Lessons you have learnt/The Dont's of Desi Weddings ...

Re: Lessons you have learnt from other weddings...

Does food ever actualy run out at weddings?

A fe weddings I went to, the DJ would announce, so and so table can go up and get their food now....but then that didn't seem fair cz we were ALL starving. Or maybe those specific tables were for close family...

has anyone ever see nweddings where men can go first and then ladies get leftovers? :(

^ yeh that happens in villages back home. But then, they do that meal times too...the men get to eat before the women.

I REALLY want to write'no one under 10 allowed' like queenbee but i'm afraid i'll get shunned by my family and his. i know i'll have a bunch of kids swinging on my gharara!

Right, so i ran the idea past me mum.

and i got a look of extreme disapproval and a lecture.

i'll let the kids swing from my gharara then.

where is your wedding?

Could you organise a seperate play area if you abroad or maybe in a hotel in pakistan,

The valima i went to had a bouncy castle and all the kids between 7 and 10 had a table to themselves, they didnt disturb anyone!

I'm going to get married here in London inshAllah.

But i really don't see it happening...having kids on a separate table. I think they'll think i'm mad if i suggest such a thing...and all the aunty-jees will want their kids with them.

oh well. i can live with it.

Maybe you could get someone to guard the stage?

I just HATE kids running around the stage there must be a way round it!

Yes. Tie them to the table leg. (only joking)

How about having a play area set up for the children?

Hey alvena and dildarni...

I just don't think it's possible. the barart will be a low key affair at a restaurant...so i don't think i'll be able to have a play area and even if i did set one up, i know the mothers would find it weird...so i think i'll just have to grin and bear it.

But i will have someone guard the stage.lol ;)

they were murdering the icecream....

cinammon_waffle... how about having pails with coloring books and crayons at each table where you know there will be kids? i know here you can get those from the dollar store too, i'm sure there's an equivalent somewhere in the UK like that.
at the very least, it'll keep them occupied and hopefully in their seats, next to their mums. i know it sounds hopeless, but often times, kids are running around at weddings because they're so bored and there's nothing else to do to relieve them of their high energy!

wow, you have literally narrowed it down but its exactly how i feel tooo!!! thats why we have no kids coming to the wedding except for the family...who too are illeterate but we will manage them.

1. we have made sure there are enough tables n seats so ppl dont have to pull in extras or share it with someone.

And the rest i have no idea how its gonna be but i hope it will not be nething close to what you have mentioned cuz i will knock someone down hahaha ok kidding! but still

i went to a wedding a couple of yrs ago, the hall was packed, and as soon as the starter came out one lady comes up from behind and goes save me the seat, im was really peed off and im like what the........... at least let me eat first. i so hate wen that happens, it ruins the maza of the whole wedding.

so now whenever i go to a wedding i sit well away from the people who say things like that.

alhamdulilah! same here :) no horrors..

Went to a wedding a coupe of weeks ago, and the family planned it beautifully.

The only thing that annoyed me was the the number of guests who brought prams into the venue hall, and would get up every 5 mins and rock them back and forward as if they were in a park.

I know this family who never ever confirm their Mr. & Mrs invitation. They always show up with the entire extended family. These kind of people are so selfish. They have total disregard to the price per head that the family hosting the event has to pay.

If you don't want kids at your wedding, don't be afraid to say so! No one gives a crap about your wedding other than immediate family. That is why you have kids running on stage, because their mothers couldn't care less if your stage topples over or your pictures are ruined or you get a grease stain on your gharara from little Yusuf running his paws all over you. It's the ugly truth. If they cared, they would restrain their kids or take them into the hallway and occupy them. My son is rowdy and one time I took him to a wedding. When they were about to start the Nikah, I sensed he was having trouble sitting still. I took him to the hallway so that he wouldn't make any noise. I brought him back when it was over and there was the usual rush of people to the stage and it was noisy in the hall. I'd rather miss out than ruin someone's special day with my kid whining or crying.

We put a blanket restriction on kids at my sister's wedding, other than our relatives children who were coming from far away (maybe 4 or 5 total). I have two of my own, so we hired a babysitter to watch them in one of the adjoining conference rooms next to the main banquet hall. We had tried the clown/magician thing before, but maybe it's our urbane kids, they got bored and started coming back to the main hall. Instead the babysitter brought some board games and crafts. Even then, as the night wore on, the kids started getting restless, but because there were so few of them, they weren't able to egg each other on.

Overall, it worked out well for us as the wedding was totally chaos free. But truth be told, all hell broke loose amongst our "friends." They were totally p***ed off that their kids weren't invited. Part of our reasoning was also the cost. My sister wanted a very formal, fancy wedding, had saved up for it, but kids are charged exactly the same as adults. Our decision did harm many old friendships. I thought people would understand, but they didn't. A couple of my sister's friends with kids didn't show up at all. The others came with huge attitude problems. What we found odd was that these are the very same people who have no problem leaving their kids behind when they go to other parties, restaurants, date nights, beauty salons, and weekend trips. Their own functions were often child-free. But when it comes to a wedding, THEY MUST have their kids there. I don't know about the others, but I've been invited to a lot of adult only desi weddings, and usually what ends up happening is that my husband will stay behind and watch the kids. He's not keen on weddings to begin with, especially of those people who are mainly my friends that he barely knows. I don't see what the big deal is if one half of the couple stays behind if they can't find a babysitter.

^ Same thing happened at one of ours, we only invited kids from VERY CLOSE friends and family, BUT there were some people who took GREAT OFFENCE that their kids weren't invited, or bcos they were restricted to MR and MRS. At the end of the day, my mum was upset by some of their comments, but the rest of us couldn't give a damn bcos these were ppl we hardly saw anyway AND their kids have a reputation for being EXTREMELY bad behaved. Another load of ppl didn't turn up BCOS they say we restricted their numbers so they thought they wouldn't turn up at all.

At these times u know who your friends are.

The Don'ts of Desi Weddings ...

Disclaimer: The following is all in good humour....

Anyone who has ever attended a pakistani/indian wedding will know what i'm talking about. No desi wedding will EVER go smoothly, NEVER without people creating some sort of an issue. And these issues start from the very beginning! Here's a list of what can be expected and what you should not do if you want to reduce (since its impossible to eliminate) the issues that might be created at your wedding:

• Don't send RSVP cards with your wedding invitations. It is just useless. Nobody will ever write back to say if they're coming or not, and this will only cost you extra money to get the RSVP cards printed.

• Hardly anyone is going to be on time, so book the venue timings at your own risk!

• People might call u to confirm they're coming but will never tell u how many of them will be coming! So plan the catering at your own risk! The main reason of most people calling is not to congratulate or to confirm their attendance, but to investigate about your husband/wife to be!

• Some elderly relative of yours is going to refuse to attend the wedding since your parents did not discuss the rishta with them, and finalised the boy/girl without first asking for their precious advice! Don't take any notice of this, let your parents handle this...

• Don't try to organise the seating arrangements for your guests by placing their names on the tables. First of all, this will never be obeyed! If it is obeyed, your guests on the tables at the very back will be highly offended! (and they remember it for the rest of their lives...)

• If you have 5 chairs around a table, don't expect it to stay that way for the duration of the ceremony. People will have pulled nearly 20 chairs around one table within the first 10 minutes, only so that they can chat to other relatives and also because no one is going to want to sit at the back!

• In the west, wedding favors are small gifts that are laid out on the tables for each guest. Each guest takes his/her own gift as they come along and sit in their place. In desi weddings however, the guests who arrive first will take home ALL the favors! Especially, if they've got kids.. So don't bother placing anything of value on the tables!

• Some of the cutlery will go missing! Your centerpiece, if small and cute, will go missing..

• Anties will not wait until the bride comes out on the stage. They will try their best to enter the bride's room before the ceremony starts (only so that they can stare at her jewellery, hair, dress and gossip about it with other guests!) And believe me, they will try HARD! You nearly need a bouncer to keep them away!

• Everyone is going to stand around the stage when the bride comes out, not in her honour, but to take pictures and STARE STARE STARE! Your videographer is really going to have a hard time at this point...

• When anties sit with the bride on the stage to get their pictures taken, do expect them to ask questions like how much "tola" her jewellery set is!

• People will not wait until after the wedding to ask questions about the groom or the bride, they will grab whoever they can and ask about the full history of the bride, especially the groom. "kia karta hai?" is the most famous question among uncles!

• You can expect a certain percentage of your guests to dislike your groom if you're a bride and vice versa.

• People will act like animals once the dinner is served. They will go crazy for food!!! Don't try to get the waiters to serve them one by one, NO ONE is going to queue up!

• Avoid very expensive decor pieces in the guest area, the chances are very high that one of the children will knock it down!

• Don't expect the post-wedding reviews to be all nice. Prepare to hear alot of rumours later on...

Basically, if your wedding was 99.9% perfect, people will think and talk about that 0.01% that was not so perfect. If your wedding was 100% perfect, people will just not believe it to be! They will try and CREATE that 0.01% imperfection, even by saying things like "could've been better!"

It all sounds quite funny now but trust me, meeting ignorant people at desi weddings is a not-so-funny experience! Share some of your experiences with us on this thread.

Re: The Don'ts of Desi Weddings ...

funny yet true
and thats sad

Re: The Don'ts of Desi Weddings ...

Haha =)