List of Good Restaurants in Karachi, Lahore and other Pak Cities

You missed the food street at Hussainabad and Burns Road!

Re: List of Good Restaurants in Karachi, Lahore and other Pak Cities

^^ oh yeah i did :(

oh and how could i forget to mention student biryani their fish was good though am not a big fan of fish

AQ! Have you ever eaten those daal kay seekh aur shami kababs and phulkies which they sell on thellas at Burns Road and Liaqatabad?

And there are loads of Qulfi walas at Gharibadabad! Those are the yummiest qulfies on earth.

And you know United King of Karimabad and Bahdurabad! Their sweets are also very yummy! Especailly their rus malai, rus gulla, qeemay wala samosa!

100 of times:D

you are talking about mooNg kee daal .. right :D?

by the way, back in mid 50's, the first ever bunn kabaab theLaa in karachi used to be infront of Fresco bakery near sewaakun hostil...

my father tells me he was the innovator of mixing egg in kebaab in a way that it makes the size three times....

the tradition started from him and spread in the whole city... and beyond...

Yes indeed! During my childhood there was a shami kebab and partha seller in our mohallah! That was they yummiest shami kebab and paratha on earth!

The best Gola Kabaab can be found in Ancholi near Shahrah-e-Pakistan... The aroma in the area is so damn good... man! I always used to end up buying it whever visited that place :D

Yes he is the pioneer for that. Now there are two shops - the one you mentioned and the other one is at Paksitan Chowk - during office hours, there is a load of people coming over there for eating those bun kebabs!

Food from different parts of Pakistan at their best:

Peshawar and NWFP:

Chapli kababs
Afghani pulao
Dam Pukth
Namkeen gosht
Karahi
lal lobia kay chat

Quetta and Balouchistan:

Karahi
Sajji
Tea on charcoal
Parathas

Lahore and Punjab

Charga
karahi
Balti gosht
Paya
Dhahi ballay
Qulchay
Aloo bhukara chutni
lassi
Furit chat

Karachi and Sindh

Nihari
Biryani - many varieties - Bombay, sindhi, delhi, hyderabadi, memoni etc
Qorma
Haleem
Rabri - Hyderabad
Sajji - Tando Adam
Gola kababs
Bihari Kababs
Paya (at homes)
Shami kababs
Hyderabadi kunna

^^ mera isloo kis mai aiga :( isloo has alllllllll desi and continental yum

I think Isloo is a multicultural city - people from almost all parts of the country live there and thus share the taste of all parts of Pakistan - just like Karachi.

yes indeed ...............

Oooh i went there last year with hubby and saas. We were looking for food street but we didnt know that itwas only open at night :( so we went to croweaters, the first place we saw. we liked it. it was a little expensive though.

I have now been living in Karachi for a year and have eaten out a lot in the last year (making up for years spent in UK). The food here is great and most people eat out at least once a week so I don't know what the "Karachi old timers" are talking about. Recently my cousin who has recently been a student in Lahore UET came over and acknowledged that Karachi is better than Lahore for eating out.

My favourites:

CHATKHARAY (Khadda Market, Defence) - snacks
Al-Habib (Super Highway) - Traditional BBQ etc
BBQ Tonite (Clifton) - can't believe no one has mentioned it, got to be the busiest restaurant in Pakistan.
Creek Inn (Defence) - recently closed , best Patthan food ever!
Cafe Flo (Clifton) - really good European food (with a selection of wine, if you are into it)
Hyderi's (SMCHS) - best icecream
Pie in the sky (MACHS) - best bakery (cakes etc)
Rehmat-e-shireen (Tariq Road) - best mithai
Delhi sweets (Shahrae Faisal) - close 2nd on mithai front.

K this is a thread i opened a while back…

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=210591

In short, u got reviews of Mirchi, Nando’s, Copper Kettle, and uhh alot more.

:smack: never though that I would have to move 43 posts from a thread in this forum

Tum log bhi na …

Great thread and I agree with most of the entries about places in Islamabad/Pindi and at Karachi. I lack the Lahore exposure, and am very keen to experience it . The reviews and recomendations here shall be useful! :k:

Spock and others with Islamabad awareness, yaar do you remember good old ‘Heaven’ in Super Market? It’s gone… :frowning: any news when why what?

oh yeah! that was like back in 1986 when it opened in Super Market! Good one haris! That was prolly the first pizza shop I can recall, I know it was there till 1991 atleast, after that it closed down due to stiff competition from papasallis!