Re: Lets settle beard issue once and for all
hi ppl can sumone plz tell me if it is wrng to shve ur beard once u have kept it, coz i knw sme ppl who have done hajj n kept beards then shaved em agen to keep up with fashion
once read that one if the greatest sufi of recent times...maulana allah yaar chackralwi when used to baait people on the hands of prophet(pbuh) spirtually....before he used to do this for non-beared men also...but then prophet(pbuh) specifically told him that...do not bring those people to baait me..who have no beard.....
and allah knows best....
Actually Sis, the principle would be to distinguish yourself as a muslim. If the norm back then was to be clean shaven, it might have been possible to just grow moustaches. However the norm back then was having a beard and moustache, hence the order to grow it longer and trim the moustache. I think people today are more stuck on the semantics than what the underlying message is. In olden days having a longer beard and no moustache exagerated your presence as a muslim. Still quite true today but not the only way though.
Its important to distinguish why it is you are growing a beard, is it because you just want to imitate a sunnah or is it because you want others to know you are a muslim upon sight.
My appearance could still project the fact that I am a muslim even if I did not have a beard.
When you grow beard, you are representing Islam, whether you did it for Sunnah or for the Islamic identification. I agree that its not the only way to be identified as a muslim, as salaat is the biggest difference between a kaafir and a believer.
Like when I wear hijab I follow Allah and His Messenger(SAW) and also people recognise me as a muslim.
"O ye who believe! Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and those charged with authority among you." (Quran 4:59)
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said "I have no connection with one who shaves, shouts and tears his clothing eg. in grief or affication."
Reported by Abu Darda (R.A.) in Muslim, Hadith no. 501.
The teachings of Hadhrat Ammar Bin Yaasir, Abdullah Ibn Umar, Sayyidina Umar, Abu Hurairah and Jaabir (R.A.), indicate that ALL used to keep beards that were one fist length or more. Hadhrat Jaabir (R.A.) had said: "We used to grow long beards and only during Hajj and Umrah did we trim them to the required length (i.e. fist length)."
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) says: "Trim closely the moustache, and let the beard flow (Grow)." - Narrated Ibn Umar (R.A.) in Muslim, Hadith no. 498
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said: "Anyone who shaves has no claim to the mercy of Allah" - Reported by Ibn Abbas (R.A.) in Tibrabi
Hanafi Imam Muhammed (R.A.) writes in his book "Kitabul Aathaar" where he relates from Imam Abu Hanifa (R.A.) who relates from Hadhrat Haytham (R.A.) who relates from Ibn Umar (R.A.) that he (Ibn Umar) used to hold his beard in his hand and cut off which was longer. Imam Muhammed (R.A.) says that this is what we follow and this was the decision of Imam Abu Hanifa. Therefore, according to Hanafies, to shorten the beard less than a FIST LENGTH is HARAAM and on this is IJMA (concensus of opinion).
Shafi'i Imam Shafi (R.A.) in his Kitabul Umm states, "To shave the beard is HARAAM." (Shari Minhaj dar Shara Fasl Aqueeqa).
Maaliki Shekh Ahmad Nafarawi Maliki in the commentary of Imam Abu Zayed's booklet states, "to shave the beard is without doubt haraam according to all Imams." It is also mention in "Tamheed" which is a commentary of "Muatta" (Sunnan Imam Malik (R.A.)) that to shave the beard is HARAAM and among males the only ones to resort to this practice (of shaving) are the HERMAPHRODITES (persons who possess both male and female features and characteristics).
Hanbali The Hanbalies in the famous Al-Khanie'a Hanbali Fatawa Kitab state that "to grow the beard is essential and to shave it is HARAAM." Also in the Hanbali Mathab books "Sharahul Muntahaa" and "Sharr Manzoomatul Aadaab", it is stated "The most accepted view is that it is HARAAM (prohibited to shave the beard)."
Also note, according to scholars of Islam: "To shave off the beard is unlawful (haraam) and one who shaves his beard is legally speaking an unrighteous fellow (FASIQ); hence, it is NOT PERMISSIBLE to appoint such a man as an Imam. To say Taraweeh behind such an Imam is MAKRUH-E-TAHRIMI (near prohibition)" (Shami Vol.1, p.523)
The Durre-Mukhtar states: "No one has called it permissible to trim it (the beard) less than FIST-LENGTH as is being done by some westernized Muslims and hermaphrodites." (Vol. 2, p. 155). Also, "It is forbidden (haraam) for a man to cut off another's beard." (Vol. 5, p. 359).
^kiyon mujhay jotay padwanay hein tum nay. :)
Light Bearer........you asked a question, and you got the answer. Now if you agree or disagree, won't change the facts.
^Hareem thats why I did not post yet regarding this, let me read it a bit more. If I'll come up with some question I will pop it.
Muslims now a days have so much passion for hate. even trivial matters dont go ‘Un-hated’
Yet, thier prophet is all mercy, love and compassion. who never hated anyone for thier worldy shortcommings
Tells us great deal of sorry state of affair for muslims nowadays ![]()
When you grow beard, you are representing Islam, whether you did it for Sunnah or for the Islamic identification. I agree that its not the only way to be identified as a muslim, as salaat is the biggest difference between a kaafir and a believer. Like when I wear hijab I follow Allah and His Messenger(SAW) and also people recognise me as a muslim.
Aray bhen ji, some of todays non-bearded men might be among the better muslims you will meet today. Itna ghussa na karain. Aaapay se bahir na hon.
Let me expand a little more on this, I'm sure not many people think about this who flat out oppose (to quote someone) the Zanana look. Many things in our religion are a continuation of cultural practices of those times, however they were not harmful in anyway, which is why I have not seen revelations in the Quran to oppose them or reform them. Take marriages for instance, there many forms of marriages among Arabs and they kept many wives as well. Islam changed that norm because it was harmful and encroached upon womens rights. It infact reformed it so there are certain conditions that need to be met in order to have more than one wife. Alcohol, it was harmful and eventually forbidden all together. Beards were the norm of that time, Islam did not come and abolish beards to make muslims look distinct from the crowd but it simply bolstered that norm with certain conditions, like grow it a little longer, trim your moustache. Doing that would not appear as radical a reform in those days then totally get rid of it. Todays norm is much different, could you have gauranteed that had Islam been revealed today that the same norms of 1400 centuries would be followed today. I think not. It probably would have been to preserve norms of today which are not harmful in anyway.
When Islam came it did not institute norms or practices of people that existed hundreds of years before its advent. It reformed those that needed to be reformed, stopped the ones that were clearly harmful and left a lot as it is. People 1400 years ago did not start keeping beards because the Prophet SAW said so, but it was already there norm and as a matter of fact his aversion towards someone not having a beard is indicative that he opposed to for behaving radically against the popular non-harmful norms of the society.
Aray bhen ji, some of todays non-bearded men might be among the better muslims you will meet today.
Yes of course.....like some non muslims are better than some muslims.....
Dont compare good beardless muslims with bad bearded muslims.......
Try comparing good beardless muslims with good bearded muslims......Now tell me who is better, a good beardless muslim or a good bearded muslim?
Let me tell you........a good bearded muslim is better than a good beadless muslim........why? bcoz one.......he is following Sunnah and avoiding the haram...........second .....by doing good he is giving direct dawah to others coz anyone can tell by his beard that he is a muslim.
Itna ghussa na karain. Aaapay se bahir na hon.
I dont think im the one who's getting angry over the beard issue.
For me things are clear.
Peace to you bro
Ok i dont hate them …I dislike them.
Do I have a right to dislike someone? Yes I do.
***The beard issue was settled when we were born…
***Males have it…
***Females don’t…
What remains is how much you wish to please your Maker, and follow the Sunnah of Rasul Allah (PBUH).
But Niaat is very important!
Beard can also be for show too!
Yes of course.....like some non muslims are better than some muslims.....
Dont compare good beardless muslims with bad bearded muslims....... Try comparing good beardless muslims with good bearded muslims......Now tell me who is better, a good beardless muslim or a good bearded muslim?
Let me tell you........a good bearded muslim is better than a good beadless muslim........why? bcoz one.......he is following Sunnah and avoiding the haram...........second .....by doing good he is giving direct dawah to others coz anyone can tell by his beard that he is a muslim.
I dont think im the one who's getting angry over the beard issue. For me things are clear.
Peace to you bro
Sis, no one is getting angry I was just being sarcastic. Please forgive.
So should the Dhari be a foot long or 6 inches or just hugging the face for you to distinguish a muslim.
Bhai this is ignorance. Follow the sunnah does not always mean be literal in following it. The Prophet SAW traveled by Camel, would you goto work riding a camel or visit your relatives riding a camel? I’m sure you know what I mean, not just citing a silly example here or trying to ridicule you.
Its not simple yaar, why do you cut your hair on the head then or nails? “Beard for show” what does that mean or rather does that mean anything at all?
Bhai this is ignorance. Follow the sunnah does not always mean be literal in following it. The Prophet SAW traveled by Camel, would you goto work riding a camel or visit your relatives riding a camel? I'm sure you know what I mean, not just citing a silly example here or trying to ridicule you.
That's why I asked in another thread " how far do you want to go". are you ready to leave you rmobile phones, your jobs and your vehicles. It's absurd.
LB: Question for you: Are you clear on Tawheed (Monotheism of Allah) and Muhammad SAW as the last messenger? If not then: Lets worry about the foundation of the building before we worry about how tall it will be and how many chandeliers it will have.
May Allah SWT guide all of us to the right path. (ameen)
Well said...yeah sarray ka sarray degenerates, including their pesh-imam Mush, hinduoN ki olladain lagtay hain without beards...
Keeping a beard is wajib
And now we get technical! Yes, ‘orthodox’ Islamic rulings — and this includes all the schools of Sunni thought — mark growing a beard as ‘wajib’, unlike salaat, which they class as ‘fard’ (or ‘farz’ to pronounce it in Urdu).
Now, we can present our own thoughts and opinions on this, refer to appropriate texts, etc. but when it comes down to it, what Shariah law states goes, and the beard remains a must.
I have my own viewpoints on this, naturally, and they do differ from that of mainstream teachings. Take a look at religious Jews, ‘old–style’ Eastern Christians, even Sikhs: they all sport beards. I don’t think that has changed in centuries. I personally believe that the exhortation to ‘grow a beard and trim your moustache’ placed emphasis on the moustache and not the beard! Other religious groups who sport beards also have large and long moustaches. *That *differentiates us from non–muslimuun, not the beards themselves!
But, as I said previously, application of law by those learnèd in it takes precedence over our own opinions…
Well said...yeah sarray ka sarray degenerates, including their pesh-imam Mush, hinduoN ki olladain lagtay hain without beards...
Behave yourself and don't get personal.
Sis, no one is getting angry I was just being sarcastic. Please forgive.
So should the Dhari be a foot long or 6 inches or just hugging the face for you to distinguish a muslim.
Read post#33
Bhai this is ignorance. Follow the sunnah does not always mean be literal in following it. The Prophet SAW traveled by Camel, would you goto work riding a camel or visit your relatives riding a camel? I'm sure you know what I mean, not just citing a silly example here or trying to ridicule you.
Well, People still ride camels........the use of camels isn't abolished or abrogated after the invention of cars.
I didn't expect this ghissi pitty example from you.
Its not simple yaar, why do you cut your hair on the head then or nails?
bcoz thats the Sunnah of Prophets(AS)
"Beard for show" what does that mean or rather does that mean anything at all?
I think it means some people grow beard only to show others that they are religious..........
I personally think a man is incomplete without his beard......i guess it looks good...............thats why I married a bearded man.:)
I think it means some people grow beard only to show others that they are religious..........
I personally think a man is incomplete without his beard......i guess it looks good...............thats why I married a bearded man.:)
May you have a happy life with your husband.
Read post#33
Well, People still ride camels........the use of camels isn't abolished or abrogated after the invention of cars. I didn't expect this ghissi pitty example from you.
Am I forgiven or not for my gustakhi ........
Jinaab, this is not ghissi pitti example. The example was to make a point which you failed to grasp. Norms change. You are not a muslim in the eyes of Allah SWT because you have a darhi but through your deeds. The other point was we blindly go on to imitate the sunnah even when it matters less, as in the case of a person who would choose to use Camel transportation when vehicles are available. Would the person become more dearer to Allah SWT for riding a Camel as compared to a vehicle because he did it with the intention of imitating the Prophet SAW. You might say YES but then I would have said you forgot to imitate the Prophet SAW in doing such when it came to using wisdom and intelligence.
Examples are given to make a point not because they are used and re-used. How many times have the stories of Prophets been repeated in the Quran. Would you say the Quran ran out of examples or stories and kept using and re-using the same ones over and over again. No you would not because each time it is given to make a point regardless of repitition.