Lesson One on How To Not Be a FOB: Use of "Dear"

Re: Lesson One on How To Not Be a FOB: Use of “Dear”

I agree:k:

I know, a lot of elder British people use “dear” in their everyday language. Hmmm, I have become accustomed to using it too and even Femme used it towards me a few times and I have used it here on GS towards others. :hoonh:

It’s just a term of endearment towards close friends/loved ones, nothing wrong with it. :snooty:

Re: Lesson One on How To Not Be a FOB: Use of "Dear"

lolz.....

i went shopping a few years ago with this desi guy in my class. he insisted he wants to go to bloomingdales. i saw like dozens of hot clothes there but he insisted he wants a vesace sweater. not just ANY versace sweater but a sweater with VERSACE on it in BIG BOLD letters. and then he picked out an ugly shirt with VERSACE on it in red just because you could read it from miles away.....anyways thats my fob story.ummm and he used to call me dear too :)...

This very annoying laaloo kheti type guy with oily gelled type hair who once started working with us. He would say dear at the end of every friggin line. You could tell it didn;t come naturally to him and he was making a special effort to say 'Deear'. Eventaully he got the message that he annoyed me very very much and quit working for us :D
I do have a problem with any aira ghaira calling me dear, sweetie etc (unless its an elder or someone I know and like) I just cannot say it to their face which is the real problem. Usually I give them such a cold treatment full of resentment that they eventually avoid talking to me at all, which is fine really, but I wish I could just tell them straight that I don;t want them using these terms of endearment with me.

My massi says “my dear” a lot when she’s talking to me, even when she’s threatening me with dire consequences :hehe: It’s cute.

It’s when some aira ghaira person uses that term that I feel offended. I haven’t heard too many gorays use that term, mostly nice buddhay aunties/unkils; a few kalloos have said it to me, maybe they think they’re being suave or something but it’s so irritating. I can’t tell them straight out either, usually I’ll just go all cold and formal and hope they get the hint.

Hmm.. so you had desi FOB boyfriends too!? :expressionless:

What has happened to abcd chics of today? :nono4:

it becomes oh so charming.

I think its a term of respect. Formal english uses 'dear' to start letters, so now all the english speaking literaries are FOB's? Why are we so upset by new immigrants and their language? They dont come bash us when we cant speak Urdu properly and get our sexes and tenses mixed up? I would rather have some one address me as dear, than as 'hey man', 'yo' 'dude'.

Sooraj mukhi imagine a new desi at ur work saying this to you...

'Dee-ar aap mujhay documents email kar dengi' when he could easily say 'Sooraj mukhi aap mujhay documents email kar dein'. What would u prefer?

Hmm that would sound awkward. Why use dear to begin a sentence in URDU?

jaanu naraz kiun hoti ho dear ..

‘Dear’ is just the tip of the iceberg… the rest goes like this..
Kis naam say pukarooN
Kya naam hai tumhara
Kyoon tum ko daikhtay hi
Dil kho gya hamara :flower1:

giveth and taketh loveth people..whz wrong with u

a) he was not my bf
b) i am not abcd.( for the millionth time)

Dear, yes you are.

haha Fayz.

Suraj mukhi now imagine the same guy delivering 7 sentences ending or starting each with dear :bleah:

FOB:rolleyes:

:mad:

oh dear PCG, what a "trying not to be FOB thread as if its inhuman to be a FOB" type thread

Okay....I'm clueless too. Or perhaps I just have to hang out with folks that are bigger FOBS than I'm already hanging out with.....I dunno.

I think the "term" is polite and should be used more often.

As Fayz says, giveth and taketh love, dear.

So......what's Lesson Two?

It's alright, but unappropriate to use at work.
Some desis use the term "yaar" a lot as well.
It all depends on how well you know the person.

Just a little note: That one desi is the only darned desi I ever met who had the habit of saying deear this and deear that. Bleah. So I'm thinking maybe it isn;t a FOB thing in particular but was peculiar to that one cheapoo.