Lessons you have learnt/The Dont's of Desi Weddings ...

Re: The Don'ts of Desi Weddings ...

lol this is so funny and sad but so true

omg thats sooooooooooo funny and true!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

oh my goodness.. this is da "Wedding nightmare" i think every desi bride/groom has..lol
and its SOO TRUEE.. every desi wedding i have been to.. has had ALL OF THE ABOVE happen..lol

hahahahaha

sooooo trueeee... and i have to say i'm guilty of

Some of the cutlery will go missing! Your centerpiece, if small and cute, will go missing..

^^ That one.... I cudnt resist it was soooooooo beautiful!! a candle holder.... :p

^^^ centerpiece stealer :p

my mehndi rukhsati and valeema weere going so perfect that my own in laws decided to create imperfections....

-mehndi aur rukhsati pe photographer humaara tha but almost none of my relatives were able to get their pictures taken because my khaala saas did not let anyone from my side come to the stage she kept stopping them saying pehle humaare side k picture complete hone dijiye by the time it was my relatives turn 98 % of them had left...this happened in mehndi and ruhsati ...in fact baraat pe when my widowed maami came to the stage to sit by me...meri khaala saas ki nand ne unki beizzati ki so my mami left the stage and said she would come back later...

• mehndi pe due to shortage of time the DJ cut short one of my in law's dance number (it was my hubby's younger sister and my khaala saas's daughter) he cut it short so that my hubby and i could come to the floor and dance...but when hubby and i came to the dance floor my khaala saas came to the dance floor and said to my hubby larrke hoke tumne humaari beizatti karvaadi n then she left the dance floor...and my hubby went after her leaving me alone in the middle of the dance floor i felt so embarrassed and alone...i still cant believe he left me alone

-valeeme ka function went without a hitch because my side of the family does not make trouble and his side of the family was not going to make trouble because valeema toh hota hi larrke vaalon ka function hai

so yea if everything is perfect they will try to create some imperfection

khaala saas's
please allow me to say her 'Maula Jatti'

khaala saas = your aunt who is now your saas or your husband's khala?

LOL thanks for the heads up :)

I watched a lady actually count the number of rings one bride was wearing......

oh gosh at the stories. In my family, some of our relatives are guaranteed to threaten not to come unless you go and manafy them at their home and bring them back with you, DURING the wedding! So we all know its going to happen but we dont know whos going to be the party pooper this time around.

kalaa saaas... more like a wedding gundaa

Re: The Don’ts of Desi Weddings …

:rotfl: this is so true!

Re: The Don’ts of Desi Weddings …

I keep reading the title as The Don’s of Desi Weddings :hehe:

soooooo true, desis will be desis

lol I'm glad u guys enjoyed and agreed with the thread.

llxxll ur experiences are soo funny yet i felt sorry at the same time

candle-holder-stealer, ur honesty (more than your "act") made me laugh!

And the antie counting the rings on the bride's fingers.. haha I've never heard that one before!!

lol at the bit about there being 5 chairs at a table but people pulling up more. a recent wedding i went to, people were taking chairs from the tables to put at the side of the hall to sit on and gossip, my mum ended up having to ask one of the bride’s relatives(she was helping serve food)to please find her a chair, cos if she moved from her spot at the table, someone would’ve stole it in a second. desis are one of a kind:hinna:

The don's of desi weddings ...haha this is hilarious,but yes i do agree.Lack of Manners and
discipline,with addition of rudeness>>this is what i have experienced as well.

thanks for the advices...here is my advice that i learned from my engagement (sorry theres more than 1)

-NO HEAVY DUPATTA...
yes keep the dupatta light! i wanted a high bun dupatta thing but after 15 minutes in the hall....it slid down pulling my bangs and everything back, and it looked bad...so keep dupatta light, once you sit down no one can see the back of your dupatta anyways...it will feel 10x more comfortable .plus if the outfit is heavy it should balance with a lighter dupatta (i think).

- I DON'T RECOMMEND DOING A NAME SEATING CHART!!!
people think that this will make it easier for guests to sit...NOT!! maybe in a gora wedding, but not with desi's auntys and uncles care less where they will be seated, if they don't like where they are sitting...damn right they are gonna switch their seat/tables whether you like it or not, aur plus afterwards they are gonna be like...kaha bithadiya...itni door table tha stage se...dulhan nazar hi nahi aayi. They think they're far from the stage/food cause we put them there on purpose (even though they may have switched!). let them come and comfortably sit with whoever they want...it should be first come first serve. BUT!! a mistake with open seating is to not have a couple tables in the front "reserved" for the in-laws and close family...that way they are sure to get a seat near the stage, where they should be and not weird people that you don't even know take those seats, leaving the important ones in the bakc...but that should be it..AND make sure the "reserved" tables are all SURROUNDING the stage....so people aren't fighting for the tables right near the stage, and its pretty fair now for everyone else for their seats.

-FIX YOUR PIMPLES!!!
if you have pimples...make sure you do everything you can to make them go away, cause they show up in pictures!! if you want nice close up pictures, it will look bad with pimples..its okay to have tons of acne cause that can be hidden with foundation (cause its flat). Im looking at pictures of my engagement, and the close up ones are nice but you can see those few pimples that didn't go away and gosh i regret it!

-DO NOT LET THE PHOTOGRAPHERS MANIPULATE YOU!!!
I remember before my ceremony my photographer would make me do weird poses that totally was "old schooled" and I didn't like it. but since your soo nervous about the night, you don't even care what type of poses he makes you do and you usually just do whatever he says, so you can get it over with and run back to your bridal suite...but you will regret it later....I sooo wish I had taken some of the poses that I dreamed about...so just tell the guy! he will take them however you want it! Later the photographer (like mine) may just put those "old school" poses picture in your album and you will hate looking at it.

PRACTICE WEARING YOUR NATH BEFORE THE WEDDING!!!
honestly your nath is something, that we don't like style it around everyday like a normal thing....so on your big day (if you are wearing one) it may hurt and feel very uncomfortable....especially if its a screw on or a clip on...so wear your nath for a few hours around the house, (just don't look in the mirror wearing your normal clothes! you'll look weird) if it feels okay to you, then thats good...if it keeps sliding off (if you have a oily nose) then you know you better wear a hell lot of oil control stuff on your nose on the day of.

KEEP SOMEONE IN CHARGE OF BEING IN CHARGE OF THE DAMN DJ!!
-If you're like me and music and the entrance songs means alot to you at your wedding...I mean i had my entrance song planned since I was 14!! So I want my music to play the RIGHT ONE and at the RIGHT TIME. I had a retarded dj at my sisters wedding who even though we told him exactly which songs to play, ended up playing his reject movie songs!! I was soo mad! we all depended on him and he never even HAD the songs that we told him to have...so HAVE A BACKUP CD JUST IN CASE!! with all your edited entrance songs and ANOTHER cd with the songs you want to play in the background at your wedding. and then have someone stand next to the dj and cue him when to start playing and what track and exactly what time...I want my entrance song to play at the right time...some dj's that you don't know...may end up being "fake dj's" that don't know what the hell they are doing, so its better to keep someone like a cousin or friend be in charge of what the dj is playing, especially at your most important times like your entrances. You don't want to be almost to the stage, and the DJ starts playing the song. Also TELL your person in charge exactly when they should tell the dj to start playing the song....like how much inside the hall you should be walking when it should start playing, and after exactly which lyrics the music should turn off or switch to a different song.

there may be more, as I remember them I'll post them...other than that, relax and have fun! its your day :)

Re: Lessons you have learnt/The Dont's of Desi Weddings ...

There is no way in hell i can see place names working at a desi wedding. I mean I've even seen ppl ignoring the RESERVED sign on tables near the stage and they just go and sit there! and then someone has the awkward task of telling them that the table is reserved (as if they didnt know already) and they have to move.

I've also been to weddings where ppl simply can't keep their mouths shut for 10-15 mins while the nikah is being conducted despite the molvi requesting several times for ppl to stay quiet.

Oh yh adding times on invites doesn't really work either cos most desis just turn up whenever they feel like it! and then they complain that they've missed the starters and the seats are too far from the stage