List of Good Restaurants in Karachi, Lahore and other Pak Cities

cafe zouk is still here not as popular as it use be as the hype has died down but ya i like it only for ice-cream/coffee :smiley: i dont know abt china town…!?! neva even heard of it…

Acha, so can i recommend a cafe too? :blush: no its not mine or nor am i responsible for its advertising lol but its my favorite spot.

Masooms Cafe @ M.M Alam Road- though i must say their service/quality has gone poor now but i love their coffee, cakes, pasteries, everything! And above all i think their ambience the best though its pretty small but aesthetically done.

This is what I’m used to AQ:

are these the same trees that are causing Asthma in Islamabad I heard?

by the way, I was comparing my posted pic with the Jeddah comment :-p

No, those were artifically planted to induce snowfall, these are natural and indigenous.

Jeddah and Karachi looked very similar to me, Ive been to Jeddah in 1995 and 1999.

Re: List of Good Restaurants in Karachi, Lahore and other Pak Cities

That’s Okay but I was dumbfounded to learn that the only good food in Karachi is Sea food :smiley:

Spock yaar, please, discriminiate equally :snooty:

Whenever I visit Pakistan, mainly Lahore I tend to say away from these hip cafe shafe. I mean come on you are in Pakistan eat some desi food. During my last visit I was invited to Freddy's for dinner and I think it was crazy expansive with poor quality of food. Also one time in pizza hut we were invited (I dont know why people go there) I was so pissed when the server gave me a small plate for salad bar and expect me to mix the garden salad and vinaigrette with cream salad and the fruit salad and pile it high on my plate coz only one trip to salad bar is allowed. I was like at least provide two plates but the staff said it is like that.I asked to speak with the manager but he wasnt available. I mean its rediciouls.
I like chiness though. The Shechawn in Gulberg has the best house special soup, not expensive and enough for 3 people. Baba Sharif in cavelary has best kabab. He is an old guy with a small cart like grill and no seating so either you take out or eat in ur car yummmm. Chanda howa kulcha and chanas in breakfast and chatt from mini market gulberg or liberty market.
More of my favs later.

^ Alot of people cant stay away because they tend not to eat non-zabiya abroad and when they go back, they can enjoy the same stuff offered in Zabiya. I even know this one guy, who loves to go and eat KFC in Pakistan just because the chicken tastes MUCH better.

Shechawn in Gulberg, I heard about their soup too! Btw, a long time ago there used to be this really nice bakery in Gulberg I think, it was called Shezan's, is it still there?

Also, another place to check out in the twin cities is Rahat Bakers, they are just amazing!

AQ, nariyal khaana ho ga tu karachi challey jayen gey! hehe

Papeeta, cheeko, sharifa bhi karachi may hi acchay miltay hain Pakistan may!

^ Aq is very kanjoos, itni cheezain nahee khareedey ga :hehe:

inn sub cheezoN kaY darakht hamaaraY apnaY ghar maiN hotaY thaY, we did not need to buy :snooty:

200 cheekoos on average per tree in a season were good enough I guess and sharifa was always put under aataY kaa kanastar…

now as for food places from Karachi, it’s been years that I have been to the city so things might have changed but famous places were:

• Dastageer maiN Javed ki Nihari
  • Samanabad ki Mazedar Haleem
  • Sadar maiN Chohdry Rehmat Ali Qulfi Merchant
  • Sewaakun hostil kay bunn kabaab
  • Burns Road kee mashoor-e-zamaana Fresco Bakery
  • Sadar maiN GhaseeTa khan kaa haleem
  • Bundu khan kay PaRaaThay aur Gola kabaab
  • Gulberg **Cafe Piyala **kee chai
  • Student Biryaani
  • University Road kee Sajji
  • Dhora ji kaa golaa ganda
  • Mehmood sweets, waterpump kee miThaa
  • Ayoob sweet mart, gulber kee miThaai
  • Disco bakery Gulshan-e-Iqbal kee miThaai
  • Haji Mehfooz Sheermal and Taftaan House kaY sheermaal aur taaftaan
  • Khan Broasts and Burgers in Nasirabad
  • Gemini Ice Cream in Baloch Colony
  • **Shaheen Complex **ka chinese food
  • Ancholi kaa Chicken Tikka
  • Gulistan-e-Johar kee Finger Fish
  • **ManoRa kee machli **:wink:
  • Sindhi Muslim Hotel
  • Boat Basin,** Zamzama **
  • Don’t forget Chaarpai Hotel on Super Highway just at the border of karachi :wink:

let’s see if anyone else can recall anything more… :yawn: The list does not even start …

Lucky you are! Sharifay kay kya baad hia AQ!

Have you ever tried "Dilpasand" mithai in front of Radio Pakistan. I think that is the one of the best mithai shops in Pakistan!

ChaRpai hotel have now developed into very good resturants here - Al Habib and Al Makka (too many of them)!

My pic for mithai from Rawalpindi, though nothing beats gujranwala and lahore in this...

Fresco Sweets Rawalpindi for general sweets (all types)
Rasheed Sweets (Barfi)
Jameel (Kulfi)
Grato ki Jalaibi (theres 4-5 next to each other but only one of them is authentic)

Karachi Halwa

Karachi ka Sohan Halwa

Karachi kaa Habshi Halwa

No match :dhimpak:

The Rolls at Hot & Spicy :hayaa: I didn’t know so many different combinations were even possible… Gosh all of the food at that place is amazing!

Well** HOT & SPICY** is another good addition to chain of Karachi restaurants …

Located on main** khayaban-e-shamsheer**… hot and spicy is a famous breakfast spot for most of the people around…especially students…

I have been told that their rolls are totally yummy and addictive.The variety of flavours is endless…

Ya can enjoy anything from ā€˜chicken cheese’ to ā€˜garlic mayo’ to ā€˜malai chatni’ to what not roll. ( urgh ā€˜what not’ such a desi term i hate )

The yoke is usually jam-packed with people of all ages

As its opened till pretty in the night which is an another plus point.

frm karachi .....
went to National Highway yesterday ...
in front of steel town there are few resturant ........ there karhaee in kali mirch has unique taste ......
well i've spend 5 yrs in steel town .... n ate tht karhai almost every week ....... so was missing tht special taste

Copper Kettle at Gulshan-e-Iqbal. (why Gulshan wali branch … coz i live near that yoke damnit )

Anyway … hmmm the place is located between** National Stadium and Expo Center.** The seating capacity is ample and atmosphere is wee bit nice. As this Copper Kettle outlet is spanned on two floors therefore finding a table is not an issue at all.

The ground floor is set up as similar to Gun Smoke in Zamzama, with wooden tables and waiters wearing cowboy hats and leather jackets.

Second floor is set up in their traditional style similar to their outlet in Zamzama. They also serve buffet style dinner on second floor…

The menu comes with funky names of dishes and high prices (Rs 300 to 600 main course).

Cafe Mediterranean .. right … its one of the several places in Zamzama that offer a nice ambience, wierd music, and expensive food.

Yes expensive indeed …How expensive? Well, that depends on you. Main course between 400 and 600 can mean a lot to some, but if you are dining in Zamzama expect to spend that much anywhere you go.

Their food is above average but the delivery time is normally excellent… I have been told to try chicken steaks over there

Toso ( childhood memories :hinna: papa used to say ’ chalo Toso chalTay hain Toshne ko ) …

This all-in-one restaurant , located at Bahadurabad serves everything from Soups to Steaks to Bar-B-Q.

Since it is located on the other side of the bridge ( other side of the bridge :hmmm: errr ya gotta be a karachite to enjoy this term ) the prices and environment might not be up to the standards of the elite, but the food is as good as any place in Clifton,…

If ya really want to enjoy good meal in less amount … Toso is the place to eat …

Last time I went there with my family of five, we ordered chicken shashlik, finger fish, chicken steak, and chicken tikkas, rice . Then We also had ice cream for desert. Everything cost us only Rs. 1500. So in a nutshell … We left the place satisfied in every aspect.

Ya really gonaa like the place because of its price value.