Let the calculations begin

You forgot the first two real miracles that already happened. First England beating SA comprehensively. Second, the run rate of SA and NZ are lower than Pakistan. Now we don’t have to worry about run rate either. When I saw S.Africans dropping all these catches of Peterson and other batsmen, then I was sure there is a divine intervention favoring Pakistan :smiley:

At least we have one more game to look forward too which can help us going to the semis despite losing two games. We can definitely beat SA. They are also struggling like us and in my opinion they don’t look anywhere close to the caliber of Australia. Please reopen the case :slight_smile:

Pakistan’s Group - What teams need to do to make the semis

What teams need to do to make the semis

**What the three  teams in Group E need to do to qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 2010  semi-finals**

*With England already through to the semi-finals from Group E, the  three remaining teams are now in must-win scenarios. But only New  Zealand needn't bother about other results. Pakistan and South Africa  will need to win their match, and also have the other match go how they  want it to go. Here are the permutations for how other teams can make  it.*  

Pakistan (points 0, net run-rate -0.215)

They need to beat South Africa, and then hope that England beat New Zealand later in the day. If both the matches go down Pakistan’s desired route, they will be level on two points along with New Zealand and South Africa, and they will also have the best net run-rate of the three.

South Africa (points 2, net run-rate -0.650)

They can’t sneak in based on net run-rate, because they are the worst among the three right now. They will need to beat Pakistan and then hope that England beat New Zealand. If New Zealand win, South Africa will most likely be out, unless they beat Pakistan by a mammoth margin, and New Zealand win very narrowly.

New Zealand (points 2, net run-rate -0.3)

Simplest equation: win and go through, lose and go home. What happens in the other match doesn’t much matter to them. If South Africa win the first match, they will have gone to four points, and New Zealand will have to win to come level on points, and then their better net run-rate should carry them through. If Pakistan win, New Zealand know they can’t afford to lose because that loss will leave them level with Pakistan at two points, but Pakistan will have a better net run-rate.

http://www.cricinfo.com/world-twenty20-2010/content/current/story/459064.html

okay thanks, I stand corrected.

Calculation…Calculation…Calculation… Sabziii beek rahi hai kya yaha :aj: before Pakistan was depended on **Bangladesh **to reach in the Super 8z and now again they are depended on England, South Africa and New Zealand to reach in the Semi Finalz. Pakistanis are playing for themselves or Bangladesh, Eng, SA and NZ playing for Pakistan in this tournament? :grumpy:

awwwww Should I help indians to buy tickets? because they may be worried for that now atleast :smiley:

Re: Pakistan's Group - What teams need to do to make the semis

actually if we see the performance then SA deserve that being patriotic I think Pak should win to fire the hope to reality.

About NZ I dont know what "political" steps ENG will take now..

Hope SA chocks Once Again

N than all is In Hands OF England.....

Aayat -e- Kareema karwaana paraiga

*so in short .... Pakistan needs to
Win n pray

England had a very good chance of beating New Zealand but with Pieterson out for the match against NZ, there's some doubt now :( I hope NZ and SA both lose!! Afridi, Umar Akmal, and Stupid Misbah (who should not be on the team) need to pick it up for us to have any chance!!

chal nikl beta aur apni team kee fikr kar. I heard Gavaskar and Manjeraker doing the same calculations for India today. Stop wasting your time here and join them.

Re: Let the calculations begin

^ jaa mai tujhe shraap deta hoon… today your team will be bowled out within 1 hour :grumpy:

Try again :hehe:

so how many runs or wickets should the nz win by to qualify for the semis?

^ dun matter… as long as Eng win we are good :k:

No calculations needed any more :D

Bring on the Aussies :)

hahaha i can't stop smiling lol

We are thru to semis, what about team IPL India? :hehe:

tomorrow will be so sweet when India (inshallah) is knocked out finally.

I just can't believe this. I am so happy.

Pakistan into Semi-Final.