Laptop Battery Issues...

Yes. But you dont understand, battery issue is solved now but as far as i can tell now the only issue stands about the time it shows on the right side of the taskbar. That keeps changing weirdly like even if the activity level stays the same with percentage decrease the time left increases.

I wl be getting my laptop bk in a week and wl chk if any fault then send bk with Abu when he comes over on Eid.

Re: Laptop Battery Issues…

where did u get this laptop … ?

I think it calibrate the battery as regarding the task you are running. Forexample if you start some work that need a lot of processor or my be lot of hard disk access or also may be like video brightness then it may use more battery and will show you less and at the time you close it and run some other application that dont need much battery, it may show you more remaining time.

I am not sure what new calibration sony is using for the battery.. but to me it seems like this.

Kuwait.

Hmm could be. But like i said before, my use of comp is same not much difference in activity level.

Its Sony E-Series Model VPCEA15FA.

^^ this model hasnt been much reviewed. So cant say anything like that. I really dont know who recommended you :smiley:

Well its the latest and when u go 2 buy a laptop u do try to get the latest, dont u? lol so thats wat happens.

^^ LOL :smiley: wont say anything further to hurt u :stuck_out_tongue:

nahi its ok go on…say what u feel cuz i dnt want dishonest views really. its ok i have bought it and good or bad its mine now so thats ok. lol.

^^ LOL nahi :smiley: its ok as I have provided a lot of views.. :stuck_out_tongue:

Chalo theek hai. Thanks for yr help :slight_smile:

Could just be a calibration issue with the battery, here’s a guide that should help make that battery meter alot better and accurate.

http://theappleblog.com/2009/05/29/how-to-calibrate-your-laptop-battery/

(Ignore the apple part, all the laptops built today have pretty much the same battery technology used in them, be it apple, sony, hp or dell.)

As for the Laptop. From the few reviews I see, the laptop you have is pretty impressive considering the features it has onboard.

I3 Processor
Radeon HD5470 Discrete Graphics card
15.5’ Display

Your laptop is built around the above 3 components, and I must say these components are highly impressive in every regard.

Every laptop produced today have a few pro’s and con’s, no matter how much the manufacturer gives emphasis on it being just perfect, It just cant be it just like how humans cant be perfect with everything. For example the new Acer timeline series, it gives out a whopping 8 hours of battery life but lacks at being good with graphics considering the inbuilt chip, playing games on it would be quiet a chore whereas for you it would be as easy as it gets.

If I were in your shoes I would hold on to it without any second thoughts, congratulations on getting this fantastic machine. :slight_smile:

^^ Dont tell me you work for Sony Vaio :smiley:

Nahi nahi. Actually been working with computers/laptops for the past 8 years. And the kind of specs the poster has on the lappy makes me want to say what I did. :slight_smile:

Edit: The lack of reviews on the internet I believe is because of this particular model being considerably newer in the Market, hence not many sites offering reviews for it. Give it another 3-4 months and I am absolutely certain there will be a lot more reading for us to do. :slight_smile:

thanks :=) i have finally given up on it too lol bt actually nt really cuz i was tryin the online sony customer help n they said i shud get my laptop exchanged so i guess i wl use it for a week or two n if it irritates me anymore then i mite as well get it exchanged or get another model. lets c. also since i got it bk i noticed few scratches on its lid which r really bothering me cuz i have been using it with alot of care bt i think sony, kuwait is messed up.

Oh and mine is 14" lol but thats cuz i prefered that size :stuck_out_tongue:

is it fixed or nt yet ?

It still taking that much time to fully charge but i see that the estimated time is not varying now like it was before. I havent gotten the time 2 use my laptop much so wl figure it out in a day or two if alls ok with it now.

use it day n ngt … use it as much as possible … Sony brand is awesome no doubt … mgt the unit u get hav som issue … when u hav send it back u shd request for the replacement too at tht time , i think u send for the repair/maintenance only .anyway i guess ap ki qismat mai shiad yehe likha howa hai so no problem

Oh. The site I checked its specs from had it listed as 15". Anyway 14" makes the whole laptop quiet portable and light compared to the 15 incher. The bigger the LCD display the heavier the machine. So not bad either way. I would have gone for the bigger display considering the fact that I usually watch my movies/tv shows on the Laptop.

How long exactly does the laptop take to charge the battery, powered off and while powered on?

It should charge up in good time while its powered off, while powered on the longer duration can make sense considering the laptop has pretty powerful components in it, hence the power from the ac adapter is expected to be distributed equally.

i’ll chk again but i think it took around 3.5hrs to chrge whie it was turned off.