Lesson One on How To Not Be a FOB: Use of "Dear"

Re: Lesson One on How To Not Be a FOB: Use of “Dear”

If you are staring at other people to gauge how well integrated they are in society or are looking for FOB traits, you might be a FOB…

If you go to a desi store and try to act all non-FOB, you might be a FOB…

If you go to a gathering and accentuate your non-FOB English accent and manners, you might be a FOB…

If you post 2 or more threads on the FOBbiness of others, you definitely might be a FOB…

If you think you are better than FOB, then you certainly are an FOB…

Re: Lesson One on How To Not Be a FOB: Use of "Dear"

^^ Must be fun for these people as usually they come from fob families themselves..

Go tell that to mama papa :D

what about those British guys and older Brit men, like some of my profs who say "dear" and "sweetheart" on a regular basis? I find it endearing.

Azizum PCG, would that suffice?

^ hehe

captain1- so u too agree it’s charming?:blush:

signs of a definite FOB :smiley:

yes dear.

:blush::mudhosh:

Yeah but theyre white hence naturally superior to us so its okay. Though if a middle aged desi uncle says it he’s being a pervert and naturally a FOB.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

how about calling the other person DEER?

No no. Humans can’t be “Deers”. Don’t insult the poor animal now.

I’m amazed for all those Islami Islamiyat walay laug, here you are approving of the term “dear”. Um, so we’re not allowed to show our thopras to men and have to cover them up with some black cloth, and we can’t speak to na-mehrams…

but ahray gahray guys can call us “dear” to our faces?

:rolleyes:

FOBBY maulvi wisdom never ceases to amaze me.

I agree with Impulse...i cudn't even believe wot i was reading when i read the title of this thread. Ppl lableled "fobs" r humans too, at one point i'm sure everyone has an elder who was one...when u criticise somebody foreign just bcos they r new and r not accustommed to a new culture, it seems like u r being superior to them. So i don't think it's rite to judge these ppl.

As far as these words are concerned like "dear"...i suppose it's the tone used that perhaps one cud find offensive...other than that, it is a positive word unlike say "ur such a tart!". That is offensive. But saying something like "wot's wrong dear?"...how is that offensive? Anyway, in England ppl use that term all the time, esp. elders...and no, not just "fobs"...i have even heard it in the States. It's just a friendly, cosy word. And who is anyone to be giving "lessons" to some ppl who just haven't had the same experiences for as long as we have. Plain stupidity.

Its not that they're subhuman. They do things that are plain WRONG. Don't sit here and talk about Islam and then tell me that its okay to call someone you barely know as "dear".

Respected readers, please avoid affectionate remarks to each other; You can however continue to call others PIG et al.

Sincerely,
Yours Very Truely!

I guess ur talking about something more personal then, that i don’t know about (perhaps with someone on this forum)…bcos i certainly don’t see any harm in saying “dear” to a stranger. And seriously, i don’t get y ur mixing two things up…religion, and then the fact that it bothers u that a stranger refers to u in a nice way…well maybe, u think it’s better that strangers don’t even talk to each other, that’ll make the world a slightly better place.

pcg u sound interesting very much. want frandship with me?

=)

Muzna wanted to know Lesson Two.

Lesson Two: "Do you vant frandship with me" wont get you a girl.

Not even if they’re old? I mean, it sounds rather nice comming from the elderly…

“My dear boy, would you be so kind as to do xyz for me”…

“Why sure Uncle ji, it would be my pleasure…”

See…it’s all good…

maybe he was just trying to be nice.

i’m not a fobby maulvi who trots out Islamic wisdom, but i think saying dear is okay. it certainly isn’t “plainly wrong” as opposed to saying something insulting or obscene. it might not be the hippest or coolest thing to say, but fobs are brought up in traditional Pakistani culture not the culture of New York and LA. how can you condemn them for saying something which Gora culture would regard as awkward or out of date when they haven’t been brought up in this culture? do you expect them to divine the niceties of gora culture even when they’ve only been in Goraland for a few months?