Old souls like **TLK bhai , Mostar95 bahi , ATA , AQ **and my all other lovely Karachiites should remember that Karachi had a revolving restaurant many moons ago but for reasons unbeknownst to any of us or atleast myself, it was shut down around a decade ago.
But in 2007…. Pakistan became the 42nd country in the world to have a revolving restaurant. Since its inauguration, Karachiites have been going in hordes to check out this wonder. I am still waiting for my lucky moon….
Sitting on the 16th floor of the Ceaser Tower on main Shahra-e-Faisal, the view from the top is magical. At night you can truly see the city of lights in its full glory (Agar Bijli arahee hovi tu :pcg:).
Sitting on your chair you can get a 360 degree view of the Karachi within 45 minutes flat.
Another buffet style yoke and so the environment is Lal Qila-esque and the quality of food is almost equal too … if you are Chinese food-aholic … do try Chinese delicacies.
The prices comes out to be same about other buffet style outlets but the variety on the buffet menu is worth the empty pocket ….
However. Those who suffer from motion sickness or are easily prone to nausea are advised not to visit.
Nope I m just a young entrepreneur looking for financiers…
for what ? for me own food bij’niss ….
So would ya like to put some eggs in me basket
well Entries are made in the name of the city I miss in bits .. what if I cant live there , I gonna die there for sure ….
**As faiz shaab said **
*Gar aj tuj se Judah hai tu Kaal baham hooN gay
Yea char din ki Judaaiii tu koi baaaT nahii
*Hai Aj OOaj pay Tala-e-Raqeeb tu kiaa
Yea char din ki Khuda’ii tu koi BaaT nahii
So next time when you feel like having Chinese, and by chance you happen to be around Tariq Road, try** Kowloon** .
Directions:If you are entering main Tariq Road from Bahadurabad , just go straight and turn left from the first signal, you will find Kowloon on your left, just after Silver spoon… remind me to write something on sliver spoon .. bhoy Kebab rolls]
Anyway back to the topic
Kowloon is an old Chinese restaurant, been around more then fifteen years or more.. After Yuan Tung , I say this place serves the best Chinese food in Karachi and its been reported that nothing besides the pricing in the menu has changed in so many years.
what to eat ….. order** Crab corn soup** which is just perfect it is comes with lots of crab meat, well-done, fresh and not a single trace of shells.
Besides the yummiest soup, Prawns in hot sauce are one of their specialty and bhoy tastes even better with prawn fried rice.
Ya may also try their **Chicken in ginger sauce, sweet and sour chicken and beef with chillies **
The place is beautifully decorated in rich Chinese cultural theme, with paintings and lanterns in red, dim lights and Chinese style chairs.
The seating arrangement is great but if you want a table instantly you have to be at the place before 20:30……..
How to get there :Hollywood Grill is a restaurant quite prominently located on Sea View opposite McDonald’s and right next to D-Mart. Couldn’t be simpler then that . Ya just cant miss it ….
It is located on the first floor literally on top of D-Mart. There is ample location in the restaurant to seat over a 100 guests and the ambiance classy with good music.
Menu : The menu is interesting to read as all the dishes are named after a Hollywood Movie or one of its megastars, anywhere from Angelina Jolie to Brad Pitt you could scrumptiously enjoy.
Angelina jolie :hinna: my mouth is already watering by thoughts of …
Steaks are around Rs 800 - Rs 1100 while burgers hovered around an average Rs. 500.
The spacious seating is decorated with number of paintings , Ya may see a brilliant image of Johnny Depp right in front of u while munching the fries ..
Hollywood Grill is the creation of Manzar Riaz .. The fella behind the success of the Pizza Hut franchise in Pakistan….
Last but not the least …the overall rating, people have rated Hollywood Grill quite close to the likes of** Cafe Flo & Okra** on food, On the steak issue … Hollywood Grill beats Okra and Flo hands down - **try it ma Karachiites **
For the fellas living around central Karachi area , the name Karachi Broast holds few childhood memories , well atleast for me it sure does ….
Going to my khalaa’s house near Nazimabad eid-Gah meant we lads going to Karachi Broast and feeding our hungry bellies after a tiring cricket match …..
In me heart , I still have memories of enjoying the fine culinary delights of broasted Chicken dipped in Raita and Karachi Broast’s special chili sauce…….
And for washing down the chilli sauce ya need excessive quantities of pepsi. Don’t ya ? so here we go …
The yoke .. Karachi Broast has many branches , all over the Karachi now ..
But I have to say, the oldest branch, the one at Rizvia Society in Nazimabad serves the best fried chicken or what we call Chicken broast in the Karachiite slang ...
Even though you have to sit on the sidewalk/foothpath ; even though you have to enjoy the fumes of 7c buses with the food; even though you have to kick the occasional cat away from your feet; the thing worth every single penny….
*When the sun is about to set * And The breeze makes your hair fly in a hundred directions when the smell of freshly made popcorn and baked challis mingles with the salt in the air when the sound of the waves crashing onto the land makes your heart whisper softly
life is beautiful, you know you’re at home, and The home is Karachi :hinna:
More tales and reviews are on the way mates … stay tuned … as karachi aint just good for sea food …
Interestingly Spock proudly mentioned two of these: Fresco and Haleem Ghar - both of them are Karachi based!
Fresco that I am referring to isnt Karachi based, the one in Karach is a bakery, the one I am talking about is a mithai shop, and they were there before partition. And yes, Haleem Ghar is Karachi based, and I never said they werent, I just dont base my opinion on whether a place is close to my heart or not, if they make something good, I acknowledge that, and yes, in the twin cities they have the best biryani.
Meray bhai karachi may Burns Road pur Fresco nam ki mithai shop hia!
Re: List of Good Restaurants in Karachi, Lahore and other Pak Cities
During my two years stay during 1990-1992, I happened to attend few wedding dinners in Islamabad and Rawalpindi. Frankly speaking the food there was far below the standard of the food that is served at Karachi weddings!
I would again say here that some 25 years ago, it used to be a very bad thing to dine outside in Karachi. I hardly remember my abboo and amma ever dinned outside. In fact, during my childhood, my amma even considered bad to buy roties from hotel and resturants.
I also lived in London in 2004 and 2005. I had freinds there from all parts of Pakistan - Gujranwala, Lahore, Sheikhupora, Peshawar and some Afghans, Somalies, Italian and English! I often used to cook for them - biryani, haleem, nihari, payees, stew, qorma, karahi, pulao etc! May barki nahee mar raha, pur wo sub meray khano kay bohat shuqeen thay! Esp that hunky musclar chap from Gujranwala - Nagi!
By theway here in MN, I visited a desi botique owned a family from karachi and the name of the of the botique was Indian Palace. Oh and we have only two botiques in our city, 1 indian and 1 pakistani but sadly the family went for an indian name.
So if the name is lahore, it still represents Pakistan not India.
Oh bhai aik to Pakistan kay nam ka hona chayee! Aik bhi nahee hia!
yar theres only one that I can think of named after lahore, in Leicester, lahori karahi I think and everyone knows its a Pakistani restaurant. Naming it that way is a smart business move, as I would be a little more sure of what kind of food, and what kind of rep that area has, before I walk in.
ahhhhhhhhhhhh to [EMAIL="h@#$"]h%#$ wid da above fight am in LOV wid the bun kebab from a thela in zenab market i have just returned from karachiiii and am still drooling over the food over there the thing is the food over there is not only good but cheap too even in the fine resturants....had a fabulous SHOWERMA PLATTER from defence-khadda market.....papri chaat from defence....yummmmmm......and again the awsome bun kebab paratha roll wid garlic mayo from zamzama....chinese platter from time out (forum) nandosssssss etc etc loved em all
I was in Tooting, SW London and there were at least four resturants named after Lahore in just two square miles. And none of the resturants displays that it serves Pakistani food!
Well, all I can say is, those people are smart, the name Lahore is associated with good food, so thats why they pick such names, nothing to do with patriotism, just a smart business move I guess, for they know better. Honestly, im not too fond of the desi restaurants abroad.