Re: ‘Lightly beating’ wife permissible, says CII’s proposed women protection bill!!!
Please stop judging women by yard of their clothes.
Re: ‘Lightly beating’ wife permissible, says CII’s proposed women protection bill!!!
Please stop judging women by yard of their clothes.
Imran khan is probably liberal personally (look at his marriage choices and the party that JI hate in dharnas) but a hypocrite conservative when it comes to public. These are the kind of politicians (re: Bhutto for AP) that are the most dangerous.
Can you criticize Imran for once for his attitude here? I was about to post what you did but you are really beating Asif around the bush with imran's sisters are liberal and he is a misogynist for saying otherwise. They aren't liberal by appearance like Reham (in the past..) but who know what their overall views are. **Weren't they the ones who wanted a young virgin as imran's wife instead of an independent thinking Reham? It is a shame that young women and men have to deal with such BS to be part of PTI.
This is so disgusting. For people like you and GoldnAsif, I remember Reham Khan saying that some people are so blinded by hatred and annoyance for Imran ke zidd me aake 'uski shareef or bilkul private behno ko bhi nahi chortehy". Your remarks reflect a thinking of typical desi man.
Anyway, Reham wasn't just another 'independent girl' - there is something called compatibility and it goes lot deeper. It was a bad match. I don't know. There is a reason why Imran (his family) and Jemima have such a strong bond after divorce (and despite her having her share of visibly risqué relationships) due to the similarities in personalities, temperament and mutual respect for each other.
I don't care if anyone calls Imran's sisters and liberal or un-liberal, I don't believe in such titles when it comes to desis, but he was trying to portray Imran has some anti woman backward Pashtun conservative the way his sisters dress. Never mind the fact they are educated and professional working women - how many 'non duppatta' wearing women in Pakistan bother putting their degrees to good use and earn their own money?
You call Jinnah because you are aware of his ideas, but you calling Imran's sisters conservatives in a slightly demeaning manner because you don't know them at all, and you decided to judge them by just seeing duppatas on their heads? You are being so judgmental on such a superficial level, and I am quite shocked to be so honest.
Those women are highly educated professionals who had been working all their lives in a conservative and misogynist country like Pakistan, but for you they are not liberal enough because they cover themselves according to the local traditions of the land? *It is about time men stop passing judgment on women's credentials and character based on how they dress - yup true liberals don't do that. * By the way, Jinnah towards the end of his life starting sporting shervani and topi, those Pakistanis who judge people on the basis of their appearance use pictures of shervani wala Jinnah to brand him as a conservative Islamist Mullah.
PS: Mind updating me how Imran had decided to present the current Bill in KPK assembly and for what purposes? Please provide a recent news link.
There was absolutely no need to drag Imran's sisters to express your political outrage.
Maybe I did not make myself clear
liberal to me does not = nangey ho jao!!!
Some of IK's views are quite strange indeed. He once told one of his English friends who was visiting him in Pakistan and wanted to sit next to the driver. 'Only whores sit in the front seat!!!' She was completely taken aback by this comment. I think I read this in Ivo Tennant's biography of Imran or The Daily Telegraph. not sure.
will post the link if I find it.
By the way, Jinnah was not a liberal, certainly not in the later stage of his life. He disowned his only daughter for marrying a Parsi!
He may have had a very 'British lifestyle' a la IK style, but he was not as black and white as Pakistanis make him out to be. He was quite a complex man, and to me that's one of his great qualities, not a weakness.
You just have to accept that some people come in a lot of different shades! Malcolm X for example.
I feel sorry for Pakistanis who go out of their way to prove Jinnah either as a pork eating liberal or Shariah loving Mullah. The true Jinnah is somewhere in between.
Maybe I did not make myself clear
liberal to me does not = nangey ho jao!!!
Some of IK's views are quite strange indeed. He once told one of his English friends who was visiting him in Pakistan and wanted to sit next to the driver.** 'Only whores sit in the front seat!!!'** She was completely taken aback by this comment. I think I read this in Ivo Tennant's biography of Imran or The Daily Telegraph. not sure.
will post the link if I find it.
Eeek.
Is is something recent or from the time he was a player in England?
I remember Reham Khan saying that some people are so blinded by hatred and annoyance for Imran ke zidd me aake 'uski shareef or bilkul private behno ko bhi nahi chortehy"
I doubt that she said that. I never even saw any public interaction between them and Reham. Instead of blaming me, blame the pakistani mentality of his family especially his sisters. Call it protective or whatever but it is there.
There is a reason why Imran (his family) and Jemima have such a strong bond after divorce (and despite her having her share of visibly risqué relationships) due to the similarities in personalities, temperament and mutual respect for each other.
Aside from the fact that there might be a relationship due to his sons, don't you think english gori chamri also has to do with it?
yeah yeah blame me for that pakistani ghalazat too... :D
Eeek.
Well women generally don't sit next to drivers as it isn't culturally appropriate but the w**** thing is over the top. But I guess that imran is conflicted like that.
I was obviously paraphrasing her, but she said something similar in the following interview. She’s talking about his sisters with quite a bit of respect there. I don’t know if it’s all fake or what.
Jemima still has a relationship with his entire family, and Imran is still very close to the Goldsmith household. Kids or nor kids, how many divorced couple maintain such cordial ties at family level? Never mind the fact they had a very public divorce, and so much crap had been written about them. There has to be a lot of mutual respect.
One of cousins married a gori, and he says it lot easier to get along with goris than put up with a desi woman. One of my other friends is marrying a gora this summer, and I think I’m beginning to see a point. LOL
Eeek.
In his heyday (early 90s I believe) :)
Wife beating has never been part of mainstream Islam. The noble Qur'an is very clear on this matter, it is not permissible to beat your wife under any circumstances, ever.
4:34
Sahih International: Men are in charge of women by [right of] what Allah has given one over the other and what they spend [for maintenance] from their wealth. So righteous women are devoutly obedient, guarding in [the husband's] absence what Allah would have them guard. But those [wives] from whom you fear arrogance - [first] advise them; [then if they persist], forsake them in bed; and [finally], strike them. But if they obey you [once more], seek no means against them. Indeed, Allah is ever Exalted and Grand.
Yusuf Ali: Men are the protectors and maintainers of women, because Allah has given the one more (strength) than the other, and because they support them from their means. Therefore the righteous women are devoutly obedient, and guard in (the husband's) absence what Allah would have them guard. As to those women on whose part ye fear disloyalty and ill-conduct, admonish them (first), (Next), refuse to share their beds, (And last) beat them (lightly); but if they return to obedience, seek not against them Means (of annoyance): For Allah is Most High, great (above you all).
Shakir: Men are the maintainers of women because Allah has made some of them to excel others and because they spend out of their property; the good women are therefore obedient, guarding the unseen as Allah has guarded; and (as to) those on whose part you fear desertion, admonish them, and leave them alone in the sleeping-places and beat them; then if they obey you, do not seek a way against them; surely Allah is High, Great.
Ergo if someone says Islam allows wife beating, just refer them to this verse to prove them wrong. CII are committing blasphemy by saying Allah (swt) despite being all-knowing, he can not express himself unambiguously in the one perfect guidance for all times, the noble Qur'an?! Allah (swt) could foresee the problems if he was not unambiguous about this, which is why there is nothing in the holy book which can influence men to beat their wives.
I think this bill compilers are totally fascinated by ‘50 shades of Grey’ and thought to introduce the BDSM practices in family business as well.. just sayin ![]()
50 Shades of Moulana Sheerani…
Why is there need of protection bill?
Isn't current constitution safeguard basic human rights?
Problem is implementation of constitution. Every gov't modify law in the name of women bill but we don't see any implementations. I believe if we implement 73 constitution, then we don't need such bills.
What worlds are we living in?
Iqbal, what does strike them mean in one of your quotes?
So smacking her 'lightly' and giving it to her hard on the strongest muscle of all i.e. gluteus maximus is halal? Jazakallah...
… and they named it Women Protection Bill…
Isn't light beating a prerequisite for covulation?
Yup..Yup its gonna be a blockbuster
What I understand is light beating is in extremely complex and rare case.
In case of infidelity, men are supposed to separate their bed as a first approach. I believe this is great thing for keeping relationship alive that Quran advising men to be patient where as a so called ghairat mand mard would give her divorce in first place let alone the beating her to bring her to right path. In such case man will not only hit her but also divorce her and this not Islam but subcontinent culture.
Complexity or confusion is if women dont refrain even after separating bed and still dont want divorce then what to do?
Give her divorce or beat lightly?
If she want divorce then no question of beating her.
Light beating as i know is using as small stick as miswak and it shouldnt leave spots.
Well most of the domestic violence can be avoided by removing ignorance and cultural stupidity from the society.
Give her divorce or beat lightly?
Sophie's choice.