worth it.

If your husband is of sound character, class, hardworking, honest and then your marriage gets tested...I support the sacred bond of marriage all the way. But if your husband takes away your peace of mind, makes you insecure, possesses bad character and does nothing on his part to make it work...I don't.

Demesne, taali do haat se bajti hai. She cannot fight this alone. If you have both people admitting there is a problem, apologizing and working to mend their ways...you have yourself a workable scenario. However, if you ONE person trying their best and the other just antagonizes them...you have yourself suffering. And since when is marriage about suffering to convince the other of your worth? Why does our culture define marriage as this punishment for women? Since when does Islam encourage this? It doesn't.

Divorce is the least likable in Allah swt's eyes of the things he has allowed. That does not mean he has forbidden it. It means he gives you the right to be happy. So when He gives you life, gives you the right to be happy but you keep going back to a man that makes you unhappy...exactly how much qadr do you have for the blessings He has given you? For the work your parents put in to raise you, their desire to see you happy, etc?

All that work and they don't even get to see a content son/daughter. What a waste.

To the OP...it upsets me when I see girls think they can't leave a marriage because of their fear of being alone. What is wrong with being alone? Being independent, strong, paying your own bills, standing on your own too feet? Marriage is a blessing...with the right person.

Being alone is much better than living your life in regret and wishing you had done things differently every single day.

Spare her the platitudes about fertile hearts and trials of fire. You have the luxury of reciting hollow poetry, she's the one actually married to a serial cheater.

Word.

I don't understand how anyone can tell her to bear this.

Something about birds of a feather flock together. If you get what I mean.

No wonder.