LB u probably gonna have to open series of threads which should be about 1:hadeeths which makes sense and which dont.2:hadeeth which are true and which arnt,3: people should go according to quran instead of making hadeeth their quran.
BY ignoring ahadees you are saying that you do not belief on Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam To grow a beard is the sunnah of Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] and the Sunnah of all Anbiyaa [alayhis salaam]. Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] mentioned, ‘Lengthen the beard and shorten the moustache.’ Aaisha [radhiallaahu anhum] narrates that Rasulullah [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] said, ’10 things are from the Fitra (natural disposition) … to trim the moustache and lengthen the beard.’ (Sahih Muslim).
Jinaab, this is not ghissi pitti example. The example was to make a point which you failed to grasp. Norms change. You are not a muslim in the eyes of Allah SWT because you have a darhi but through your deeds. The other point was we blindly go on to imitate the sunnah even when it matters less, as in the case of a person who would choose to use Camel transportation when vehicles are available. Would the person become more dearer to Allah SWT for riding a Camel as compared to a vehicle because he did it with the intention of imitating the Prophet SAW. You might say YES but then I would have said you forgot to imitate the Prophet SAW in doing such when it came to using wisdom and intelligence.
Examples are given to make a point not because they are used and re-used. How many times have the stories of Prophets been repeated in the Quran. Would you say the Quran ran out of examples or stories and kept using and re-using the same ones over and over again. No you would not because each time it is given to make a point regardless of repitition.
MR US resident Beard is sunnah in a sense that Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] told us to have beared and he didn't tell us anything about riding camels.And when nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] clearly stated that beared is a necessary thing thin then we must follow it.But quran doesn't have lame examples and it only tells truth.Your example is lame because by no chance you can compare camel with a beard,when there are clear saying of nabi[sallallaahu alayhi wasallam].He doesn't say anything about swords also, because as a Nabi he had a vision what will come afterwards.
Hain Ji personal? Don't flatter yourself...needless to say must have hit a soft spot there homes that something so remotely unpersonal seems so uncannily applicable...
i dont think if you have done any gustakhi......:)
Jinaab, this is not ghissi pitti example. The example was to make a point which you failed to grasp. Norms change. You are not a muslim in the eyes of Allah SWT because you have a darhi but through your deeds. The other point was we blindly go on to imitate the sunnah even when it matters less, as in the case of a person who would choose to use Camel transportation when vehicles are available. Would the person become more dearer to Allah SWT for riding a Camel as compared to a vehicle because he did it with the intention of imitating the Prophet SAW. You might say YES but then I would have said you forgot to imitate the Prophet SAW in doing such when it came to using wisdom and intelligence.
i dont know why are you ignoring all the ahadith about beard......just ask to yourself sincerely for a moment if you are right or wrong about growing beard.
MR USResident Beard is sunnah in a sense that Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] told us to have beared and he didn't tell us anything about riding camels.And when nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] clearly stated that beared is a necessary thing thin then we must follow it.But quran doesn't have lame examples and it only tells truth.Your example is lame because by no chance you can compare camel with a beard,when there are clear saying of nabi[sallallaahu alayhi wasallam].He doesn't say anything about swords also, because as a Nabi he had a vision what will come afterwards.
MR born wela Beard is sunnah in a sense that Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] told us to have beared and he didn't tell us anything about riding camels.And when nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] clearly stated that beared is a necessary thing thin then we must follow it.But quran doesn't have lame examples and it only tells truth.Your example is lame because by no chance you can compare camel with a beard,when there are clear saying of nabi[sallallaahu alayhi wasallam].He doesn't say anything about swords also, because as a Nabi he had a vision what will come afterwards.
Sorry still didn't get the point did you Sis. Ok taking what you said into account, Prophet SAW clearly mentioned in the ahadith to do miswak. Why do you use toothpaste then? This is the thing people cannot stick to their own principled approach from matter to matter and yet oppose those who do not agree with them on some matter.
I am not against beard or anything like that but our attitudes towards such matters do not bring us any closer. I would be curious if any one here can give me single hadith, which says not having a beard is sinning clearly. You can't look down upon a muslim brother who doesn't have a beard today.
If you want to say its based on fitrah i.e. men have beards naturally and so we should preserve them, then this discussion can go a long way about many things women i.e. muslimas of today are doing which is not in their in-born fitrah yet in the name of liberation and equality have become taboo.
This argument of because Nabi SAW said so is mis-used a lot in such types of discussions. Nabi SAW also said when you build a house mane sure you have space in it to accomodate a guest for 3 days time. Do we all strictly follow that when we buy and build our homes. It pretty much depends on your financial circumstances.
As I had said earlier trying to look like a muslim without behaving or acting like one has little good in it. Establishing our identity as a muslim is definitely important however there is a lot more than just looking like a muslim. Prophet SAW character was well known even before the advent of Islam or before he ever mentioned such a hadith. And I assure you he even had a beard before all of that.
Please don't be confusing continuation of some Arabic cultural norms in Islam with new injunctions in Islam.
i dont think if you have done any gustakhi......:)
i dont know why are you ignoring all the ahadith about beard......just ask to yourself sincerely for a moment if you are right or wrong about growing beard.
Chalo aik bojh to halka hoya sir se ..... phew!!!!
I am not ignoring the ahadith Sis, but I don't feel like I would be sinning by not keeping a beard. Sis, now you ask yourself if and when you ever wear pants, are you not adopting a clothing style that was not our norm and not invented by us but we are imitating non-muslims by doing it. Even if you wear an Abaya over it still why wear it in the first place.
I am sure your Hubby wears a suit, is that not imitating non-muslim dress or you don't object because you like it. As far as Islamic principles are concerned it could be considered to violate them but we keep quiet on most issues but run away with one or two of them like the beard issue.
The root of this whole discussion is about establishing your identity.
some people grow beard only to show others that they are religious...
Indeed. And then again, yet others have grown up so tainted by the clean–shaven West that they automatically assign ‘religious’ to anyone with a beard.
Even then, you can think of a beard as ‘free sawaab’ from Allah while you try and get your life in order and try to live as Islamically as possible. I mean, unlike remembering the manner and form of salaat, you don’t have to do anything at all to attain it: simply stop shaving!
That's a great argument for those who think the beard issue is silly, dated, cultural or non-religious in nature.
Well said...yeah sarray ka sarray degenerates, including their pesh-imam Mush, hinduoN ki olladain lagtay hain without beards...
Hain Ji personal? Don't flatter yourself...needless to say must have hit a soft spot there homes that something so remotely unpersonal seems so uncannily applicable...
When you say sarray it includes all people with out beard, but as you said it was not personal it's fine with me afterall I do not have control over your command of langauge.
I don't think it will be right if I say equally unpersonal that yeh sarray kay sarray darhi walay arabi tourists ki olladian lagtay hain with beards.
There was a maulvi with a beard who was riding his bicycle and as he swerves to avoid a car he crashes into a woman walking along the footpath. The woman says to him, "Tummhe sharam nahein aatee, itnee baree daaRee rakhke aurton mein bicycle maar te ho?" he replied, "Bibiji ye daaRee hai, braken nahein!"
hahahah
... Oh by the way I have a beard and I believe that the beard does have a brake function. It reminds a person that they are perceived as Muslims by the world around them and that they should be good examples of what they represent.
The holy Prophet (SAW) commanded the growing of the beard and I do it. For those who feel it is not a requirement and do not have a beard themselves then at least grow it on the basis of a Sunnah, or is it society that will determine what you look like and not your given 'role model' (SAW)?
Oh and a man becomes handsome with a beard:
Look at Cat Stevens - Yusuf Islam, or Junaid Jamshed, Muhammad Yousef ... take a look and see the Muslim beard makes men look less aggressive and brings out their 'essence'.
Is it really anything more than trivia, this question and global debate on ....shaving? Doesn't feel absurd that so much effort and emotion is being invested on this? Wouldn't you be serving Allah's designs a lot better if the same time and energy is devoted to teaching a child, bringing a smile or expanding one's mind in some way?
I do not mean to insult those who believe every ritual, including not shaving, is important. But wouldn' they also consider for a moment why it was said when it was said and whether that reason is still necessary or not? Aren't they going to see it would be arrogant to claim that those that do shave are any less than themselves? Or the hurt that would befall the families of millions of hairstylists and their families and children if no one shaves?
You get extra points for keeping a beard. Like you get extra points for doing niqab. This is my understanding.
Let see if to keep a beard is wajib.
Wâjib ** is a Divine Command established by a proof which is not as strong or direct as the previous (referring to fardh - daleel zannî). However, the proof is strong enough that, practically speaking, this act is also compulsory. One who neglects or rejects such an action is a **fâsiq (one who sins publicly) but will not be a kâfir (disbeliever).