Lessons you have learnt/The Dont's of Desi Weddings ...

Recently I attended a few weddings and was horrified at certain things that just cannot happen at mine, absolutely not! Here are some:

1. Stealing seats.
    My poor cousins had to walk around for 10 mins after taking food because some aunties had taken over their seats while they were away getting dinner. While seating guests at numbered tables might be an issue (you don’t know which chachi doesn’t talk to which phoopi and which aunty has a beef with another aunty who didn’t invite her to the last dawat she had), Im sure there must still be a way to accomodate people so they don’t have to worry about their seat’s security? I have literally seen aunties putting their purses and everything they have on the seats and telling their kids, beta khayal rakhna seat ka, koi beth nahi jaye.
    I want my guests to enjoy the wedding, not feel like they have a chair mission to accomplish.

2. Tables looking like a mini tableware/houseware store.
    Whats up with 3 glasses, 2 plates, countless spoons/forks/knives, napkins AND teacups/saucers along with centerpieces, wedding favors, vendors’ business cards on each table? It’s not an exhibition, seriously.

3. Tables and chairs too close together.
    There is hardly any space to walk around because everything is so closeby! As if 10 chairs at one table with aunties pulling up 5 more so they can sit with their jaannay walis isn’t enough, there is barely a 6 inch gap between each table in the room. And then you see people trying to push through between spaces with their dupattas flying over your face and sometimes their butt hitting you. Oh and a friend of mine got oil spilled over her shoulder because of this aunty trying to squeeze by with her plate of chicken karahi tilted.
    Please don’t tell the hotel/banquet halls that you’re expecting 200 guests when it’s actually 300. Don’t be cheap, GET MORE SPACE.

4. Staying off the aisle.
    I find it rude when there’s a red carpet laid out for the bride and groom to walk onto along with rose petals, and all you see is uncles and aunties standing around there chatting away. Not only that, the kids running up and down and throwing petals at each other. Maybe closing out the aisle area with a ribbon (or whatever that’s called?) all around would help.

5. Dessert in teacups.
    Yes, the last wedding I attended, the guests were eating ras malai from the teacups, and the hotel staff had no issues bringing out even more of those. Um, yeah, they probably were relieved to not have extra dishes to wash and thought, hey these people have no issues eating from a cup, we’ll save the bowls for another wedding.

6. The mad desi rush at food time.
    The emcee/dj/planner or SOMEONE should take charge and call up a few tables at a time to come get their food. Each table should have a number and every single person running towards the dinner table is quite a terrifying sight.

7. Invitation for 5, attendance of 20.
    This happened at my Nikkah also, some aunty brought along 2 families who we had never met or spoken to before, and I have seen this happen VERY commonly at weddings. If I am sending you an invitation for 5, no that is not a magic number for 10 or 15 or 20. Better way would be to write on the card, x number of seats have been reserved in your name… etc etc. Or to put it bluntly, ‘I know what you did at the last wedding, DO NOT bring an army along, I will personally kick you out.’

8. The loud music.
    Some DJs get really excited and play loud music throughout the entire event. No it’s not a club, it’s a wedding, people need to talk and I feel irritated when I have to yell and scream and get all close to hear what the other person has to say. Save all that loud music for dancing time because I swear I walk out of almost every desi wedding all deaf and feeling like I need a hearing aid to get through the next few days.

Add in your own.

Re: Lessons you have learnt from other weddings…

Went to a wedding where they were serving shorba… and no bowls. Just plates. Oh and there were no tables, just chairs. So imagine trying to eat soup on a plate with no table and not trying to mess up your outfit

I’d say that’s a big NO:halo:

Re: Lessons you have learnt from other weddings...

I agree with all of the above!

I think a few other point are: every wedding should have a section for kids so their parents can enjoy the wedding! Like a magician or clown or even just a room with a tv and dvd player. Oh and someone guarding the front door making sure they don't leave the hall. I hate it when people say things like, control your kids to someone. Theyre kids, give them something to do and they'll chill!

Time keeping is another one, if the wedding card says food at 7pm, I don't appreicate having to wait till 9pm. Especially when you're from outta town!

I also think involving everyone is really important. If youve invited someone, and theyve made the effort to come you should show you appreciate it. I understand that family members have a million and one things to do, been there done that, but you shouldnt let everyone see it. You should always be happy and welcoming!

And finally, if you cut a cake...I want a slice! The last 3 weddings I attended had the bride and groom cut the cake, but then no one got any. What are they gonna do with SO MUCH cake?! (Mmm cake)

pareezay, were you at a wedding last night in NJ by any chance? LOL because what you stated in #1 is what happened to me and 4 of my female cousins. We had our own table right next to all the other aunties and uncles. We went up to get food and when we got back to our table we see our moms sitting calmly on our seats, eating, lookin gup at us as we're standing their with food in our hands giving them the these-are-our-seats-what-are-you-doing-here looks. we had no place to go and of course the utensils were placed on our tables so we didnt have forks or spoons for our chawal! we're just like walking around like homeless people asking random aunties and uncles if theres anyone sitting in the empty seats on their tables. after like a half hour we finally got seats at a table with four random guys all the way in the back somewhere. worst experience ever.

^lol!
no, it was at a wedding in canada a couple weeks back. i felt so bad that i got up too and started looking for seats with them. we were walking around for so long until we saw our dads' table which was half empty and we sat with them. i told you it's very common, happens alllll the time. and at the same wedding, the guests had to eat dessert (kheer) with forks because there were no spoons.

yes , I have serious issues with people staring at others eating ... and the photographers appear from nowwhere to take a shot right when you have the spoonful next to you lips ...

Re: Lessons you have learnt from other weddings…

^ bwahahaha! i HATE those dinner-time shots but i LOVE this thread. so (unintentionally) funny and so true!!!

putting “We have reserved X (number) seats in your name” is a very smart idea. it pretty much clearly states how many family members are invited and no more than that.

but to begin with, how about trimming the guests to people who actually care about y’all instead of 400 random folk? at least then a seating chart is possible. i say cut it off at immediate aunts and uncles, grandparents, first cousins, best friends of parents, and best friends of the couple.

when people *****ed about being left out of our wedding (total guests, including us, 96)- mind you, these are people i haven’t seen or spoken to, nor have my parents been in touch with them, in over 13 years but they come crawling out of the woodwork when its wedding time and then they had the nerve to be offended that they weren’t invited (sheesh!)- so anyway, when they complained, my parents very politely explained we (the couple) wanted to keep it intimate. believe me, no one will come up to the couple and complain about not being invited, so the buck pretty much stops there.
plus, we’ve gone right back to not being in touch haha so nothing changed there :rolleyes:

^haha!

'Putting "we have reserved X (number) seats in your name" is a very smart idea. it pretty much clearly states how many family members are invited and no more than that.'

that was actually your idea which you gave me when i was whining about aunties bringing the entire desi community to my wedding :D

When "Mr and Mrs" only are invited, please, do not bring your in-laws, children, bahus, their kids and whoever else is visiting you at the time. It's just rude. I've seen this happen all too many times. Then they get offended that there are no seats for them. Well, that's because only Mr. and Mrs. were invited. Not your whole freaking khandaan.

I've also seen seats being taken over. I saw one aunty blantantly say who cares if someone else is sitting here, they aren't here right now, and they proceeded to take those peoples' seats.

What I have learned is that it does not matter if you put "X (number)" or "Mr and Mrs" only down ... these people flat out say, "so what" and go ahead and bring as many guests along as they want. It's really inconsiderate.

They just don't care. These people are selfish. The hall needs to be notified of the number of guests, and even if you put down say, 20 extra guests, too many people do this and you end up with extra people. I feel bad for the hosts. Their wishes are completely disrespected.

lol these are so hilarious! but aren't most of these things that people do at your wedding that you have little control over? when i read the title I thought it was stuff that the couple or family did themselves.

For example, my pet peeve is when the couple plays some OTT cheesy number to walk down the aisle to. No joke, the last wedding I went to had "My Heart Will Go On." I wanted to laugh bc I thought it was a joke but then I realized it was totally serious. sorry if this sounds insensitive!

omg. what a disaster. this is a funny thread.

i like sgc's idea.

have a play area of some sort for the kids so they dont create havoc on the aisle.

Irritating kids who want to sit in the chair of the dulhan/ dulha..or playing somewhere on the stage......SO IRRITATING!!! Yeh that mostly happens in Pakistan....
I was really angry...coz even the mothers doesn't say anything!! Keep your kids with you!!
Damn!!

So I think there should be someone near the stage to look after!!

true iksa..i also had this thing in pakistan..the kids are always on the stage or near the bride and groom...and the mother doesnt even bother..

even if there is someone near the stage..still the kids will try their best to get on the stage..

yeh you are right.....During the Nikah Ceremony of my brother the "destroyers" were destroying the decoration of the stage...I tried to get them back with their mother...BUT THAT WAS MISSION IMPOSSIBLE!!
but even the mothers MIND if u say anything to their kids...

yea right..especially if its your phoppi's grandson , hubby khala's kids, nand kids, or some close releatives..they really mind if you tell their kids to go away...sometimes the video and pics are spoiled just because of the kids

LOL this is one funny thread

the last wedding i attended, i saved a table for ma friends (n my mistake walked out for few minutes..) and some uncle n his kids had the guts just to get up from their table n sit on my table! no fun then!

I swear Pakistani weddings are a MESS. Even if you pre-plan and pre-organise - things WILL NEVER GO exactly to plan.

CAKE - Let the bride and groom cut the wedding cake but there will never be enough for 400 million guests that you didn't expect - so get some extra cake on the side and serve that to guests. Only slice the wedding cake and serve to close friends and family after all the rest has gone. Keep the real cake firmly in view away from the main guests bcos the kids get to it and its ruined.

400 MILLION guests that you didn't account for? You MUST restrict the invitee's with "Because the venue cannot accomodate a large number of people, the number of seats reserved for you ...2..." or whatever.

You may find that 400 MILLION extra guests reduces to 200 MILLION bcos some of your most esteemed guests are rather miffed that they could not bring their whole tribe and their tribes grandmothers, nieces, nephews, cats and dogs, so NONE of them turn up at all. Well, at least you could do without these ppl anyway. But it is MOST frustrating bcos if they had told you b4 hadn that they would NOT be coming, you could have invited some more deserving people in their place. Honestly, at a family wedding we had about 2 or 3 tables of 10 EMPTY bcos of these offended and UNDESERVING types. They actually said - "You told us NOT to bring anyone, so we didn't come".

Then you get those guests who DID turn up with their LIMITED NUMBERS who then GRAB you angily to demand why their numbers were restricted when we quite clearly have 2 or 3 EMPTY tables (left empty by the offended we won't turn up but won't bother telling you CRIMINALS).

And on top of that, you get the people who you have FIRMLY told NOT to bring specific married children who live a 100 miles away with 10 kids and they come anyway.

KIDS - HORRID, HORRID, HORRID squirmy creatures who run amok all over the stage, jump onto the bride groom's lap just as they have perfected the pose for the camera man and lounge around on the floor in front of the happy couples feet. Not all kids, just KIDS WHOSE PARENTS DO NOT TELL THEIR LITTLE DARLINGS TO GET THE POSTERIOR ENDS RIGHT BACK HERE OUT OF THE WAY. Kids like these AND THEIR PARENTS should be BANNED from weddings.

Now we come to the PHOTO SHOOT - WHY is it that your 400 MILLION guests RUSH UP TO THE STAGE as if they are possessed by the spirits of a 10,000,000 aggressive papparazzi and start clicking away with their millions of cameras SHOVING the official photographer OUT OF THE WAY so that he cannot get a good angle bcos of all the auties pushing and shoving to get their shot? It surely cannot be a good place for him to be given all those aunty's sweaty armpits on display right in front of his nose? ALL THIS DESPITE your POLITE NOTICE for no unauthorised photography?

And then you get those people who have probably never seen a waiter before and constantly demand refills even tho there's plenty there, and THEN DEMAND MORE STARTERS while in the middle of tucking into their MAIN's!

And then you get those who eat up and have their dessert and ask for individual containers of MORE dessert to TAKE HOME!!!

And then you get those who want ARMFUL's of wedding favours to take home to their neighbours children and their co-workers grandmothers.

ENOUGH!!!!!!!!

Forget about additional family guests, I’ve seen people crashing other peoples weddings. We noticed that in my younger brothers nuptials when we were watching his wedding movie – we were like “Who the frick are they supposed to be!”. It was basically a group of 7-8 girls, all dressed in replica outfits who stood out like a sore thumb. We even asked the brides side and they couldn’t recognise them either

The other great one is where you’ve heard about or seen aunties that take food home with them??? I’m not talking wedding favours, I’m talking shopping bags being filled with rice and curry!!! (What the heck?)

Speaking of wedding favours, alot of them went missing prior to handing them out to our guests at my bro's wedding. We basically ran short and reckon the cousins we left in charge of handing them out actually took a substantial number home with them. The whole point of trusting our cousins with the favours was to avoid a scenario just like this - we didn't want to leave them out on the tables in advance, fearing they would just go missing, which they did anyway! If you can't trust family then who can you trust?

I also really really hate people with a vengeance who flick out their mobiles to film or take pics of the bride and groom without permission and especially when those pics/films make their way on to youtube/flickr/picasa. It just seems people blatantly disregard any requests for people not to film, even when explicitly stated in the wedding card.

You are right!!!
I got really angry and said to my mom and husband to say that no one can take pics of me....damn it!!

This is really funny...During my rukhsati when I was hugging and kissing everyone I felt something strange....when I looked I saw a hand of a kid..I immediatly I hold his arm....he started to run away..so I said to my dad that he was trying to steal my MONEY from my purse....so everyone slapped that little boy....I felt soo bad...But he actually opened my purse...to take money ou of it...but I was faster than his little fingers...
I didn't cried at my rukhsati..But when everyone was beating him..I felt soo bad that I could cry..but yeh I didn't...

we saw in the movie that that little boy (abt 12 yrs) was all the time around me during rukhsati..but nobody saw him....pfff.....I don't know from where he came from....

We never had extra guests problems at any of our family weddings. Only as much people came as were invited. What I did learn and imply in weddings I arranged(Me,SIL's and Bros)

1. Reserve a table for bride and groom so they can eat properly. I hate when they serve them food on the stage it's so uncomfy sitting on a sofa and eating from a coffee table, not to mention hundreds of people starring you.

2. Pre-fix the doodh-pilai and* joota chuppai rasms' amounts to avoid any unpleasantness. **Saw a wedding where the girls asked for a huge amount, Dulha bhai got egoistic, asked his dad for the money, daddy jee refused and there was an uproar..ending up in an immediate rukhsati and everyone crying out loud..(bride's sis/cousins/mom etc.).. It became chaotic and quite disturbing specially for the bride, poor girl was terrified.

3. Immediate members from both sides of family should assist in the photoshoot-on-stage process.
There are times when one family wont' get off the stage or returns time and again..like aunty jee comes to get pic taken..then returns with hubby to get pic taken...*in ki nahi hoi *...then yet again brings kids or wants a pic with some other relative...It causes a delay in process and some *shareef *(yea I know :D) relatives end up with no pics at all and rant about it later.

I had assistant kids who would run along and gather families to get their pic taken. Like I'd ask a kid from each family to bring their family together. Ofcourse I rewarded them later, was worth each penny :)

will come back if can think of anymore...