Re: Lets settle beard issue once and for all
Keeping a beard is wajib and shaving it is haram.
Piya ji, aap ka "Free books" wala signature kaam nahin karta
Keeping a beard is wajib and shaving it is haram.
Ab kaam kar raha hai.
^^ sorry to say but thats BS
Says you?:D
^^ thats exactly wat i meant ..... The problem we face these days is ...people cant distinguish between arab culture and islam. Sadly they always mix it up.
But the reason that Prophet Muhammad(SAW) has given us is different from the reason given by you, Prophet(SAW) said: "Do otherwise than those who ascribe partners to Allah (al-mushrikin): leave beards be, and trim mustaches."
If you see, muslims can be recognized by the way they grow beard and trim mustache, no matter what race or what place they belong to.
Prophet Muhammad(SAW) started that specific way of growing beard and trimming the mustache.
The logic of yours (trim mustache to avoid sand) is meaningless.
But the reason that Prophet Muhammad(SAW) has given us is different from the reason given by you, Prophet(SAW) said: "Do otherwise than those who ascribe partners to Allah (al-mushrikin): leave beards be, and trim mustaches."
If you see, muslims can be recognized by the way they grow beard and trim mustache, no matter what race or what place they belong to.
Prophet Muhammad(SAW) started that specific way of growing beard and trimming the mustache.
The logic of yours (trim mustache to avoid sand) is meaningless.
Actually Sis, the principle would be to distinguish yourself as a muslim. If the norm back then was to be clean shaven, it might have been possible to just grow moustaches. However the norm back then was having a beard and moustache, hence the order to grow it longer and trim the moustache. I think people today are more stuck on the semantics than what the underlying message is. In olden days having a longer beard and no moustache exagerated your presence as a muslim. Still quite true today but not the only way though.
Its important to distinguish why it is you are growing a beard, is it because you just want to imitate a sunnah or is it because you want others to know you are a muslim upon sight.
My appearance could still project the fact that I am a muslim even if I did not have a beard.
Isn't what is in your heart and actions more indicative of projecting the fact you are Muslim than your facial hair?
What is the importance of 'looking like a Muslim'? For whose benefit?
Actually Sis, the principle would be to distinguish yourself as a muslim. If the norm back then was to be clean shaven, it might have been possible to just grow moustaches. However the norm back then was having a beard and moustache, hence the order to grow it longer and trim the moustache. I think people today are more stuck on the semantics than what the underlying message is. In olden days having a longer beard and no moustache exagerated your presence as a muslim. Still quite true today but not the only way though.
Its important to distinguish why it is you are growing a beard, is it because you just want to imitate a sunnah or is it because you want others to know you are a muslim upon sight.
My appearance could still project the fact that I am a muslim even if I did not have a beard.
I totally agree to you. Beard is a non issue which has been blown out of proportion.
Isn't what is in your heart and actions more indicative of projecting the fact you are Muslim than your facial hair?
What is the importance of 'looking like a Muslim'? For whose benefit?
Exactly. Why show off?
"O ye who believe! Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and those charged with authority among you." (Quran 4:59)
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said "I have no connection with one who shaves, shouts and tears his clothing eg. in grief or affication."
Reported by Abu Darda (R.A.) in Muslim, Hadith no. 501.
The teachings of Hadhrat Ammar Bin Yaasir, Abdullah Ibn Umar, Sayyidina Umar, Abu Hurairah and Jaabir (R.A.), indicate that ALL used to keep beards that were one fist length or more. Hadhrat Jaabir (R.A.) had said: "We used to grow long beards and only during Hajj and Umrah did we trim them to the required length (i.e. fist length)."
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) says: "Trim closely the moustache, and let the beard flow (Grow)." - Narrated Ibn Umar (R.A.) in Muslim, Hadith no. 498
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said: "Anyone who shaves has no claim to the mercy of Allah" - Reported by Ibn Abbas (R.A.) in Tibrabi
Hanafi
Imam Muhammed (R.A.) writes in his book "Kitabul Aathaar" where he relates from Imam Abu Hanifa (R.A.) who relates from Hadhrat Haytham (R.A.) who relates from Ibn Umar (R.A.) that he (Ibn Umar) used to hold his beard in his hand and cut off which was longer. Imam Muhammed (R.A.) says that this is what we follow and this was the decision of Imam Abu Hanifa. Therefore, according to Hanafies, to shorten the beard less than a FIST LENGTH is HARAAM and on this is IJMA (concensus of opinion).
Shafi'i
Imam Shafi (R.A.) in his Kitabul Umm states, "To shave the beard is HARAAM." (Shari Minhaj dar Shara Fasl Aqueeqa).
Maaliki
Shekh Ahmad Nafarawi Maliki in the commentary of Imam Abu Zayed's booklet states, "to shave the beard is without doubt haraam according to all Imams." It is also mention in "Tamheed" which is a commentary of "Muatta" (Sunnan Imam Malik (R.A.)) that to shave the beard is HARAAM and among males the only ones to resort to this practice (of shaving) are the HERMAPHRODITES (persons who possess both male and female features and characteristics).
Hanbali
The Hanbalies in the famous Al-Khanie'a Hanbali Fatawa Kitab state that "to grow the beard is essential and to shave it is HARAAM." Also in the Hanbali Mathab books "Sharahul Muntahaa" and "Sharr Manzoomatul Aadaab", it is stated "The most accepted view is that it is HARAAM (prohibited to shave the beard)."
Also note, according to scholars of Islam: "To shave off the beard is unlawful (haraam) and one who shaves his beard is legally speaking an unrighteous fellow (FASIQ); hence, it is NOT PERMISSIBLE to appoint such a man as an Imam. To say Taraweeh behind such an Imam is MAKRUH-E-TAHRIMI (near prohibition)" (Shami Vol.1, p.523)
The Durre-Mukhtar states: "No one has called it permissible to trim it (the beard) less than FIST-LENGTH as is being done by some westernized Muslims and hermaphrodites." (Vol. 2, p. 155). Also, "It is forbidden (haraam) for a man to cut off another's beard." (Vol. 5, p. 359).
It is one of Shaair of islam and wajibs according to islam.
No prophet alihassalam, no companion of prophets and no tabai,taba tabeen ever were reported as having shaved thier beards.
No this was not custom as many romans at hazrat Muhammas :saw: times shaved thier beards.
So to me it is wajid and a near fardh.
Wasay bhi kisis ko zanani bannay ka shauk hay tau doosri baat hay ![]()
Lakum deena kum wali ya deen
"O ye who believe! Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and those charged with authority among you." (Quran 4:59)
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said "I have no connection with one who shaves, shouts and tears his clothing eg. in grief or affication."
Reported by Abu Darda (R.A.) in Muslim, Hadith no. 501.
The teachings of Hadhrat Ammar Bin Yaasir, Abdullah Ibn Umar, Sayyidina Umar, Abu Hurairah and Jaabir (R.A.), indicate that ALL used to keep beards that were one fist length or more. Hadhrat Jaabir (R.A.) had said: "We used to grow long beards and only during Hajj and Umrah did we trim them to the required length (i.e. fist length)."
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) says: "Trim closely the moustache, and let the beard flow (Grow)." - Narrated Ibn Umar (R.A.) in Muslim, Hadith no. 498
Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said: "Anyone who shaves has no claim to the mercy of Allah" - Reported by Ibn Abbas (R.A.) in Tibrabi
Hanafi Imam Muhammed (R.A.) writes in his book "Kitabul Aathaar" where he relates from Imam Abu Hanifa (R.A.) who relates from Hadhrat Haytham (R.A.) who relates from Ibn Umar (R.A.) that he (Ibn Umar) used to hold his beard in his hand and cut off which was longer. Imam Muhammed (R.A.) says that this is what we follow and this was the decision of Imam Abu Hanifa. Therefore, according to Hanafies, to shorten the beard less than a FIST LENGTH is HARAAM and on this is IJMA (concensus of opinion).
Shafi'i Imam Shafi (R.A.) in his Kitabul Umm states, "To shave the beard is HARAAM." (Shari Minhaj dar Shara Fasl Aqueeqa).
Maaliki Shekh Ahmad Nafarawi Maliki in the commentary of Imam Abu Zayed's booklet states, "to shave the beard is without doubt haraam according to all Imams." It is also mention in "Tamheed" which is a commentary of "Muatta" (Sunnan Imam Malik (R.A.)) that to shave the beard is HARAAM and among males the only ones to resort to this practice (of shaving) are the HERMAPHRODITES (persons who possess both male and female features and characteristics).
Hanbali The Hanbalies in the famous Al-Khanie'a Hanbali Fatawa Kitab state that "to grow the beard is essential and to shave it is HARAAM." Also in the Hanbali Mathab books "Sharahul Muntahaa" and "Sharr Manzoomatul Aadaab", it is stated "The most accepted view is that it is HARAAM (prohibited to shave the beard)."
Also note, according to scholars of Islam: "To shave off the beard is unlawful (haraam) and one who shaves his beard is legally speaking an unrighteous fellow (FASIQ); hence, it is NOT PERMISSIBLE to appoint such a man as an Imam. To say Taraweeh behind such an Imam is MAKRUH-E-TAHRIMI (near prohibition)" (Shami Vol.1, p.523)
The Durre-Mukhtar states: "No one has called it permissible to trim it (the beard) less than FIST-LENGTH as is being done by some westernized Muslims and hermaphrodites." (Vol. 2, p. 155). Also, "It is forbidden (haraam) for a man to cut off another's beard." (Vol. 5, p. 359).
An Imitation of Women
The beard is a major distinction between men and women. Shaving it removes this distinction, and is thus a means of imitating women. The Messenger (S) said:
*Allah curses those men who imitate the women, and He curses those women who imitate the men. *[Al-Bukhari]
To conclude, the Holy Prophet sallallahu alaihe wasallam has emphatically commanded the Muslims to grow a beard. He also gave a severe warning to those who oppose this command, especially those people who openly oppose it. In a hadith it is mentioned:
Translation:
"All the sinners of my Ummah are forgiven except those who commit sins openly."
This is a warning to those people who openly shave their beards and have no shame in doing this act. May Allah give us all the ability to act upon the commands of the Shari’ah. Ameen.
Wasay bhi kisis ko zanani bannay ka shauk hay tau doosri baat hay :)
Mardangi darhi say 2 feet nichay shoro hoti hai. You are misinformed. Shaadi ho gi to pata chalay darhi ka us mein koi kaam nahin hai.:)
To conclude, the Holy Prophet sallallahu alaihe wasallam has emphatically commanded the Muslims to grow a beard. He also gave a severe warning to those who oppose this command, especially those people who openly oppose it. In a hadith it is mentioned:
Translation: "All the sinners of my Ummah are forgiven except those who commit sins openly." This is a warning to those people who openly shave their beards and have no shame in doing this act. May Allah give us all the ability to act upon the commands of the Shari’ah. Ameen.
Don't you believe that deeds are more important than showing who you are?
Growing beard is also a good deed and its Wajib.
LB u probably gonna have to open series of threads which should be about 1:hadeeths which makes sense and which dont.
2:hadeeth which are true and which arnt,
3: people should go according to quran instead of making hadeeth their quran.
^kiyon mujhay jotay padwanay hein tum nay. :)
^^ ![]()
Koi nahin i’ll open them… ![]()
An Imitation of Women
The beard is a major distinction between men and women. Shaving it removes this distinction, and is thus a means of imitating women. The Messenger (S) said:
*Allah curses those men who imitate the women, and He curses those women who imitate the men. *[Al-Bukhari]
Translation: "All the sinners of my Ummah are forgiven except those who commit sins openly." This is a warning to those people who openly shave their beards and have no shame in doing this act. May Allah give us all the ability to act upon the commands of the Shari’ah. Ameen.
Bhai I don't know how you can mistake a man for a woman if our women are supposed to wear hijab.
Someone could keep a beard and become a transsexual, would you know?
Ahadith samajhnay ke liyay or un ko apply karnay ke liyiai thori common sense bhi darkaar hoti hai.
If your argument is to establish our unique identity both by character and outlook I can agree with you (still don't agree its a sin though, I only agree it as sinful to the extent where you count it as disobedience to the Prophet SAW during his era when there was a need to establish muslims from the rest of the crowd). In todays norms there are other ways to establish your unique identity as well. In todays world people have different physical needs as well.
Aaj kal darhi rakh kar dosron ko bewaqoof bana fashion ho gaya hai. Do it when you really are willing to live up to it and mean it and can also defend it with your deeds and actions.
I hate that man who doesnt grow his beard but his wife wear hijab or niqab.